用低代码进行应用程序组合管理

什么是应用程序组合管理?

应用程序组合指企业所使用的软件应用程序的集合,企业利用此类应用程序达到提升运营效率、形成差异化优势、削减成本、进行数字化转型等不同业务目标。

与投资组合管理类似,应用程序组合管理指识别、开发、监控和管理企业软件应用程序,使其与业务目标保持一致,为企业创造尽可能多的价值。这既是一门艺术,也是一门科学。

制定应用程序组合管理战略的重要性

缺乏对投资组合的积极管理会造成怎样的后果?取决于投资组合的规模,个人可能会面临巨额财务损失的风险。同样,如果企业缺乏有效的应用程序组合管理战略,可能会面临技术债务、成本超支、合规和治理挑战、资源浪费等代价高昂甚至难以解决的问题。实际上,68% 的 IT 项目都以失败告终,因此必须构建和管理能够促进业务目标实现的应用程序组合,而非进行无用的投资。
此外,根据 Gartner 的预测,对应用程序的需求将是 IT 交付能力的五倍之多,因此应用程序组合管理战略能够帮助企业成功构建新应用程序,并管理现有应用程序。

“在我们的架构中存在缺口或者应用程序组合中存在缺口的地方,低代码使我们能够非常快速地构建它们并将其推向市场。”

废物管理公司 Suez UK 的 CIO 马特·罗杰斯 (Matt Rogers) 希望快速填补应用程序组合中的缺口。Mendix 为他和他的团队提供了相应的方法。

应用程序组合管理的优势

构建和管理恰当的应用程序组合可帮助企业:

  • 创新

    企业可利用增强现实/虚拟现实、人工智能、物联网等新兴技术为客户构建创新应用程序。

  • 提升客户参与度

    企业可通过应用程序提供新的产品或服务,吸引新客户或增强现有产品,防止客户流失。例如推出自助服务门户或特定的移动服务。

  • 降低风险

    通过使用低代码等技术,企业可构建兼容且便于 IT 监控的应用程序,从而免受影子 IT 的影响,避免积累技术债务。

  • 创建新的产品和商业模式

    应用程序可赋能战略项目,从而推动实现业务目标,例如推出新的商业模式、进入新的市场、在竞争中保持领先。

  • 确定项目和资源分配的优先级

    应用程序组合管理可帮助企业确定能够创造业务价值的应用程序,为其优先分配资源,同时消除多余的应用程序。

  • 提高运营效率

    通过支持流程自动化、改善基础架构,应用程序可降低企业的运营和 IT 成本。

如何开始低代码应用程序组合管理

通用决策

在此步骤中,您需要确定哪些业务计划适合采用低代码技术,然后从业务的角度出发,广泛构建可快速推向市场的应用程序组合,从技术的角度来看,则需保证应用程序由数据驱动,支持用户友好的多设备体验。
大部分应用程序属于以下三种用例:第一,基于人工智能、物联网、区块链等新技术的创新应用程序;第二,针对客户参与、自助服务门户、特定移动服务的差异化应用程序;第三,计费系统、CRM 和工资单等记录系统的应用程序。
企业可以基于以下两个参数映射以上三种用例:构建应用程序的预定义需求和变化率 — 即应用程序的需求可能以何种速度和频率进行变化。根据用例的性质,创新应用程序预定义需求最低,但变化率最高,而记录系统应用程序预定义需求最高,但变化率最小。

Mendix 低代码平台遵循敏捷方法,对于预定义要求低而变化率高的创新应用程序和差异化应用程序来说,Mendix 是构建应用程序组合的理想之选。
此外,成功的创新或差异化应用程序可能需要从现有记录系统中获取数据。有了 Mendix 的技术,这一操作简便快捷,能够大幅提升应用程序的开发速度。

确定一开始所用的首选应用程序

此步骤旨在从第一步广泛的应用程序组合中确定排名前五或前十的应用程序,确保这些应用程序的交付将为企业创造价值。选择首选应用程序的过程包括(针对每个应用程序)回答以下五个简单的验证问题。

  1. 应用程序是否能给最终用户带来惊喜?
  2. 应用程序是否具有清晰的业务价值?
  3. 首版应用程序是否能成为最简可行产品 (MVP),具备满足最终用户需求的功能?
  4. 应用程序是否具有较高的最终用户曝光率,且构建应用程序的复杂程度较低/中等?
  5. 应用程序在一些预定义类别(例如涉及的团队、集成要求、预期的 MVP 功能等)方面是否规模较小/中等?

如果这些问题的答案都是肯定的,那么它就是首选应用程序之一。针对每个应用程序寻找以上五个问题的答案,直到将组合范围缩小至首选应用程序。

优先开发

最后,对第二步的首选应用程序进一步缩小范围,选择最佳的应用程序开始进行开发。此步骤中,还需对第二步的首选应用程序进行正确的排序,为未来的应用程序组合创建工作制定路线图。

再次根据第二步中的五个验证问题对应用程序进行评估,但同时用具体的数值确定并标记每个问题的答案。下图展示了最终的第一名,具体考虑惊喜程度、业务价值、复杂性和曝光度,并确定了其余应用程序的开发路线图。

What is Application Portfolio Management? Manage Your Low-Code App Portfolio

Skip navigation

What is Application Portfolio Management?

