Solomon Group liefert Innovationen mit Low-Code

Skip navigation

Geschichten zum Leben erwecken

Die Solomon Group bietet Innovationen und Differenzierung dank Low-Code-Entwicklung.

Tageskarten-Ticketverkäufe

700.000 Dollar Mehrumsatz mit IoT-Drehkreuzen

Kapazität der Veranstaltungsorte

50 Prozent Steigerung durch Teilnehmertransparenz

Verwandte Artikel

Wichtigste Ergebnisse

  • Die in New Orleans ansässige Solomon Group ist eine Unterhaltungsproduktionsfirma, die auf Großveranstaltungen wie das NCAA Playoff Kickoff oder das Essence Festival spezialisiert ist
  • Die Solomon Group ist bereits ein Branchenführer bei Eventmanagementaufgaben wie Licht, Ton oder Ticketing und hat ihr Angebot um kundenspezifische Entwicklungen erweitert, um sich weiter im Markt zu differenzieren
  • Mit Mendix liefert die Solomon Group gebrauchstaugliche Apps, die den Ticketverkauf ihrer Kunden steigern, Verkäufer verwalten, VIPs ansprechen und die Veranstaltungsnavigation verbessern.

Überzeugen Sie sich selbst, wie Sie ähnliche Ergebnisse mit der Mendix-Plattform erzielen können.

Wahre Innovation ist das Produkt der richtigen Werkzeuge und der richtigen Einstellung, um ein neues oder bestehendes Problem zu lösen.

Mit der richtigen Einstellung suchte die Solomon Group nach den Werkzeugen, die sie brauchte, um eine interne Geschäftsherausforderung zu lösen. Dabei entdeckte sie Möglichkeiten, selbst zum Innovator zu werden, ihren Kunden umfassende, kreative Lösungen anzubieten und sich dabei selbst zu transformieren.

Standardisierung und Flexibilität

Die Solomon Group schafft immersive, publikumszentrierte Geschichten, die lehren, unterhalten und ansprechen. Wenn das Unternehmen eine Veranstaltung wie das Essence Music Festival in New Orleans oder den Super Bowl XLVII plant und umsetzt, kümmert es sich um praktisch jedes Detail – die Buchung des Veranstaltungsortes, die Koordination von Hotelaufenthalten, den Bau der Kulisse in seiner Produktionshalle und die Bereitstellung der Multimedia-Ausstattung. Dies geschieht praktisch ständig in Dutzenden von Projekten gleichzeitig.

Die Transformation der Solomon Group begann mit einem Bedarf an Effizienz. Jonathan Foucheaux, Mitgründer und Partner der Solomon Group, erkannte die Notwendigkeit von Standardisierung und optimierten Abläufen, um ein qualitativ hochwertiges Publikumserlebnis zu bieten. „Unser wichtigstes Unternehmensziel ist es, unseren Kunden so schnell wie möglich ein Qualitätsprodukt zu liefern. Wir arbeiten in einer sehr, sehr schnelllebigen Branche, und wir laufen immer auf Hochtouren, also sind die Standardisierung von Prozessen und Effizienzsteigerungen unabdingbar”, sagt Foucheaux. „Die Unterhaltungsindustrie ist sehr persönlich und basiert auf Beziehungen. Wir haben keinen Raum für Fehler. Wenn 80.000 Menschen versuchen, ihre Armbänder zu scannen, um an einem Event teilzunehmen, muss das funktionieren. Es darf nichts schief gehen.“

Um sicherzustellen, dass die Mitarbeiter und Arbeitsfunktionen des Unternehmens synchron bleiben, verwendeten die Mitarbeiter Tabellenkalkulationen, Word-Dokumente und Papierakten, um Projekte zu verfolgen. Das Unternehmen verwendete auch eine individualisierte Anwendung, die mit Quick Base erstellt wurde. Diese Prozesse wurden jedoch unhaltbar. Solomon-Mitarbeiter empfanden Quick Base als sehr einschränkend und hörten einfach auf, die Anwendung zu nutzen. Infolgedessen verschwendeten die Projektmanager Stunden mit der Suche nach Informationen.

