地方政府使用低代码来应对削减预算,并建立与社区的联系

Skip navigation

质量保障

地方政府在改进服务的同时,使用低代码来应对预算削减

渠道转移

在短短三年内,线上交易从 2% 增长到 50%

按计划完成目标

有信心到 2020 年线上交易量达到 75%


Key findings

  • 英国诺斯利都市自治市拥有 14.8 万居民,由于财政紧缩,中央政府对该市的拨款削减了超过 1 亿英镑,迫使市议会重新审视其服务内容以及服务提供方式
  • 该市希望实现渠道转移:将客户交互渠道从昂贵的当面拜访和电话模式转变为数字交互模式,以节省成本。不过,该市发现,如果 IT 人员减少 30%,传统的开发将耗费过多资源
  • 诺斯利市议会借助低代码以及来自客户服务团队的强大产品,成功实现 3 年渠道转移目标,不再过度依赖成本为 9 英镑/次的当面拜访和成本为 4 英镑/次的电话沟通,而更多地采用线上互动,成本仅 17 便士/次

亲眼见证诺斯利市议会如何借助 Mendix 平台取得丰硕成果。

自 2010 年英国中央政府实施紧缩政策以来,中央政府对诺斯利地方政府提供的资金大幅削减,这在一定程度上影响了地方政府提供服务,尤其是非法定服务。

就中央政府的资金削减幅度而言,诺斯利地方政府是英国受影响最严重的地方政府之一,这迫使市议会考虑停止或减少服务,以及改变服务提供方式。IT 服务部门与客户服务部门合作,使用低代码技术和社区参与,以确保提供居民所重视和需要的服务。

每笔事务成本 17 便士

面对面互动的成本每次需要 9 英镑。电话沟通每次需要 4 英镑。与每笔线上事务花费 17 便士相比,渠道转移的价值显而易见。

思维转变

诺斯利市议会为 14.8 万居民和 3900 家企业提供 160 多项服务。服务范围从维护公园和高速公路,到提供公共卫生和福利项目,再到成人和儿童的社会关怀服务,不一而足。

财政紧缩迫使诺斯利市议会审查每一项服务,以应对大幅资金削减(自 2010 年以来,预算削减达 1 亿英镑)。诺斯利市议会客户服务主管菲尔·艾斯宾纳 (Phil Aspinall) 表示,这对他和所在团队的服务内容和服务提供方式产生了重大影响。

市议会制定了一项计划,将地方政府和居民凝聚在一起。“我们在市内开发了一个名为‘诺斯利携手共赢’的项目。这是为了确保市议会、我们的合作伙伴、企业和居民共同努力,相互支持。通过集中资源、技能和专业知识,我们可以实现更多目标。”艾斯宾纳说。“这是为了帮助居民更加自给自足,使我们能够将资源和资金集中在弱势居民和居民需要的关键服务上。”

提供这些服务是艾斯宾纳的重点领域。在最高峰时,艾斯宾纳团队每月大约要处理 4500-5000 次面对面服务请求。电话咨询甚至更多,每月达 1.8 万次,此类请求占所有事务的 98%,其余 2% 是线上请求。

Andy
Andy Garden

不同服务提供方式的成本对艾斯宾纳而言是惊人的:面对面互动的成本为每次 9 英镑;电话咨询每次 4 英镑;在线服务每次 17 便士。

艾斯宾纳认为节省基本居民服务成本的一种方式就是他所称的“渠道转移”,一种更高效、更有效提供服务的举措。为了确保持续提供有价值的服务,艾斯宾纳制定了三年内节省 30 万英镑的目标,这意味着到 2020 年,75% 的事务需要在线完成。

他向诺斯利市议会 IT 服务团队寻求帮助,以改善在线服务体验,实现这一崇高目标。

乐观进取的态度

从理论上讲,渠道转移固然很好,但是对于诺斯利市议会 IT 主管安迪·加登、IT 生产经理约翰·费尔克劳和 IT 开发经理马克·佩里而言,在执行上具有挑战性。任何现成的商用软件都可能产生高昂的许可和定制成本,因此决定进行内部开发。