Application portfolio refers to a collection of software applications that an organization uses to meet its varied business objectives like improving operational efficiency, differentiating within the market, streamlining costs, or executing digital transformation.

Much like investment portfolio management, application portfolio management is the art and science of identifying, developing, monitoring and managing enterprise software applications that align with business goals and deliver maximum value to the organization.

The importance of building an application portfolio management strategy

What happens if an investment portfolio is not actively managed? Depending on the size of the portfolio, an individual may risk running into huge financial losses. Similarly, if companies don’t have an active application portfolio management strategy in place, it may risk running into several expensive, and sometimes irreversible issues like technical debt, cost overrun, compliance and governance challenges, resource wastage, and more. In fact, with 68% of IT projects failing, it is important to build and manage an application portfolio that actively contributes to business goals rather than being a dead investment.

Furthermore, with Gartner projecting the demand for apps to grow 5x times than IT’s ability to deliver, having the right application portfolio management strategy can help companies successfully build new apps and manage the existing ones.

“Where we have gaps in our architecture, or gaps in our application portfolio, low-code enables us to build them very quickly and bring them to market.”

- Matt Rogers, CIO of Suez UK, a waste management company, looked for a way to quickly address gaps in his application portfolio. Using Mendix, he and his department were able to do so.

Business benefits of application portfolio management

Building and managing the right portfolio of applications can help companies:

Innovate

Businesses can tap into emerging technology like augmented reality (AR)/virtual reality (VR), artificial intelligence (AI), internet of things (IoT) to build innovative apps for its customers.

Enhance customer engagement

Organizations can invest in apps that create new products or services to attract new customers or enhance an existing product to prevent churn. For instance, self-service portals, specific mobile services.

Mitigate risks

Using technology like low-code, companies can build apps that are compliant and easy for IT to govern; protecting the business from shadow IT and building technical debts.

Create new products & business models

Companies can build apps that enable strategic programs to reach business objectives like launching new business models, entering new markets, and staying ahead of the competition.

Prioritize projects and resource allocation

Application portfolio management helps organizations to identify and prioritize resource allocation to those apps that deliver business value while eliminating the ones that are redundant.

Increase operational efficiencies

Companies can decrease operational and IT costs through apps that support process automation and infrastructure improvements.

How to start with low-code application portfolio management

General Fit Decision

This step is to decide which business initiatives fit the low-code technology swim lane, and then build a broad portfolio of applications that from a business perspective has a low time to market and, from technical perspective has apps that are data-driven, user-friendly, and multidevice.

Largely apps fall in these three use cases - first, the innovation apps based on new technology like AI, IoT, blockchain, etc., second, the apps of differentiation like self-service portals or specific mobile services that are focused on customer engagement or operational efficiency, and third, the systems of record apps like billing systems, CRM and payroll.

Companies can map the above three use cases on two parameters: pre-defined requirements for building an app and rate of change - the likelihood of how fast and often the requirements of an app will change. Based on the nature of the use cases, innovation apps will have the least pre-defined requirement but the highest rate of change, while the systems of record app will have the most detailed pre-defined requirement but the least rate of change.

Since Mendix low-code platform follows an agile methodology, apps with a lower level of predefined requirements and a high expected rate of change – innovation apps and apps of differentiation - will be a perfect match for building the application portfolio.

Additionally, for successful apps of innovation or differentiation, it’s likely the app will need to source data from the existing systems of record. With Mendix technology this is really simple, and it will accelerate the app development drastically.

Define top candidates to start with

The purpose of this step is to identify the top five-to-ten apps from the broader application portfolio built in step 1 and to ensure the delivery of these applications will fulfill the value promised to the organization. The process of selecting your top candidates consists of asking (per app) five simple validation questions.

  1. Will the app deliver a wow response from its end-users?
  2. Does the app have clear business value?
  3. Can the first release be a minimal viable product (MVP) with enough features to satisfy the end-users?
  4. Does the app have high exposure among its end-users and low/medium complexity to build?
  5. Is the app a t-shirt size Small or Medium in terms of a few predefined categories like teams involved, integration requirement, MVP functionality expected, etc.?

If the answer is “yes” for all of them, that app is a top candidate. Ask the five questions until the portfolio is narrowed down to the top candidates.

Prioritize

The final step is to further narrow down the choices from the application portfolio built in step 2 and choose the best possible app to begin the app development journey. This step also arranges the remaining applications in the portfolio (from step 2) in the right order, creating a portfolio roadmap for the future.

Map the top candidates against the same five validation questions from step 2, but this time weigh and mark each app with a value for all the five questions. The mapping below shows the absolute winner considering “wow” factor, business value, complexity, and exposure level, as well as defines the roadmap for the remaining apps.

Copy link