Das Team experimentierte mit einem rationalen Datenbankprodukt, FileMaker, erkannte aber schnell, dass es, wie Quick Base, die Anforderungen des Unternehmens nicht erfüllen würde. „Es bot nicht genügend Flexibilität oder Individualisierungsoptionen für unsere Prozesse. Wir wussten, dass wir das selbst machen wollten. Wir sind technisch ziemlich versiert, aber wir sind keine Programmierer. Also haben wir uns näher mit Low-Code-Plattformen beschäftigt”, sagt Foucheaux.

Mit Augenmaß

Bei der Recherche nach Low-Code-Plattformen im Internet stieß das Team auf Mendix.

Low-Code bot die Leistung und Flexibilität, die die Solomon Group suchte. „Wir haben uns für Mendix entschieden, weil das Produkt sowohl leistungsstark als auch sehr einfach zu bedienen ist”, sagt Foucheaux. „Das ist es, wonach wir gesucht haben. Wir brauchten etwas, das einfach zu bedienen war, das uns aber gleichzeitig erlaubte, uns einzuarbeiten und fast alles zu tun, was wir wollten.”

Nachdem er mit dem Mendix-Team zusammengesessen und die Plattform kennengelernt hatte, waren Foucheaux und sein Team bereit, sich an die Entwicklung zu machen.

Innerhalb von vier Monaten erstellte die Solomon Group eine individuelle ERP-Anwendung mit Mendix. „Es war ziemlich cool, den Prozess der Anwendungsentwicklung durchzugehen und zu sehen, dass alles möglich ist, was wir wollten“, sagt Foucheaux.

Jonathan Foucheaux
Jonathan Foucheaux

Früher war die Bestellung von Services für verschiedene Facetten einer Veranstaltung ein mühsamer Prozess, der mehrere Anrufe, Bestellscheine, die Suche nach Preisen und den Vergleich von Materialspezifikationen umfasste. Die neue Anwendung organisiert alle Projektinformationen in einem System und verknüpft die Arbeitsabläufe der Abteilungen miteinander, wodurch endlose Suchanfragen entfallen und den Mitarbeitern Hunderte von Stunden pro Monat gespart werden. Jetzt sagt Foucheaux: „Da wir mit Mendix einfach eine ausgefeilte Prozesslogik erstellen können, klicken Sie in der neuen App auf ein Projekt und Sie landen genau dort, wo Sie hinwollen. Statt 30, 40, 50 Klicks in unserer alten Quick Base App sind es nur noch zwei Klicks in unserer Mendix App.”

Was als Mittel zur Effizienzsteigerung gedacht war, entwickelte sich zu einem Innovationstreiber. Die Anwendung beeindruckte sogar die Kunden der Solomon Group. „Einige unserer Kunden arbeiteten bei einer Veranstaltung und unsere Leute waren auf ihren Laptops im System”, sagt Foucheaux. „Die Kunden fragten, welche Software wir verwenden, und wir sagten ihnen, dass wir sie selbst entwickelt haben. Sie sagten: ‚Whoa, das ist unglaublich.‘ Da begannen wir zu ahnen, dass es vielleicht etwas gibt, was wir mit Mendix auch auf der Serviceseite für unsere Kunden tun können.”

Etwa zur gleichen Zeit leitete die Solomon Group ein großes Musikfestival und benötigte eine Lösung für das Festivalmanagement. Die kommerzielleb Lösungen von der Stange fand die Solomon Group zu starr für ihre Bedürfnisse. „Wir haben tatsächlich eine Plattform für eine einzige Veranstaltung geschaffen”, sagt Foucheaux. Das Projekt war ein Erfolg und geht in sein zweites Produktionsjahr. „Es ist ziemlich spektakulär, was wir dank Mendix für den Kunden tun konnten.”

