苏伊士集团采用低代码电子商务平台打造无废弃物的世界

Skip navigation

无废弃物

苏伊士集团借助低代码开发,实现了电子业务的 6 位数增长

拓展了新业务

定价工具推出后仅 3 个月即实现净营收 50 万英镑

获客成本

转为数字化交互后,仅为原来的五分之一


Key findings

  • 苏伊士集团 (SUEZ) 是全球首屈一指的水电和废弃物管理公司,长年致力于为英国客户提供现代化数字体验,以及协助消除业务中的无用流程
  • 苏伊士的一项关键举措是开展电子商务,将客户交互转移到数字渠道,既留住了重要的企业客户,还获得了以前需要上门销售才能获得的中小客户
  • 最终,苏伊士只用了短短 3 个月时间推出了全集成的废弃物管理服务报价电子商务门户,推出头 3 个月就拓展了价值 50 万英镑的新业务,而成本仅为原来的五分之一

亲自见证苏伊士集团如何借助 Mendix 平台取得了丰硕成果。

一提起废弃物管理,您的脑海里可能立刻会浮现出气味难闻、推土机来回碾压的垃圾填埋场。作为一家循环回收和资源管理公司,苏伊士集团采用更为绿色环保的垃圾处理方式。他们的企业使命是打造无废弃物的世界,并通过减少客户对环境的影响来实现这一目标。

苏伊士的官网上清楚地说明了这一点:“资源革命就是循环利用:将海水转化为饮用水,将污泥转化为可再生能源,将废弃物转化为能源或二次原料已成为必然。通过创建新的高质量资源,我们可以避免浪费稀缺的自然资源。”

苏伊士集团首席信息官马特·罗杰斯 (Matt Rogers) 说:“我们不希望[废弃物]进入垃圾填埋场,而是希望对其进行处理…与没有任何利用价值的材料区分开。”例如,苏伊士每年在全球生产 6.2 太瓦时的可再生能源。

与外部目标一致,苏伊士在企业内部也保持着同样的标准。罗杰斯说:“我们努力在自己的系统和流程中杜绝废弃物,从而为客户创造更多价值。”

低代码,低废弃物

苏伊士集团还打破了人们关于废弃物管理已进入黑暗时代的观念。苏伊士集团数字业务主管亚瑟·古戎 (Arthur Goujon) 表示:“这不仅仅在于清运垃圾箱,还在于我们与客户一起通过创新方法来减少废弃物生产流并对材料加以充分利用。这包括处理有关材料和废弃物管理的数据,还包括寻找各种办法节省燃油效率、提高行车效率、优化收集计划。这就是我们实施数字化转型的原因。”

苏伊士发现,推动自己创新的关键因素是低代码开发的高效率和灵活性。古戎说表示,低代码“推动我们朝着正确方向迈出了一大步。我们不是一家 IT 公司。我们拥有所有的技能;我们有很多工程师,但他们都是化学家,而非 IT 人士。”

当苏伊士寻找低代码环境时,他们发现能够在该领域中满足他们需求的供应商寥寥无几。对于罗杰斯来说,Mendix 脱颖而出的原因有很多,包括功能强大的云服务、参与模式、庞大的开发人员社区,以及一次性构建、多平台部署的能力。罗杰斯还赞赏 Mendix 不仅认真评估了苏伊士项目,还诚恳提出了改进建议:“有些结论和建议听起来感觉很痛苦,但它们最终改变了我们的企业文化,开启了我们的数字化之旅。”

古戎在加入苏伊士之前从未编写过任何代码,但他不仅完全接受了低代码,而且通过 Mendix 获得了高级认证。古戎的职位是两年前设立的,他的团队相当于是业务与 IT 之间的纽带。“我们根据需求开展工作,确定优先事项,并找到通过数字化应用程序帮助企业实现转型的方法。”

“我们认为低代码就像是粘合瓷砖用的砂浆。”罗杰斯说。“在我们的架构中存在缺口或者应用程序产品组合中存在缺口的地方,低代码使我们能够非常快速地构建它们并将其推向市场。”

