借助低代码,开发人员成功推动北卡罗来纳州立大学的应用开发文化转型,并超越业务预期

Skip navigation

经济增长的引擎

北卡罗来纳州立大学使用低代码开发每年实现 500,000 次非学分课程注册

REPORTER 应用程序

定制 COTS – 报价 5 年,800 万美元,基于 Mendix – 6 个月,6 位数

实验室管理应用程序

每年新增收入超过 100 万美元


Key findings

  • 北卡罗来纳州立大学为北卡罗来纳州的居民提供非学分课程已有 150 多年的历史,现在每年处理 50 多万次课程注册
  • 该团队构建了 REPORTER,这是一款非学分课程注册应用程序,可简化六西格玛和农业培训等课程和研讨会的注册和合规流程,同时还是一款可将管理时间减少 2/3 的实验室管理解决方案
  • 北卡罗来纳州立大学的一名开发人员乔丹·博伊尔 (Jordan Boyle) 最初是 IT 团队的一名实习学生,负责研究金融。尽管缺乏传统编程背景,但他现在是全球工作效率最高的 Mendix 开发人员之一

亲自见证北卡罗来纳州立大学如何借助 Mendix 平台取得了丰硕成果。

作为位于农业州的一所大学,北卡罗来纳州立大学在推动该州经济发展的引擎中发挥着至关重要的作用。北卡罗来纳州立大学的拓展项目每年均惠及超过 50 万人。北卡罗来纳州立大学拥有众多使命,其中之一是持续加强与北卡罗来纳州几代居民的联系和互动。但是,该大学必须确保履行其拨款报告义务,同时提高员工的效率。

北卡罗来纳州立大学的企业应用程序组不仅实现了这些目标,还组建了一支茁壮成长的开发团队,该团队凭借低代码开发平台赢得了员工和行政管理部门的高度赞扬和尊重。

挑战带来改变

拓展项目在帮助北卡罗来纳州立大学履行其提供终身学习的使命方面发挥了重要作用。共有 100 多个校园实体(单位)提供非学分培训。遗憾的是,每个单位都有自己的注册管理方法,包括便签、电子表格和影子 IT 解决方案,例如 SharePoint 或 Access。因此,报告流程效率很低。来自各种工具的数据必须加以合理化,并放入标准报告表中。该大学需要一种更具成本效益的方式来管理注册并向社区推广课程,这反过来会提高报告效率。

然而,北卡罗来纳州立大学 IT 架构的去中心化特性使得任何单个应用程序都难以实现标准化。大学由 10 个学院和 10 个学部组成,每个学院和学部都有自己的 IT 小组。“拥有这么多不同的 IT 团队,给了我们很多机会去做新颖有趣的事情,但也带来了很多挑战。我们必须努力避免重复提供服务,那样会浪费本就短缺的时间和金钱。”北卡罗来纳州立大学负责企业应用程序服务的助理副校长格温·哈兹勒赫斯特 (Gwen Hazlehurst) 表示。

除了满足由员工和管理人员组成的不同用户群的需求之外,开发团队还必须根据联邦和州拨款报告标准创建满足各种合规需求的应用程序。“在企业应用程序组,我们必须遵守严格定义的设计模式,尤其是在安全和合规方面。我们必须遵守许多规则、法规、程序和政策。”哈兹勒赫斯特说。除联邦和州拨款报告标准外,北卡罗来纳州立大学还必须满足 PCI DSS 要求。

Jordan
Jordan Boyle

更为复杂的是,这所大学并未获得用于支持非学分系统管理的联邦资金。哈兹勒赫斯特知道她的团队负担不起内部开发 Java 应用程序所需的时间和资金,所以发布了招标书,反应令人震惊。申请方案的费用估计为 300 到 1,000 万美元,耗时五年。

哈兹勒赫斯特说:“我们绝对负担不起,因此我们要求实习学生研究其他方案。从那时起,我们开始意识到低代码平台是快速开发和交付代码的另一种手段。”