“作为 IT 服务,我们带来的是一种乐观进取的态度。我们希望找到解决方案,并打破界限。”加登说。

过去,当 IT 启动一个开发项目时,道路是坎坷的。诺斯利市议会的业务部门会提出一个 IT 项目的请求,而这两个部门在需求方面会陷入“鸡与蛋”的纷争。费尔克劳表示:“最初的 2 个月开发时间可能会变成 4 个月。”

为了将服务事务转移到线上,IT 需要集成所有这些系统,并为用户提供单一平台。

除了需求不明确之外,IT 服务部门还削减了日常运营员工,并启动了一项计划,该计划使用基于资本支出的固定期限毕业实习项目来进行开发,这导致了旧代码缺乏负责人。除此之外,现有的 120 个 IT 系统正在使用并需要持续支持,这进一步阻碍了新系统开发。为了将大部分服务事务转移到线上,IT 需要集成众多系统,并为用户提供单一平台。使用传统的开发方法和工具会大大增加开发团队的成本,花费高昂,并且开发时间久,进一步增加成本。

加登需要一些东西来确保诺斯利市议会更好地为居民服务。“我们必须做出决定,要么增加开发和支持团队的资源,要么寻找其他方法。”加登说。“这就是我们转向低代码的原因。”

进度加快

2016 年,在对低代码平台提供商的领域进行了调查之后,诺斯利市议会选择了 Mendix。

“我们需要能够快速生成代码、同时达到标准水平的平台,以便简化支持流程。”加登说。

费尔克劳和佩里对他们上手低代码开发的速度印象深刻:“我们发现,从对平台完全不熟悉到可以进行开发和发布应用程序的这个转变过程非常非常快。”

加登、费尔克劳、佩里和艾斯宾纳等开发人员都接受过培训,都渴望快速投入工作,他们把目标放在了开发一个可以实现诺斯利“携手共赢”理念的应用程序上。

他们决定首先处理大批量交易,以尽早提供价值。因此,他们开始使用 Mendix,在线上处理复杂的收入和福利服务。之前的审核和扫描流程十分繁琐,导致诺斯利居民难以申请和修改福利。此类互动通常在市议会一站式服务点进行,单单坐在顾问对面扫描文件这一流程就可能需要 30 分钟。

为了开发新的扫描系统,该团队将 Mendix 集成到了传统网络服务中。费尔克劳解释道:“我们已集成了自己的一些 NET API,它们直接集成在一起。整个集成过程是无缝进行的。”

IT 和客户服务团队创建了一款客户服务应用程序,即一个可为居民提供全天候服务的一站式在线服务点。佩里说:“它涵盖范围非常广泛,从非常复杂的收入和福利查询,到病虫害防治或更换垃圾箱的需求,不一而足。”为了改善流程,IT 服务团队在一站式服务点设置了安卓平板电脑,社区成员可自助服务。他们还引进了扫描站平板电脑,居民现在只需几分钟即可自行完成扫描。Digital Champions(经过培训可帮助居民过渡到新流程的市议会员工)也随时为有需要的居民提供帮助。

“这是一种改变,重新教育人们不再排队,不再等待被别人看到,而是引入了自己动手的概念,甚至还可以在家做。”费尔克拉夫说。“现在功能已经具备了,既可以在家里做,也可以在办公室做。”

团队使用的关键工具是 Mendix 的协同门户。有了它,加登、费尔克劳和佩里能够让艾斯宾纳的团队更多地参与开发流程,从而加快并改善反馈周期。作为客户服务团队的桥梁,IT 能够以可控的方式与客户紧密合作,并从客户那里获得直接反馈。

“使用协同工具意味着我们可以与业务部门保持定期联系,”费尔克劳说。

对艾斯宾纳而言,在采用 Mendix 之前,团队的开发过程既不清晰又效率低下。“进度还不够快,但自从购买了 Mendix 产品,这些年 IT 已经能够更快地开发在线解决方案了。”艾斯宾纳说。“这是上帝的恩赐,真的”。

未来可期

转型之旅开始时,曾经一个月只办理了 779 笔在线服务。2019 年 4 月,每月的线上服务平均数量达到近 1.1 万笔。在线服务占比从 2% 跃升至 50%。通过这样做,诺斯利市议会在不到三年时间内就将单次互动服务的成本降低了一半以上。