生成新资源

我们采用低代码创建的最新项目是苏伊士的电子商务平台。古戎表示,在开发该平台之前,废弃物管理的客户获取成本非常高。“我们以前通常是派人挨家挨户上门推销。”

“电子商务本身是一种相当简单的产品。”古戎说。“但它的背后却非常复杂。”他指出,现成的 CPQ(配置、价格、报价)产品并不支持基于地图的定价,这就是苏伊士要在内部开发定价工具的原因。“我们是一家物流企业,价格和成本可能随地区变化而不同。”

定价工具极大简化了客户注册服务的过程。现在,他们只需输入邮政编码,选择废弃物收集频率、容器大小、废弃物构成(一般垃圾、混合回收、玻璃回收、厨余垃圾)等,即可立即获得购买报价。古戎指出,客户门户网站不仅帮助企业留住了现有客户,而且由于易于使用,还赢得了更多新客户。

这款定价产品极短的开发周期成为关键因素。低代码开发极大缩短了开发周期。“我们只用了三个月就交付了一个功能齐全、高度集成的客户门户。”罗杰斯说。“这是一个绝佳的快速交付例子。”

这款定价产品极短的开发周期成为关键因素。低代码开发极大缩短了开发周期。

此外,在门户上线后的头几个月,苏伊士就获得了 50 万英镑新收入,这一数字有望在 2019 年再翻一番。古戎说,“这是纯增长。“我们还衡量了获客成本。虽然无法给出获客成本的确切数字,但我可以说只是以前的五分之一。所以这是一个根本性的转变。”

罗杰斯补充说,电子商务门户网站的价值还在于,他们可以更快速地与客户互动,为客户提供始终如一的使用体验。“与传统方法相比,这也是我们最受欢迎的销售渠道之一。”

苏伊士集团还开发了一个分包商门户网站,进一步加强供应链的管理。古戎称,苏伊士集团现有 200 多个不同的供应商,每年的花费超过 1000 万英镑,而其中一些只是很小的交易。“我们有很多管理工作要做,有很多价格需要收集,有很多交易信息需要交流。”古戎说。通过该门户网站,苏伊士现可与分包商开展电子交易,还可以进行小型的线上拍卖,实现更高效的采购流程。

打造零废弃未来

对于苏伊士集团而言,低代码开发的优势已在最初几个项目中得到了证明,现在他们又有了更长期的愿景。古戎说:“甚至不是节省了多少时间的问题,如果没有这项技术,好多事情可能根本不会发生。”

罗杰斯说,他之所以倾向于低代码,是因为他需要一个“无限的工具箱”。“有时候,我觉得自己就是一名‘首席即兴创作官’,因为董事会希望拥有一套能够迅速将其想法市场化的工具,这其实也是非常合理的。”

罗杰斯指出,苏伊士的架构非常传统(基于传统数据交换的 ERP 系统)。低代码技术则让他们能够确保其系统识别并使用统一的数据标准,并在不同平台上采用一致的客户定义。此外,苏伊士“现在还可以只需一次性构建即可达到多次重复使用的效果…其实,我们已经看到波兰同行正在共享某些在英国创建的资产”。

对于古戎来说,传统的开发项目让他觉得自己是在黑暗中画画,只是在项目的最后一天,他才能看到自己的作品。“我总算是第一次看到了它,但要想进行更改就为时已晚了。”

古戎说,有了低代码,他们消除了各种障碍,激发了团队之间的创造力。他说:“我们以前都是孤立工作,IT 人员不了解业务,业务人员不了解 IT。那当然是行不通的。我们需要的是两者都懂的人。”

罗杰斯说他自己看到了更大的变化:“开发民主化的想法正是低代码带给市场的新思想。”罗杰斯说,无论是 CIO、业务工程师、业务分析师还是集成经理,任何有能力、有激情的人都应该能够加入进来,采用低代码进行构建。“用他们的任何创意,无论是行业外、行业内或业务领域内的奇思妙想进行创造。完成创造后再问一句,‘未来该如何发展?’”