创造性解决方案

低代码开发平台提供了一种可视化应用程序开发方法。专业开发人员和相关主题业务专家都使用直观的可视化模型来创建企业级的全堆栈应用程序。

团队确定 Mendix 在北卡罗莱纳州立大学的预算和资源范围内,并鼓励实习学生帮助开发非学分系统。哈兹勒赫斯特说:“他们于 5 月中旬毕业,到 6 月下旬,他们就开始开发代码,设计系统的一部分。”

如今的软件开发人员乔丹·博伊尔就曾是其中一名实习生。他说:“我有一点编码经验,但我从来没想写数十万行代码。低代码方法极具吸引力。作为实习生,我能够直接使用 Mendix。我一开始探索这个工具,就很快熟悉了。现在,我是一名全职软件开发人员。这太酷了。”

新聘用的开发人员利用 Mendix 在短短两个多月的时间里开发出一款最简可行产品,即名为 REPORTER 的非学分系统,并于仅仅 5 个月后正式发布。据估计,REPORTER 的总成本为六位数靠前,而现成商用软件 (COTS) 供应商的报价为 300 到 1,000 万美元,耗时五年。更重要的是,州立大学团队大大扩展了 REPORTER 的功能,要想使用 COTS 产品取得同等的效果,必定费时费力或者压根不可能。

REPORTER 超出了预期。它对符合 PCI 的应用程序进行标准化,削减了每个学院和学部的合规负担,并通过自动注册消除了对电子表格和便签的需求。

“我们能做的远不止对 REPORTER 进行逐步更改。实际上,我们不仅确保应用程序的拓展和面向外部部分的合规性,还确保了各功能的合规性,以符合学校的培训要求。”哈兹勒赫斯特说。

北卡罗来纳州立大学 IT 主管杰克·福斯特表示:“开发 REPORTER 的初衷是解决合规性和拓展报告方面的具体需求,但它已逐步发展为一个综合性企业应用程序,能够满足校园内许多不同的需求。”

REPORTER 超出了预期。它对符合 PCI 的应用程序进行标准化,削减了每个学院和学部的合规负担,并通过自动注册消除了对电子表格和便签的需求。

“大约有 30 个部门使用 REPORTER,均成功降低了全职人力工时。如此一来,他们有空闲考虑自己接下来要做什么,以及如何管理内部应用程序并重新分配资源。”福斯特说。

证明低代码假设

使用低代码开发平台还为企业应用程序组释放了资源。由于哈兹勒赫斯特及其团队能够比预期更快地交付 REPORTER,因此能够与研究人员合作开发解决方案,更好地管理如何预留实验室设备。

作为一所领先的公立研究型大学,北卡罗来纳州立大学以开发针对现实问题的解决方案为傲,其中包括节能型智能变压器和抗癌纳米雏菊。哈兹勒赫斯特说:“这些研究人员正在帮助解决当今世界面临的严重问题,不过却要花三分之一到一半的时间来管理实验室中的文书工作。”

在短短几个月内,北卡罗来纳州立大学推出了一个实验室管理系统,该系统每年管理超过 100 万美元的收入。

Jack
Jack Foster

博伊尔说:“我对这个实验室管理应用程序感到非常自豪,因为我是这个项目唯一的开发人员。我能够利用从构建 REPORTER 中获得的知识来构建该应用程序。借助 Mendix,我们可以快速推出解决方案和功能,并满足甚至超越客户的期望,同时不降低任何工作质量。”

福斯特对此表示同意:“如今,客户已经知道,我们交付解决方案的速度基本能够满足他们的需求。他们甚至不会特意提及这一部分,而是会提出具体期望,甚至亲自参与这一流程。”

哈兹勒赫斯特表示:“没有什么比能够快速提供满足人们需求并让生活更轻松的解决方案更重要的了。Mendix 平台帮助我们做到了这一点。其他平台的速度很慢,以至于当交付技术解决方案时,交付时间如此之久,毫无成就感。使用 Mendix,几乎可以立即交付。与人们交谈,了解他们的需求,开发应用程序,然后推送给用户。如此一来,可在很短时间内实现真正变化,取得切实成果。”