Einhaltung der Sicherheitsvorschriften - und der Unternehmensziele

Es wurde deutlich, dass die Solomon Group für die Lösung komplexer Geschäftsprobleme gerüstet war, als das Unternehmen mit der Arbeit an einer Veranstaltung in einem Kongresszentrum begann.

Der örtliche Feuerwehrkommandant entschied unter Berufung auf Kapazitätsprobleme bei früheren Veranstaltungen im selben Gebäude, dass niemand mehr eingelassen wurde, sobald eine bestimmte Anzahl von Personen das Gebäude betreten hatte. Diese Einschränkung hatte erhebliche Auswirkungen auf die Fähigkeit des Kunden und seiner Sponsoren, ihre Geschäftsziele zu erreichen.

Foucheaux benötigte also eine Möglichkeit, die Anzahl der Personen im Veranstaltungsort zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt genau zu bestimmen. Er erinnert sich, dass der Feuerwehrkommandant bezweifelte, dass Solomon die Anwesenheit überwachen konnte: „Der Feuerwehrkommandant stellte uns die Frage: ‚Wie wollen Sie überwachen, wie viele Menschen gehen, damit Sie wissen, wie viele Sie reinlassen können? Mit Klickern?‘”

Dann dämmerte es Foucheaux und seinem Team: „Was wäre, wenn wir Sensoren bauen würden, die verfolgen können, welche Personen kommen und gehen und diese Daten in eine neue Mendix-Anwendung einfügen würden?”

Und genau das hat die Solomon Group getan. Sensoren auf optischen Drehkreuzen lieferten Daten an eine mit Mendix entwickelte Anwendung, so dass Eventmanager in Echtzeit die Anzahl der eingelassenen Personen, die Anzahl der ausgetretenen Personen und die verfügbare Kapazität im Gebäude sehen konnten. Der Feuerwehrkommandant erlaubte der Solomon Group, ihre IoT-fähigen Drehkreuze umzusetzen. Infolgedessen konnte die Veranstaltung den Ticketverkauf um 50% steigern.

Das Projekt war so erfolgreich, dass die Solomon Group einen Feuerwehrmann aus einer anderen Gemeinde dazu einlud das System in Aktion zu sehen, um ein ähnliches Problem für eine andere Veranstaltung zu lösen. „Weil wir überwachen konnten, wo sich die Leute innerhalb des Veranstaltungsortes aufhielten – von Raum zu Raum, von innen nach außen -, konnte dieser Kunde den Feuerwehrkommandanten davon überzeugen, 2.000 zusätzliche Tickets für seine Veranstaltung verkaufen zu lassen”, sagt Foucheaux. Bei einem Preis von 350 Dollar pro Ticket wurde der Umsatz des Kunden durch zusätzliche Verkäufe an Tagestickets um 700.000 Dollar gesteigert.

Foucheaux zufolge hatte das System einen weiteren unerwarteten Vorteil: „Wir haben erst nicht realisiert, wie viele Kennzahlen wir aus den Daten, die diese optischen Drehkreuze erzeugen, tatsächlich herausholen können: Wir können nachvollziehen, wie viele Personen an einer Veranstaltung teilgenommen haben, wann sie gegangen sind, welche Ein- und Ausgänge sie benutzt haben, den beliebtesten Raum im Gebäude zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt. Und die Kunden sind sehr begeistert davon.”

Wir sind jetzt Programmierer

Foucheaux selbst hatte vor Mendix noch keine Erfahrung in der Anwendungsentwicklung. „Die Solomon Group ist ein technisch sehr versiertes Unternehmen, aber keiner von uns ist ein Programmierer”, sagt Foucheaux. „Das hat uns nicht davon abgehalten, schnell zu lernen, wie man Apps auf der Mendix-Plattform erstellt.”