了解如何使用低代码更快交付更多的业务价值。

Mendix at work

Name of application /

电子商务门户

Business Value /

以 20% 的获客成本增加 50 万英镑收入

development_time /

3 个月

Functionality /

通过苏伊士电子商务门户,英国的废弃物回收客户只需填写邮政编码,即可选择最适合他们需求的数字化服务

Nothing Wasteful about SUEZ’ Low-code E-commerce Platform

Skip Navigation

Nothing Wasteful

SUEZ Drives 6-figure Increase in Business with e-Commerce on Low-code

New Business Generated

  • £500k in net new revenue in 3 months after pricing tool launch

Customer Acquisition Costs

  • Divided by five when shifted to digital interactions

Related Assets

Key Findings

  • SUEZ, among the world’s largest water, electricity, and waste management companies, sought to offer its UK customers modern digital experiences and give its business the means to eliminate wasteful processes
  • A key initiative for SUEZ was to enable e-commerce, transitioning its customer interactions to digital channels that supported both the retention of key enterprise accounts and the acquisition of smaller accounts, previously acquired through door-to-door sales
  • Ultimately, SUEZ were able to deliver a fully integrated e-commerce portal for waste management services quotes in just three months, delivering £500k in new business in its first three months at 1/5th of the customer acquisition cost

See for yourself how outcomes like Suez's are possible with the Mendix platform.

When you think about waste management, visions of odiferous trash piles pushed and flattened by bulldozers may come to mind. SUEZ, a recycling and resource management company, takes a much greener, more earth-friendly approach. Their mission is to create a world without waste, and they’re doing so by reducing their customers’ impact on the environment.

SUEZ’ corporate website spells it out clearly: “The resource revolution is circular: it has become a necessity to transform water into drinking water, sludge into renewable energy, and waste into energy or secondary raw materials. By creating new, high-quality resources we avoid drawing on scarce natural resources.”

“We don’t want [waste] to be going into the ground as landfill, we want it to be processed… from material which no longer has a useful purpose in society,” says SUEZ CIO Matt Rogers. For example, he says, SUEZ globally produces 6.2 terawatt hours of renewable energy per year.

Consistent with their external goals, SUEZ holds themselves to the same standards internally. “We try to eliminate waste in our own systems and processes, which, in turn, creates value for our customers,” Rogers says.

“We try to eliminate waste in our own systems and processes, which, in turn, creates value for our customers.”
Matt Rogers / CIO, Suez

Low-code, low waste

SUEZ is also breaking down perceptions that waste management is stuck in the dark ages. “It’s not just about picking up the bins – it’s also about finding creative ways with our customers to reduce the waste streams and make good use of the material,” says Arthur Goujon, Head of Digital at SUEZ. “That involves manipulating data about materials and waste management, and it also involves finding ways to be more fuel efficient, drive more efficiently, optimize our collection schedules. And this is where digital transformation comes in.”

SUEZ finds that key contributors to their efforts to innovate are the efficiency and flexibility of low-code development. Low-code “is a big step in the right direction for us,” says Goujon. “We’re not an IT company. We have all the skills; we have a lot of engineers here, but they’re more chemists than IT.”

When SUEZ looked for a low-code environment, they found very few vendors in the space who could meet their needs. For Rogers, Mendix stood out from the crowd for a variety of reasons, including their strong cloud offering, engagement model, large community of developers, and the ability to build a solution once and deploy to many platforms. Rogers also appreciated that Mendix reviewed SUEZ’ projects and was able to advise them on how they might improve: “Some of that learning was quite painful to hear, but ultimately it is changing the culture of our business, and it is enabling our digital journey.”