文化潮流变化

除了改变北卡罗来纳州立大学提供技术解决方案的方式之外,Mendix 还改变了企业应用程序组的文化。“Mendix 以一种我们意想不到的方式改变了我们团队配备人员的方式。能够雇佣我们的毕业生真是太棒了。他们为我们的团队带来了活力、创造力和创新能力。这很难量化,但它对我们推出的产品产生了重大影响。”哈兹勒赫斯特说。

她补充道:“我为这个一夜之间组成的年轻团队感到骄傲。他们给客户带来了一些罕见的成果。我们团队的实验室管理系统所获得的赞誉均来自要求严格的用户。”

Gwen
Gwen Hazlehurst

哈兹勒赫斯特表示,他们收到的一些积极反馈表示,该项目的实施“完美无缺”,教职员工甚至还为他们买了饮料表示感谢。“我的团队过去推出过一些出色的项目,但我们从未获得过这样的赞誉,尤其是从零开始建立的项目。”

推进使命

北卡罗来纳州立大学引以为荣的是,通过提供传统的教育项目(本科生和研究生)以及非学分课程来支持该州的农业和工业劳动力,它在推动该州经济发展的过程中发挥了重要作用。通过采用创新方法进行应用程序开发,IT 部门可以助力该大学更好地履行拓展和互动使命 — 从通过聘用北卡罗来纳州立大学的毕业生进入 IT 团队来推进注册流程自动化并削减员工负担,到为学生提供世界级的教育经验。

“对于我们的团队而言,没有什么比听到客户说:‘哦,天哪,这太棒了。你让我的生活轻松了许多。有时候,感觉就像在大学里工作一样。”哈兹勒赫斯特说,“我们无法直观看到我们如何帮助推进拓展和互动使命。不过,使用这些 Mendix 应用程序,我们走在了开发的第一线,与实际交付者并肩协作,这感觉棒极了。”

Mendix at work

Name of application /

REPORTER

Business Value /

REPORTER 提高了整个大学的效率。它还通过由 IT 部门管理且符合 PCI 的标准替换各个部门使用的一系列解决方案,以消除影子 IT。

development_time /

3个月 VS. 3-5年

Functionality /

REPORTER 可以自动完成无学分课程的注册流程以及培训要求的合规性和计费流程。

Low-Code Empowers Developers to Transform NCSU’s App Dev Culture and Exceed Business Expectations

Skip navigation

An Engine of Economic Growth

NC State Uses Low-code Development to Deliver 500,000 Non-credit Course Registrations per Year

REPORTER App

Customized COTS – Quoted 5 years, $8M Built on Mendix – 6 months, 6 figures

Lab Management App

Over $1M in new revenue per year

Related Assets

Key findings

  • NC State, a land grant university, has delivered non-credit courses to the citizens of North Carolina for over 150 years, now processing over 500,000 course registrations per year
  • The team has built REPORTER, a non-credit course registration app to streamline both registration and compliance for classes and seminars like Six Sigma and agricultural training, and a Lab Management solution that cuts administration time by 2/3rds
  • One of NC State’s developers, Jordan Boyle, started as a student intern on the IT team studying Finance and is now among the most productive Mendix developers on the globe despite lacking a traditional programming background

See for yourself how outcomes like NC State's are possible with the Mendix platform.

As a land grant university in an agricultural state, North Carolina State University (NC State) plays a vital role in the engine that drives the state’s economy. Over the course of any given year, NC State’s outreach program touches over half a million people. One of NC State’s many missions is to continue to foster that outreach and engagement with generations of North Carolina residents. However, the university must ensure that it meets its grant reporting obligations while improving efficiencies for university staff.

NC State’s Enterprise Application Group has not only delivered on these objectives but has built a thriving development team that has earned high praise and respect from university staff and administration, all with a low-code development platform.

