什么是数字化转型?快速了解数字化转型

Skip navigation

加速数字化转型的有效方法

建立一个创新的、敏捷的组织通过应用程序创建行业领先的解决方案。

您需要一种能够平衡优先事项的数字化转型方法

与维护那些需要确定性和可预测计划的关键任务系统不同,创建需求不明确的创新型应用程序则需要对各种新方法进行不断测试,即需要敏捷性。企业的数字化转型策略必须根据应用程序需要解决的问题、变动频率、相关业务功能的不同特点等,对应用程序进行明确划分。

执行数字化转型战略远不止购买新技术这么简单

Digital

Gartner 调查显示,68% 的领先企业拥有双模 IT,而落后企业中仅 17%。

您需要制定严谨缜密、稳步推进的数字化转型路线图。您的团队必须快速构建创新开应用程序,同时保证核心业务的正常运营。为此,您需要重新考量应用程序的开发方法。

Gartner 创造了双模 IT 的概念帮助企业应对这一挑战。模式 1 专注于企业中具有确定性、明确目标和可预测计划的领域。模式 2 专注于企业中需求不够明确、不断变化且不易理解的领域。两种模式不是非此即彼,而是共同存在。但是,为了实现快速且可控的开发流程,您需要正确的平台和结构原则,以双模方法为核心,为流程、人员和项目组合提供支持。

利用数字化执行路线图打造数字化企业

成功构建企业的双模能力是一项艰巨复杂的任务,因此我们借鉴了 600 多个客户最佳实践,制定了三步路线图,帮助您降低执行风险。

Start

从小处着手。
推广成功经验。

眼见为实,利用云平台在 30 天内交付第一个应用程序,从此开启自己的数字化转型之旅。展示模式 2 如何通过业务与 IT 紧密合作,实现真正的创新。

博文:为什么推广成功经验是数字化转型的关键要素

Structuring

构建数字化转型框架以加速企业创新步伐

利用首个项目的成功经验,创建结构化方法来扩展模式 2 的应用程序项目组合。构建正确的架构和原则,用于重复利用、基于组件的开发、设计模式应用和质量保证。 组建创新团队,确定培训需求和采购策略,从而快速招聘合适人才,创建更多应用程序。

博文:如何构建 Mendix 团队,获取最佳结果

Scale

在整个企业中复制成功经验

通过更好的项目组合管理、持续集成和基于组件的结构,在各个层级改善企业治理。正确把握模式 1 和模式 2 项目之间的平衡,将取得成功并迅速推广的模式 2 项目转移到模式 1 运营。 建立卓越创新中心,为大规模分布式开发提供指导和支持。

博文:数字化转型框架:启动-结构-扩展

您需要一种行之有效的方法确保项目成功

Portfolio

产品组合

产品组合是企业高价值创新项目的通道,需要更快速的开发方法。合理制定项目阶段、成功标准和预算指南,有条不紊地开发想法并衡量进度。

制定跨业务和 IT 团队的工作流程,确保双方持续协作,同步开发优先项目。

People

人员

您需要确定项目人员,建立卓越中心,交付创新项目,并培训这个懂业务又懂技术的全能团队,从而实现快速合作。

博文:如何组建首个模式 2 团队,加速数字化转型

Digital

流程

您的创新团队需要建立快速开发流程,用于发布新功能并根据用户反馈不断进行迭代。现代化的开发运维实践同样不可或缺,从而构建连续迭代和规模发布所需的敏捷性。您还需要设计一个治理框架,一方面有效掌控模式 2 的应用程序,另一方面激励创新团队快速创建多款新应用程序。

Digital

平台

最后,您还需要构建现代化、低代码、云原生平台架构,突破陈旧系统的束缚,并与现有应用程序快速集成。平台必须支持人员和流程的整合,从而在促进协作和加快开发的同时保持总体控制,从而开发出可有效推动数字化转型的应用程序组合。

经常问的问题

  • 什么是数字化转型?

    数字转型是利用数字技术通过创造运营效率、增强客户参与度、开发创新产品或新的商业模式来改变和提高业务绩效的持续过程。数字化转型是一项涉及平台(技术)、人员、流程和应用程序组合等多方面的工作。

  • 为什么企业需要数字化转型?为什么数字化转型很重要

    70%的公司都制定了数字化转型战略或正在实施数字化转型战略,很明显,数字化转型不仅仅是一个流行词,也是那些希望引领行业、获得客户和员工尊敬的公司的必然选择。在这个颠覆是常态的时代,越来越多的企业正在制定帮助他们构建创新型应用程序,以满足客户的期望,改善内部业务的运营,并保持竞争力的数字化转型战略。

  • 低代码如何支持数字化转型?