艾斯宾纳对 2020 年的目标充满信心。“如果三年前问我同样的问题,而我当时刚设定这些目标,那么考虑到将要实际面临的挑战,我会觉得自己有些天真。但过去两年内我们已经实现了既定的目标,以这个进度,我非常有信心,到 2020 年我们将实现 75% 的线上目标。”

当然,如果没有加登和他的团队的辛勤努力,这一切都不可能实现。“迁移到 Mendix 意味着开发和持续提供支持更加轻松快捷,我们可以让更多人参与开发。”加登说。“我们在用人时不必再考虑收入成本问题了。”

加登注意到,自从开始使用低代码开发以来,IT 服务部门发生了许多变化,以及“诺斯利携手共赢”理念对团队产生了深刻影响。“这对于 IT 人员来说是非常有益的,因为他们看到开发进展很快,可以很快看到自己的劳动成果。”

对于费尔克劳来说,采用低代码能够让他们专注于诺斯利居民的需求。他说,“当您走低代码路线时,您可以自信地告诉开发人员:‘听着,我需要你们了解自己的服务对象,需要你们了解项目的最终目标是什么。’这是一个很大的变化。”

诺斯利市议会现在已经实现了节省 30 万英镑的目标,且没有牺牲极具价值的必需服务。客户服务应用程序大幅提高了地方政府与居民之间的互动水平。

他们的内部收益体现在他们为诺斯利居民带来的积极影响上。诺斯利市议会现在已经实现了节省 30 万英镑的目标,并持续提供必需服务。客户服务应用程序大幅提高了地方政府与居民之间的互动水平。

在大多数政府决策中,比如实行财政紧缩,其目标受众的利益往往被忽视。而诺斯利市议会秉承“携手共赢”的理念,不再忽视自己所服务的社区。

对于加登而言,这一理念对项目的成功至关重要:“我一直在想,我们希望公众能够从使用数字化技能中受益。不仅用于与市议会打交道,还要用于他们日常所做的每一件事。”他补充道。

议员兼诺斯利市议会资源内阁成员杰恩·阿斯顿 (Jayne Aston) 表示:“去年,我一直在支持我们的渠道转移议程,我很高兴它不仅给市议会带来了好处,也给我们的居民带来了可观的好处。我们收到反馈称,居民在处理线上事务时十分从容,这也使他们受益颇多,因为他们可以申请工作,并与家人和朋友保持联系。这只是诺斯利携手共赢的例证之一 – 每个人都在发挥自己的作用,以实现共同的目标。我期待在未来几个月和几年内推出更多的线上服务,确保居民可以在方便的日期、时间和地点使用我们的服务。”

Local government uses low-code to battle budget cuts and build bridge to community

Skip navigation

Quality Engagement

Local Government Uses Low-code to Respond to Budget Cuts While Improving Service

Channel Shift

Growth in online transactions from 2% to 50% in just three years

On Track to Deliver Target

Confident in hitting 75% of transactions online by 2020

Related Assets

Key findings

  • Knowsley Council, a UK borough of 148,000 residents, was faced with over £100 million in central government cuts due to austerity, forcing the council to review the services it provides and how they are delivered
  • The borough looked to Channel Shift; changing customer interaction channels from costly in-person and by-phone paradigms toward digital interactions to save costs, but found that with a 30% cut in IT staff, traditional development would be too resource-intensive
  • By adopting low-code, and with strong product ownership from the Customer Services team, Knowsley Council was able to hit their 3-year channel shift target, reducing reliance on £9 in-person visits and £4 phone calls, in favor of £0.17 online interactions

See for yourself how outcomes like Knowsley Council's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Since the British central government instituted austerity in 2010, the local government of Knowsley has seen a significant reduction in central government funding with an associated impact on service delivery, especially within non-statutory services.

Knowsley has one of the hardest-hit local authorities in the U.K. in terms of central government funding cuts, compelling the Council to consider stopping or reducing services, as well as the way it delivers those services. The IT Service teamed up with Customer Services and used low-code technology and community engagement as ways to ensure that services residents valued and needed were made available.

.17 pence per transaction

Face-to-face interactions cost Knowsley Council £9 each. Phone transactions, £4. When compared with £0.17 per online transaction, the value of channel shift was clear.