Im Gespräch mit Kunden, die nicht in bestehende kommerzielle Standardlösungen investieren wollen, bietet die Solomon Group nun die Möglichkeit an, mit Mendix eine Lösung für sie zu entwickeln. In einem Fall sagte Foucheaux zu einem Kunden: „Ja, wir können das schaffen. Wir sind jetzt Programmierer.”

Die Solomon Group ermöglicht ihren Kunden außerdem, Änderungen an ihren Anwendungen vorzunehmen. „Uns ist wichtig, dass die Stakeholder einer Veranstaltung in die App gehen und spontan Änderungen vornehmen können. Mendix ermöglicht ihnen, etwas sehr Technisches auf eine sehr einfache Weise zu tun. Und das ist der große Mehrwert, den uns Mendix bringt.”

Die Geschäftsvorteile, die Mendix bietet, haben die Erwartungen des Unternehmens übertroffen.

Während die Nutzerfreundlichkeit für den Erfolg der Solomon Group entscheidend war, sind die von ihr entwickelten Anwendungen nur nützlich, wenn Mendix skalierbar und zuverlässig ist.

Wenn eine Anwendung nicht funktioniert, erhält die Solomon Group keine zweite Chance. „Es ist wichtig, dass alles funktioniert und zuverlässig ist. Es ist wirklich schwer zu testen, wenn man Benutzerzahlen von vier oder fünf zu Beginn einer Woche bis hin zu 150.000 in der Mitte der Woche und am Wochenende hat. Es ist wichtig, dass unsere Apps zuverlässig und skalierbar sind, um mit der Nachfrage Schritt zu halten, so dass jeder eine großartige Erfahrung hat”, sagt Foucheaux.

In einer Branche, in der Erfolg daran gemessen wird, ob das Publikum unterhalten wird oder nicht, kann die Solomon Group dies nun für ihre Kunden sicherstellen. „Die Zuverlässigkeit und Skalierbarkeit, die Mendix bietet, gibt uns die Gewissheit, dass die Anwendung funktioniert, dass sie grundsolide ist und dass jeder Spaß haben wird.”

Geschäftszuwachs mit App-Entwicklung

Die Geschäftsvorteile, die Mendix bietet, haben die Erwartungen des Unternehmens übertroffen. „Als wir uns das erste Mal mit Mendix beschäftigten, suchten wir nur nach einer Möglichkeit, unser internes System aufzubauen. Und jetzt scheint es, dass jede Woche ein neuer Bedarf aufkommt und jemand sagt: ‚Hey, lasst uns mit Mendix eine App dafür entwickeln”, sagt Foucheaux.

„Mendix war für uns intern und extern ein echter Gamechanger. Wir können uns damit von unseren Mitbewerbern abheben, die sich vor allem auf die Produktionsaspekte von Veranstaltungen konzentrieren und Managementsysteme von der Stange einsetzen”, erklärt Foucheaux.

Die Solomon Group verfügt derzeit über 20 Anwendungen im Produktionsmodus, von denen zwei intern und 18 kundenorientiert sind. Die wachsende Möglichkeit, kundenspezifische Anwendungen zu entwickeln, erlaubt der Solomon Group sogar dazu, ihr Team zu erweitern. Das Unternehmen stellt nun gezielt Mitarbeiter ein, die ihr Mendix-Anwendungsportfolio verwalten.

„Wir erwecken Geschichten zum Leben. Das machen wir jeden Tag für unsere Kunden und Mendix ist ein wichtiges Instrument, das uns dabei unterstützt. Es ermöglicht uns, Anwendungen schnell zu erstellen, Änderungen schnell vorzunehmen, verschiedene Ideen mit unseren Kunden durchzugehen und das, was sie suchen, sehr schnell und effizient zum Leben zu erwecken”, sagt Foucheaux. Infolgedessen ist die Solomon Group auf dem Markt für Unterhaltungsproduktion einzigartig geworden, was die Art von Problemen betrifft, die sie für ihre Kunden lösen kann.