    软件应用程序无论是在构建或完善增强客户参与度的解决方案,或是解决运营效率低下的问题,还是在推动新业务,都是企业数字化转型计划的关键价值交付机制。漫长的规划和应用程序交付周期已无法应对当今的业务需求和期望。由于缺乏技术资源,加上业务与IT之间的沟通壁垒,进一步加剧了问题。

    低代码通过可视化开发方法,正在改变企业构建、部署和管理移动和web应用程序的方式,以满足企业的数字化转型目标。事实上,根据Gartner的说法,“到2024年,低代码应用程序开发将占应用程序开发活动的65%以上。”了解如何使用Mendix这样的低代码平台来执行您的数字化转型计划

  • 数字化转型适用于哪些行业?数字化转型为谁服务?

    制造业、金融、保险、物流、教育和公共部门等行业的各种规模的公司都在实施数字化转型战略。每家企业都希望保持盈利,并建立员工和消费者喜爱的流程和产品。为了实现这一目标,他们正在投资低代码等数字技术,以满足他们的数字化转型目标。

  • 数字化转型的效果如何?

    数字化转型可以为企业带来显著的价值,包括改善内部流程和员工生产力、卓越的客户体验、颠覆市场的创新产品(比如Airbnb、特斯拉、谷歌等)。例如,一家领先的保险公司利用低代码开发一系列成功的应用程序(从保单管理系统到客户门户,再到将自拍转化为寿险报价的应用程序),帮助其实现数字化战略并在极短的时间内为业务带来巨大的价值。

  • 数字化转型为何失败?

    变革很难,尤其是在组织层面上。麦肯锡的数据显示,只有不到30%的公司在数字化转型中取得了成功。 数字化转型失败的一些常见原因包括:缺乏公司愿景、IT和业务之间缺乏协作、数字计划负责人的空缺以及无法提供人们以新的方式工作。这里是一些规避数字化转型挑战的技巧。

What is Digital Transformation? A Quick Intro to Digital Transformation

Skip navigation

You need an approach to digital transformation that balances competing priorities

As opposed to maintaining mission-critical systems where you need certainty and a predictable plan, creating innovative applications with unclear requirements demands agility to test new approaches. Your digital transformation strategy must clearly segment your applications by the problems they address, their rate of change, and the distinctiveness of the business capabilities they facilitate.

Executing a digital transformation strategy is more than just buying new technology

Digital Transformation Diagram - Innovate, Differentiate, Modernize, Maintain

According to Gartner, 68% of top performing companies say they have Bimodal IT vs. 17% for trailing performers.

You need a roadmap to digitally transform your enterprise in a scalable, thoughtful way. Your teams have to build new, innovative apps quickly, but without risking core business operations. To do this, you need to rethink your approach to application development.

Gartner created the concept of Bimodal IT to help enterprises address this challenge. Mode 1 recognizes that there are areas of your enterprise that have certainty, clear objectives and a predictable plan. Mode 2 recognizes that in other areas of your enterprise, requirements are unclear, changing, and less understood at the start. Bimodal isn’t an either/or proposition – both modes need to coexist. But to accomplish faster development with control, you need the right platform and architectural principles to support your Processes, People, and Portfolio, with a Bimodal approach at its core.

Become a digital enterprise with our Digital Execution Roadmap

Standing up a successful Bimodal capability within your organization is a complex task, so we applied the best practices from more than 600 customers to build a 3-step roadmap to reduce your execution risk.

Start

Start small.
Celebrate success.

Seeing is believing, so deliver your first app within 30 days by leveraging a cloud platform, and start your digital transformation off right. Demonstrate how true Business & IT collaboration can unleash innovation with a Mode-2 approach.

BLOG: Why Celebrating Success is a Crucial Element of Digital Transformation

Structuring Your Digital Transformation Strategy

Build a digital transformation framework to accelerate innovation

Use the experience from your first project to create a more structured approach to grow your Mode 2 application portfolio. Establish the right architecture and principles for re-use, component-based development, application of design patterns and QA. Establish an Innovation Team, identify training needs and a sourcing strategy, so you can on-board the right talent quickly to create more applications.