Challenge leads to change

Outreach programs play a significant role in helping NC State fulfill its mission to deliver lifelong learning. Over 100 campus entities (units) deliver non-credit training. Unfortunately, each unit had its own method for managing registrations, using everything from sticky notes to spreadsheets to Shadow IT solutions such as SharePoint or Access. As a result, the reporting process was inordinately inefficient. Data from the various tools had to be rationalized and put into a standard reporting form. The university needed a more cost-effective way to manage registrations and push offerings out to the community, which in turn would make reporting more efficient.

However, the decentralized nature of NC State’s IT architecture makes standardizing on any single application a challenge. The university is comprised of 10 colleges and 10 divisions, each of which has its own IT group. “Having all these different IT groups gives us a lot of opportunity to do new and exciting things, but it also poses a lot of challenges, too. We have to work hard not to duplicate services, which wastes time and money that are in very short supply,” says Gwen Hazlehurst, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Enterprise Application Services at NC State.

In addition to satisfying the needs of a diverse user base that consists of staff and administration, the development team must create applications that meet a variety of compliance requirements according to Federal and State grant reporting standards. “In the Enterprise Applications Group, we have to adhere to strictly defined design patterns, especially when it comes to security and compliance. We have a lot of rules, regulations, procedures, and policies that we have to comply with,” Hazlehurst says. In addition to federal and state grant reporting standards, NC State must meet PCI DSS requirements.

Jordan Boyle
Jordan Boyle

To further complicate matters, the university doesn’t receive federal dollars to support the management of a non-credit system. Hazlehurst knew her team couldn’t afford the time or the money it would cost to develop a Java application in-house, so it released an RFP. The response was staggering. Estimates for an application ranged from $3-10 million over a five-year period.

“We absolutely could not afford that,” Hazlehurst says, “so we charged our student interns with the task of researching other options. That’s when we started to become aware of low-code platforms as an alternative way to rapidly develop and deliver code.”

An “outside-of-the-box” solution

A low-code development platform provides a visual approach to application development. Professional developers and subject matter experts alike use intuitive, visual models to create enterprise-grade, full stack applications.

The team determined that Mendix fit NC State’s budget and resource constraints, and activated student interns to help develop the non-credit system. “They graduated in mid-May and by late June they were developing code and designing parts of our system,” Hazlehurst says.

Jordan Boyle, now a software developer, was one of those interns. “I have a little coding experience, but I’ve never wanted to write hundreds of thousands of lines of code,” he says. “The low-code approach was very appealing. As an intern, I was able to dive right into Mendix. I started exploring the tool and quickly got up to speed. Now I’m a software developer full time. That’s really cool.”

Using Mendix, the newly hired developers built a minimum viable product of a non-credit system, dubbed REPORTER, in just over two months, with the full launch occurring in just five months. The total cost for REPORTER is estimated in the low six figures, versus the estimated $3-10 million and five years quoted by commercial off-the-shelf software (COTS) vendors. What’s more, the NC State team has greatly expanded REPORTER’s functionality, which would’ve been either time-consuming or impossible with a COTS product.

REPORTER has surpassed expectations. Standardizing on one PCI-compliant application has removed the compliance burden from each college and division, while automating registration has eliminated the need for spreadsheets and sticky notes.

“We’ve been able to do much more than make incremental changes to REPORTER. In fact, compliance isn’t just built into the outreach and externally-facing portion of the application, but we’ve also built in functionality to ensure we’re complying with training requirements on campus,” Hazlehurst says.

According to Jack Foster, IT Director at NC State: “REPORTER started off as addressing a very specific need around compliance and our outreach reporting, and the system has since become a full-blown enterprise application that serves many different needs across campus.”

REPORTER has surpassed expectations. Standardizing on one PCI-compliant application has removed the compliance burden from each college and division, while automating registration has eliminated the need for spreadsheets and sticky notes.