Mendix at work

Name der Applikation /

IoT-Drehkreuze

Geschäftswert /

700.000 Dollar Mehrumsatz durch zusätzliche Tageskartenverkäufe

development_time /

Funktionalität /

Drehkreuze, die außerhalb einer Veranstaltung aufgestellt werden, registrieren in Echtzeit, wie viele Teilnehmer den Raum betreten und verlassen und senden diese Daten an eine Mendix-Anwendung, die Veranstaltern und Sicherheitspersonal Einblick in die Anwesenheit gibt und einen höheren Ticketverkauf ermöglicht.

Name der Applikation /

RFID VIP-Management

Geschäftswert /

Deutliche Steigerung der VIP-Zufriedenheit

development_time /

Funktionalität /

Durch die Ausstattung von 9.000 VIPs mit einem RFID-Armband für eine Großveranstaltung konnten die Eventmanagement-Mitarbeiter in einem Dutzend VIP-Bereichen mit mobilen Geräten oder einem Drehkreuz erkennen, zu welchen Bereichen jeder VIP Zugang hatte, was einen zuvor papierbasierten Prozess deutlich rationalisierte.

Überzeugen Sie sich selbst, wie Sie ähnliche Ergebnisse mit der Mendix-Plattform erzielen können.

Copy link

Solomon Group Delivers Innovation with the Power of Low-code

Skip Navigation

Bringing Stories to Life

Solomon Group Delivers Innovation and Differentiation with the Power of Low-code Development

Single-day Ticket Sales

  • $700,000 increase with IoT Turnstiles

Venue Capacity

  • 50% Increase with Attendee Transparency

Related Assets

Key Findings

  • New Orleans-based Solomon Group is an entertainment production company, specializing in large events like the NCAA Playoff Kickoff and the Essence Festival
  • Already an industry leader in event management tasks like lighting, sound, and ticketing, Solomon Group added custom development to further differentiate itself in the market
  • Using Mendix, Solomon Group delivers fit-for-purpose apps that increase their clients’ ticket sales, manage vendors, please VIPs, and improve event navigation

See for yourself how outcomes like Solomon Group's are possible with the Mendix platform.

True innovation is the product of having the right tools and frame of mind to recognize an opportunity to solve a new or existing problem.

It was with the right frame of mind that Solomon Group sought the tools it needed to solve an internal business challenge, only to discover opportunities to become an innovator itself, to deliver rich, creative solutions to its clients, and transform itself in the process.

“When 80,000 people are trying to scan their wristband to get into the event, it has to work. There's no option for it not to work.”
Jonathan Foucheaux / Co-founder, Solomon Group

Standardization and flexibility

Solomon Group creates immersive, audience-centric stories that educate, entertain, and engage. When the company designs and produces an event like the Essence Music Festival in New Orleans or Super Bowl XLVII, it handles virtually every detail — booking the venue, coordinating hotel stays, building the scenery in its fabrication shop, and providing the multi-media equipment. It does this across dozens of projects at any given time.

Solomon Group’s transformation started with a need for efficiency. Solomon Group co-founder and partner, Jonathan Foucheaux, recognized the need for standardization and streamlined operations in order to deliver high-quality audience experiences. “Our most important business objective is to provide a quality product to our clients as quickly as possible. We work in a very, very fast-paced industry, and we’re always going a million miles an hour, so the standardization of processes, and efficiencies, is the name of the game,” says Foucheaux. “The entertainment industry is very personal, relationship-based. We have no room for error. When 80,000 people are trying to scan their wristbands to get into the event, it has to work. There’s no option for it not to work.”

To ensure that the firm’s employees and work functions stayed in sync, employees used spreadsheets, Word documents, and paper files to track projects. The company also used a custom application built with Quick Base. However, these processes became unsustainable. Solomon employees found Quick Base very limiting and simply stopped using it. As a result, project managers were wasting hours searching for information.