BLOG: How to Structure Mendix Teams for Optimal Results

Scale Digital Transformation

Replicate success throughout your enterprise

Improve governance on multiple levels with better portfolio management, continuous integration and component-based architecture. Align Mode 1 and 2 projects properly, transferring Mode 2 initiatives that scaled rapidly upon success to Mode 1 operations. Build an Innovation Center of Excellence that guides and supports large scale distributed development.

BLOG: A Digital Transformation Framework: Start-Structure-Scale

You need a proven methodology to execute successfully

Your business needs four capabilities to successfully implement a digital innovation program from Start to Scale. We call them the 4 Ps.

Portfolio

Portfolio

Your portfolio will be the pipeline of your highest-value innovation projects that require a faster development approach. Outline project stages, success criteria and budget guidelines to methodically develop ideas and measure progress.

Develop a process across your Business and IT teams so the prioritization of projects happens collaboratively and continuously.

People

People

You need to identify the people to build a Center of Excellence to deliver your innovation projects, and train this cross-functional team of business- and tech-savvy talent to collaborate with speed.

BLOG: How to Organize Your First Mode 2 Team to Accelerate Digital Transformation

Digital Transformation Process Chart

Process

Your innovation team needs to establish a process for rapid development so they’re releasing new functionality and iterating continually based on user feedback. You will have to implement modern DevOps practices to build the deployment agility required to continuously iterate and release at scale. You’ll also need to craft a governance framework so you maintain control of your Mode-2 application landscape, but allow your innovation teams to create hundreds of apps at speed.

Digital Transformation Platform

Platform

Lastly, you will need to adopt a modern, low-code, cloud-native platform architecture that eliminates constraints associated with legacy systems, and integrates quickly with your existing applications. Your Platform must allow you to bring your People and Process together, to unleash Collaboration and Speed, while maintaining Control to develop a Portfolio of apps that drives your Digital Transformation.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is digital transformation?

    Digital transformation is the ongoing process of leveraging digital technologies to transform and improve business performance by creating operational efficiency, enhancing customer engagement, and developing innovative products or new business models. Digital transformation is a multifaceted effort that also involves not only a platform (technology) but people, process, and an application portfolio, too.

  • Why do companies need to digitally transform? Why is digital transformation important?

    With 70% of companies either having a digital transformation strategy in place or working on one, it’s clear that digital transformation is no longer just a buzzword but a necessity for companies that want to lead the industry and be revered by its customers and employees. In an age where disruption is a norm, companies are increasingly creating digital transformation strategies that will help them build innovative applications that meet customer expectations, improve internal business operations, and stay competitive.

  • How does low-code support digital transformation?

    Whether it’s building or refining solutions that enhance customer engagement, resolving operational inefficiencies, or driving new business, software applications are the key value-delivery mechanisms for an organization’s digital transformation initiative. Long planning and application delivery cycles no longer support today’s business needs and expectations. This problem is further exacerbated by shortage of skilled resources and lack of collaboration between business and IT.
    With a visual development approach, low-code is transforming the way companies build, deploy, and manage mobile and web applications to meet their digital transformation objectives. In fact, according to Gartner, “By 2024, low-code application development will be responsible for more than 65% of application development activity.” Learn how you can use a low-code platform like Mendix to execute your digital transformation plan.

  • Which industries does digital transformation apply to? Who is digital transformation for?

    Companies of all sizes across industries like manufacturing, finance, insurance, logistics, education, and the public sector are implementing digital transformation strategies. Every business wants to remain profitable and build processes and products that employees and consumers love. To do this, they’re investing in digital technologies like low-code to meet their digital transformation goals.

  • What are the effects of digital transformation?

    When done right, digital transformation can add significant value to the company, including improved internal processes and employee productivity, superior customer experience, innovative products that disrupt the market (think Airbnb, Tesla, Google, etc.). For instance, a leading insurance company used low-code to implement its digital strategy by developing a portfolio of successful applications – from policy administration systems to customer portals, to an app that turns a selfie into a life insurance quote – to drive massive value to business in record time.

  • Why does digital transformation fail?

    Change is hard, especially when it’s at the organizational level. According to McKinsey, less than 30% of companies succeed in digital transformation. Some of the common reasons why digital transformation fails include a lack of company vision, IT and business operating as silos with minimal communication, failure to assign digital initiative owner s, and failing to empower people to work in new ways. Here are some tips to avoid digital transformation challenges.

Copy link