A shift in thinking

Knowsley Council offers more than 160 services to its 148,000 residents and 3,900 businesses. The services range from looking after parks and highways, to offering public health and wellbeing programs, as well as adult and children’s social care services.

Austerity forced Knowsley Council to review every service in order to manage the significant funding cuts (£100 million cut from their budget since 2010), which have had, according to Phil Aspinall, Head of Customer Services for Knowsley Council, a significant impact on the services he and his team deliver and how they’re able to deliver them.

The Council devised a plan to bring together the local authority and residents. “We’ve developed a program within the borough called Knowsley Better Together. It’s about making sure the Council, our partners, businesses and the residents themselves work together to support each other. By pooling resources, skills, and expertise, more can be achieved,” says Aspinall. “It’s about helping residents to be more self-sufficient, and it enables us to focus our resources and money on vulnerable residents and the key services our residents need.”

The delivery of those services was an area of focus for Aspinall. At their peak, Aspinall’s team was handling roughly 4,500-5,000 face-to-face service requests per month. Phone enquiries were even higher, coming in at a rate of 18,000 per month. These types of requests accounted for 98 percent of transactions. The remaining two percent were online.

Andy Garden
Andy Garden

The costs of the service delivery methods were staggering to Aspinall: face-to-face which cost £9 per interaction; phone, £4 per; or online, which cost £0.17.

Aspinall decided that a way of saving essential resident services was what he dubbed channel shift, a move toward delivering services in more efficient and effective ways. With the aim of ensuring valued services could be maintained, Aspinall set a goal of saving £300,000 over three years, meaning that by 2020, 75 percent of transactions needed to be online.

He turned to Knowsley Council’s IT Service to help improve the online experience and meet this ambitious goal.

Can-do attitude

Channel shift, while great in theory, proved to be challenging in execution for Andy Garden, Head of IT for Knowsley Council, John Fairclough, IT Production Manager, and Mark Perry, IT Exploitation Manager. Any commercial off-the-shelf software would incur substantial licensing and customization costs, so the decision was made to keep development in-house.

“The thing that we bring, as an IT Service, is a very can-do attitude. We want to find solutions and we push the boundaries,” says Garden.

In the past, when IT commenced a development project, the road had been bumpy. Internally, the business side of Knowsley Council would put in a request for an IT project, and the two departments would get in a chicken-or-egg situation regarding requirements. Fairclough recounts: “What started out as two months of development might turn into four.”

To move services and transactions online, IT would need to integrate all of these systems and provide a single platform for users.

On top of unclear requirements, the IT Service had reduced its Op-Ex staffing and started a program of using Cap-Ex funded fixed term graduation placements for developments, which led to legacy code that lacked ownership. On top of that, there were 120 IT systems in use which continued to require support which further hampered the development of new systems. To move most of the transactional services online, IT would need to integrate many of these systems and provide a single platform for users. This approach would prove costly using traditional development methodologies and tools with significant increases in the development team, and would carry an overhead in terms of development timeframes.

Garden needed something that could keep Knowsley Council serving its residents. “We had to make a decision of whether we upped resources in terms of more development and support teams, or do we look at alternative methods,” says Garden. “That’s why we turned to low-code.”

An accelerated rate of progress

In 2016, after surveying the field of low-code platform providers, Knowsley Council chose Mendix.

“We wanted something that would enable us to generate code very quickly, but also to standard levels so that we could ease the support process moving forward,” says Garden.

Fairclough and Perry were impressed with the speed at which they picked up on low-code development: “We found that the speed of transition, from being completely new to the platform, to being to the point where you could develop and publish an application, was really, really quick.”

With developers trained and eager to get started, Garden, Fairclough, Perry, and Aspinall set their sights on creating an application that would realize the mission of Knowsley Better Together.

The decision was made to tackle high volume transactions first to provide early value. Therefore, work started to bring complex revenue and benefits services online using Mendix. The previous review and scanning process made it cumbersome for Knowsley residents to apply for and amend their benefits. At the Council’s one-stop shops where this interaction would typically occur, the process could take up to 30 minutes to sit face-to-face with an advisor to scan the document.

To develop a new scanning system, the team integrated Mendix to legacy web services. Fairclough explains: “We’ve integrated into a number of our own .NET APIs, and they integrated straight away. In terms of the process of integration, it’s been seamless.”