The team experimented with a relational database product, FileMaker, but quickly realized that it, like Quick Base, wouldn’t meet the firm’s requirements. “It didn’t offer enough flexibility or customization to accommodate our processes. We knew we wanted to do this ourselves. We’re pretty technically savvy, but by no means are we coders. So, we started to look at low-code software development platforms,” Foucheaux says.

Using sound judgment

While researching low-code platforms online, the team came across Mendix.

Low-code development provided the power and flexibility Solomon Group was seeking. “We chose Mendix because the product is both powerful and very easy to use,” says Foucheaux. “That’s what we were looking for. We needed something that was easy to use but would allow us to dig in and do almost anything that we wanted it to do.”

After sitting with the Mendix team and learning the platform, Foucheaux and his team were ready to get developing.

Within four months, Solomon Group built a custom ERP application on Mendix. “Going through the process of building the application and seeing it handle everything we wanted was pretty cool,” states Foucheaux.

In the past, ordering services for different facets of an event was an arduous process that involved multiple phone calls, order slips, looking up of prices, and comparing specs of materials. The new application organizes all of the project information in one system and links department workflows to each other, eliminating endless searches and saving employees hundreds of hours per month. Now, Foucheaux says, “Thanks to our ability to easily build sophisticated process logic with Mendix, you click on a project in the new app and it brings you exactly where you want to go. Instead of 30, 40, 50 clicks in our old Quick Base app, it’s just two clicks in our Mendix app.”

What started as a means of achieving efficiency turned into a vehicle for innovative outcomes. The application even impressed Solomon Group’s clients. “Some of our clients were working at an event and our folks were in the system on their laptops,” says Foucheaux. “The clients asked what software we were using, and we told them we made it ourselves. They were like, ‘Whoa, that’s amazing.’ That’s when we started thinking that maybe there’s something we can do with Mendix on the service side for our clients.”

Around the same time, Solomon Group was managing a large music festival, and it needed a solution for festival management. While there are commercial-off-the-shelf solutions, Solomon Group found them to be too rigid for its needs. “We literally made a platform for one event,” says Foucheaux. The project has been a success, entering its second year in production. “It’s pretty spectacular what we’ve been able to do for the client thanks to Mendix.”

Jonathan Foucheaux Jonathan Foucheaux
“The clients asked what software we were using, and we told them we made it ourselves. They were like, ‘Whoa, that's amazing.’ ”
Jonathan Foucheaux / Co-founder, Solomon Group

Meeting safety regulations — and business objectives

It became clear that Solomon Group was equipped to solve complex business problems when the firm began working on an event at a convention center.

Citing capacity issues at previous events in the same venue, the local fire marshal decided that once a predetermined number of people entered the building, no one else would be admitted. This limitation severely impacted the ability of Solomon’s client and their sponsors to meet their business goals.

Foucheaux needed a way to accurately calculate the number of people in the venue at any given time. He recalls the fire marshal doubting Solomon’s ability to monitor attendance: “The fire marshal posed the question to us: ‘How are you going to monitor how many people are leaving so that you know how many to let in? With clickers?’”

That’s when it dawned on Foucheaux and his team: “What if we build sensors that can track people walking in and out of a lane, and post that data into a new Mendix application?”

And that’s exactly what Solomon Group did. Sensors on optical turnstiles fed data to a Mendix-built application, allowing event managers to see in real-time the number of people that entered, the number that exited, and available capacity in the building. The fire marshal allowed Solomon Group to implement their IoT-enabled turnstiles. As a result, the event garnered a 50% increase in ticket sales.

The project was so successful, Solomon Group invited a fire marshal from another municipality to see the system in action to solve a similar problem for another event. “Because we could monitor where people were inside the venue — room to room, and inside and out — that client was able to convince the fire marshal to let them sell 2,000 additional tickets to their event,” Foucheaux says. At $350 per ticket, this added an additional $700,000 in single-day ticket sales to the client’s revenue.

