Reverting Changes

Skip navigation

Reverting Changes

/ January 30, 2012

One of the advantages of version control is that you can develop with more confidence. You can try out an approach, modify a bunch of documents and if you are not happy with the result you can revert those changes. You can experiment without the fear of messing up your project.

In order to revert a changed document, you select a modified document in the Changes dock and then choose ‘Revert change’ from the Tasks menu. This will revert the document to its original state, i.e. the state it was in before you started editing.

As of version 3.1.0 you can restore deleted documents, folders or even whole modules. Just select the relevant ‘Deleted’ line in the Changes dock and choose ‘Revert change’ from the Tasks menu. Note that it will bring the document back to its original state. So if you make changes to a document, delete it and then restore it, it will not contain the changes you made.

As you can see, reverting changes is very powerful. It is like undo on steroids!