Phil Aspinall
Phil Aspinall

The IT and Customer Service teams produced a customer services application, an online one-stop shop for a range of services that residents can consume 24/7. “It covers a really broad spectrum,” says Perry. “It can be from really complicated revenues and benefits queries, down to somebody simply requesting a pest control visit or a replacement bin.” To improve the process, the IT Service set up Android tablets in the one-stop shops where community members can self-serve. They introduced scan station tablets where residents can now do the scanning themselves, within minutes. Digital Champions, council employees trained to assist residents’ transition to the new process, are also on-hand for those requiring assistance.

“It’s a change in terms of re-educating people to no longer have to queue up and wait to be seen by another person, but introducing the concept of doing it yourself, and they can also do that from home as well,” says Fairclough. “The functionality is there now, to do it at home, as well as in the office.”

A key tool the team used was the Mendix Collaboration Portal. With it, Garden, Fairclough, and Perry were able to get Aspinall’s team more involved in the development process, speeding up and improving upon the feedback cycle. Acting as a bridge to the Customer Services team, IT was able to work closely with, and get direct feedback from, their customer in a controlled manner.

“Using the collaboration tool means that we’ve got regular contact with the business,” says Fairclough.

To Aspinall, the development process prior to adopting Mendix was unclear and inefficient. “The rate of progress wasn’t quick enough, but over the last couple of years — since we’ve purchased the Mendix product — IT has been enabled to develop the online solutions much, much quicker,” says Aspinall. “That has been a godsend, really.”

A reason to hope

When the journey began, at its lowest point, there were just 779 service transactions online in one month. In April 2019, the number of online transactions reached nearly an average of 11,000 per month. The portion of transactions completed online had jumped from 2 percent to 50 percent. In doing so, Knowsley Council had reduced the cost per interaction by more than half in less than three years.

Aspinall speaks with great assurance about his 2020 goals. “If you’d have asked me the same question three years ago, and I set those targets, I think I was probably a little naïve in terms of how challenging they were actually going to be. But having achieved what we have done over the last two years, with the speed of progress, of development, I’m quite confident that by 2020, we will have hit our 75% online target.”

Of course, all of this wouldn’t have been possible were it not for Garden and his team delivering the new services. “Moving over to Mendix meant that developing and ongoing support was easier, we could have more people developing,” says Garden. “We didn’t have to take on more people with a revenue cost.”

Garden has noticed numerous changes in the IT Service since they started using low-code development and the impact Knowsley Better Together has had on his team. “It’s very rewarding for the staff in IT because they see developments coming out very quickly, and they can actually see the fruits of their labor quickly.”

For Fairclough, the use of low-code allowed them to stay focused on the needs of Knowsley’s residents. “When you go down the low-code route,” he says, “it encourages you to tell your developers to say, ‘Look, I need you to understand the person you’re doing it for, and I need you to understand what the final goal is.’ That’s a big change.”

Knowsley Council has reached its goal of saving £300,000 without sacrificing essential and valued services. The customer services app has improved the level of engagement the local authority has had with the residents it serves.

The realized internal benefits are reflected in the positive impact on the residents of Knowsley. Knowsley Council has reached its goal of saving £300,000 while protecting essential services. The customer services application has improved the level of engagement the local authority has had with the residents it serves.

In most political decision-making, such as instituting austerity, the very people that these policies are meant to serve are often overlooked. With Knowsley Better Together, the Council refuses to ignore its community.

For Garden, this notion was crucial to the program’s success: “I do keep going back to the fact that we want to enable the public to benefit from using digital skills. Not just in dealing with the council,” he says, “but in everything they do.”.

Cllr. Jayne Aston, Knowsley Council’s Cabinet member for Resources, said “I’ve been championing our channel shift agenda for the last year and I’m delighted with the benefits it has brought, not only to the council, but importantly to our residents. We’ve received feedback about how confident residents are online, which has also benefitted them personally by being able to apply for jobs and keep in touch with family and friends. This is just one example of Knowsley Better Together in action – everyone playing their part to deliver a shared goal. I look forward to seeing further services being available online over the coming months and years, ensuring our residents can access our services at a date, time, and location convenient to them.”

See for yourself how outcomes like Knowsley Council's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Copy link