The system had another unexpected benefit, according to Foucheaux: “We didn’t realize how many metrics we could get out of the data these optical turnstiles generate. We can chart how many people attended an event, when they left, the entrances and exits they used, the most popular room in the building at any given time. And the clients are super thrilled about it.”

“Solomon Group is a very tech-savvy company, but none of us are coders. That didn’t stop us from quickly learning how to build apps on the Mendix platform.”
Jonathan Foucheaux / Co-founder, Solomon Group

We’re coders now

Foucheaux himself had no previous experience in application development prior to Mendix. “Solomon Group is a very tech-savvy company, but none of us are coders,” Foucheaux says. “That didn’t stop us from quickly learning how to build apps on the Mendix platform.”

When talking to clients who don’t want to invest in existing commercial-off-the-shelf solutions, Solomon Group can now offer an option of building a solution for them with Mendix. In one instance, Foucheaux told a customer, “Yeah, we can do it. We’re coders now.”

Solomon Group allows its clients to make changes to their applications, as well. “It’s important for us that stakeholders at an event can go into the app and make changes on the fly. Mendix allows them to do something that’s very technical in a very easy way. And that’s the huge value that we see that it brings us.”

While ease-of-use has been critical to Solomon Group’s success, the applications it builds are only useful insofar as Mendix is scalable and reliable.

If an application doesn’t work, Solomon Group doesn’t get a second chance to get it right. “It’s critical that everything works and is reliable. It’s really hard to test that when you have a spike of users from four or five at the beginning of a week to 150,000 in the middle of the week and into the weekend. It’s critical that our apps are reliable and scalable on a moment’s notice to keep up with the demand so that everyone can have a great experience,” Foucheaux says.

In an industry where success is measured on whether or not the audience is entertained, Solomon Group can now ensure that for their clients. “The reliability and the scalability that Mendix delivers assures us that the application will work, it will be rock solid and everybody’s going to have a good time.”

The business benefits Mendix delivers have exceeded the firm’s expectations.

“We bring stories to life. That's what we do for our clients every day, and Mendix is a key tool with helping us do that.”
Jonathan Foucheaux / Co-founder, Solomon Group

Building business by building apps

The business benefits Mendix delivers have exceeded the firm’s expectations. “When we first got into Mendix, we were literally just looking for something to build our internal system on. And now, every week, it seems a new need comes up, and someone says, ‘Hey, let’s go to Mendix and build an app for that,’” Foucheaux says.

“Mendix has really been a game changer for us internally and externally. It’s allowed us to differentiate ourselves from our competitors that are primarily focused on the production aspects of events and use off-the-shelf management systems,” Foucheaux explains.

Solomon Group currently has 20 applications in production mode, two of which are internal-facing and 18 that are customer-facing. The growing opportunity to build custom applications is even driving Solomon Group to expand its team. The firm is hiring people specifically to manage their Mendix application portfolio.

“We bring stories to life. That’s what we do for our clients every day, and Mendix is a key tool with helping us do that by allowing us to build applications quickly, make changes quickly, iterate through different ideas with our clients, and really bring what they’re looking for to life in a very quick and efficient way,” Foucheaux says. As a result, Solomon Group has become singular in the entertainment production marketplace for the types of problems they can solve for their clients.

See for yourself how outcomes like Solomon Group's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Mendix at Work

Name of Application /

IoT Turnstiles

Business Value /

$700,000 in additional single-day ticket sales

Functionality /

Turnstiles set up outside an event space track, in real time, attendees arriving and leaving the space, sending data to a Mendix application that gives event managers and safety personnel insight into attendance, allowing for increased ticket sales.

Name of Application /

RFID VIP Management

Business Value /

Significant increase in VIP satisfaction

Functionality /

By providing 9,000 VIPs with an RFID wristband at a large event, event management employees in a dozen VIP areas were able to tell with mobile devices or a turnstile which areas each VIP had access to, significantly streamlining a previously paper-based process.

Copy link