“Thirty or so departments use REPORTER, and they’ve all realized FTE savings. They’ve all been able to take that burden of worrying about what they’re going to do next and how they’ll manage an internal application, and reallocate those resources,” Foster says.

Proving the low-code hypothesis

Using a low-code development platform also freed up resources for the Enterprise Applications Group. Because they were able to deliver REPORTER faster than anticipated, Hazelhurst and team were able to engage with researchers on developing a solution to better manage reservations for lab equipment.

As a leading public research university, NC State prides itself on developing solutions to real-world problems. Energy-saving smart transformers and cancer-killing nanodaisies are just a couple of examples. “These researchers are helping to solve the serious problems our world is facing, and they were spending a third to a half of their time managing the paperwork around their labs,” Hazlehurst says.

Within just a few months, NC State rolled out a lab management system that manages well over $1 million in revenue each year.

Jack Foster
Jack Foster

“I take a lot of pride in the lab management application, because I’m the only developer on that project. I was able to build that application with the knowledge I had gained from building REPORTER,” Boyle says. “With Mendix, we can push solutions and features at a speed that’s fast and meets our customers’ expectations — if not exceed them — without losing any quality of work.”

Foster agrees. “We’re at the point where customers know we can deliver solutions almost as fast as they need them. It’s not always part of the conversation anymore,” Foster says. “They’ve just come to expect it or come to be part of the process.”

“There’s nothing like being able to quickly deliver a solution that meets folks’ needs and makes their lives easier. The Mendix platform helped us to do that. Other platforms move so slowly that when you do deliver a technology solution, it has been so long in coming that it doesn’t feel rewarding,” Hazlehurst says. “With Mendix, it’s almost instant gratification. You talk to people, find out what they need, develop an application, and push it out to them. You see a real change, a real benefit in a very short period of time.”

Cultural tide change

In addition to transforming how NC state delivers technical solutions, Mendix has transformed the culture in the Enterprise Applications Group. “Mendix changed the way we staff our teams, and in a way we never would’ve imagined. Being able to put our own graduates to work is a great feeling. They bring energy, creativity, and innovation to our team. It’s hard to quantify, but it makes a significant difference in the products that we roll out,” Hazlehurst says.

She adds: “I am incredibly proud of this young team that we essentially spun up overnight. They’ve brought some results to their customers that we normally don’t see. The accolades that the team received on the lab management system — that was high praise from some demanding folks.”

Gwen Hazlehurst
Gwen Hazlehurst

Hazlehurst says that some of the positive feedback they received was that the implementation was ‘flawless’ and that faculty went so far as to buy the team drinks. “My team has rolled out some stellar projects in the past, and we’ve never received those kinds of accolades, especially for something that we built from the ground up.”

Moving the mission forward

NC State prides itself on playing an important role in the state’s economy, both by providing traditional educational programs (undergraduate and graduate) and by offering non-credit courses to support North Carolina’s agricultural and industrial workforce. By taking an innovative approach to application development, the IT organization is better positioned to fulfill the university’s mission of outreach and engagement — from automating the registration process and freeing staff, by hiring NC State graduates as part of the IT team, to providing world-class educational experiences to its students.

“There’s nothing better for my team than hearing our customers say, ‘Oh my gosh, this is wonderful. You’ve made my life so much easier.’ Sometimes it feels like we work in the bowels of the university.” Hazlehurst says. “We don’t get to see how we’re helping to move the outreach and engagement mission forward. With these Mendix applications, we’ve been on the front lines with the folks who are actually delivering on that, and it’s a tremendous feeling.”

Mendix at work

Name of application /

REPORTER

Business Value /

REPORTER improves efficiencies across the university. It also eliminates shadow IT by replacing an array of solutions used by individual departments with an IT-managed, PCI-compliant standard.

development_time /

3 months vs. 3-5 years

Functionality /

REPORTER automates the registration process for no-credit classes as well as training requirements compliance and billing processes.

See for yourself how outcomes like NC State's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Copy link