Matt Rogers Matt Rogers

Goujon, who had never written a line of code prior to SUEZ, has not only fully embraced low-code, but holds an advanced certification through Mendix. Goujon is in a new role created two years ago with a team that acts as a link between the business and IT. “We work on the requirements, we identify our priorities, and we find ways to transform our business with digital applications.”

“One of the ways that we regard low-code is [that it’s] almost the grout between tiles,” Rogers says. “Where we have gaps in our architecture, or gaps in our application portfolio, low-code enables us to build them very quickly and bring them to market.”

“Where we have gaps in our architecture, or gaps in our application portfolio, low-code enables us to build them very quickly and bring them to market.”
Matt Rogers / CIO, SUEZ

Generating new resources

The most recent initiative created with low-code is SUEZ’ e-commerce platform. Prior to that platform, according to Goujon, cost of waste management customer acquisition was too high. “We used to literally send people door to door to sell.”

“E-commerce itself is a fairly simple product,” Goujon says. “What’s behind it is what’s complex.” He indicates that off-the-shelf, CPQ (configure, price, quote) products aren’t designed to support map-based pricing, which is why SUEZ developed the pricing tool internally. “We are a logistics business, and the price and the cost can change for us, postcode by postcode.”

The pricing tool dramatically simplifies the process for customers to sign on for services. Now, they can enter a postcode, choose the frequency of waste pick up, size of container, materials (general waste, mixed recycling, glass recycling, food waste), and instantly get a quote for purchase. Goujon indicates that the customer portal has not only helped them entice existing customers to stay, but they’ve also acquired new customers because of the ease of use.

The short turnaround to create the pricing product was key. Low-code development allowed for that speedy turnaround. “We delivered a fully functional, highly integrated customer portal within three months,” Rogers says. “It was a fantastic example of quick delivery.”

Also, in the first few months of the launch, SUEZ brought in a half million pounds of new revenue and are looking to double that figure in 2019. “That’s pure growth,” Goujon says. “We’ve also measured our cost of acquisition. Without giving the exact figure of how much it costs us to acquire a customer, I can say we’ve divided by five. So that’s a radical transformation of the process.”

The short turnaround to create the pricing product was key. Low-code development allowed for that speedy turnaround.

Part of the value of the e-commerce portal, Rogers adds, is that they get quicker engagement with their customers and a more consistent experience for them. “It’s also been one of our most popular sales channels…by comparison to more traditional methods.”

SUEZ has also developed a subcontractor portal to manage their supply chain more productively. According to Goujon, SUEZ works with 200 different suppliers, and they spend more than 10 million pounds per year – some of which are very small transactions. “It’s a lot of admin work, it’s a lot of prices to collect, it’s a lot of transactions to exchange,” Goujon says. With the portal, SUEZ can now transact electronically with their subcontractors and can create small online auctions, allowing for a far more efficient procurement process.

“It’s not even the time saved – there are things that would not have been born if we didn’t have the technology.”
Arthur Goujon / Head of Digital, SUEZ

Making a zero-waste future

For SUEZ, low-code development has proven itself out in their first few projects, and they now have a long-term vision of the possibilities. “It’s not even the time saved – there are things that would not have been born if we didn’t have the technology,” Goujon says.

Rogers said he gravitates toward low-code because he needs an “infinite toolbox.” “Sometimes I consider myself a chief improvisation officer because our board [of directors] are quite rightly demanding that they have a kit to move their ideas to market very quickly.”

Rogers indicates that the architecture at SUEZ was very traditional (based on ERP systems with traditional data interchanges.) Low-code has allowed them to ensure that their systems are recognizing and using the same data standards and defining their customers across their platforms consistently. Also, SUEZ “can build an interface once and re-utilize it many times for different purposes…We’ve actually seen some of the assets created in the UK being shared with our counterparts in Poland, for example,” he says.

For Goujon, participating in traditional development projects made him feel that he was asked to draw something in the dark, and then on the last day of the project, he was shown his creation. “I could finally see it for the first time, and it was too late to make changes.”

Now with low-code, Goujon says they have knocked down the roadblocks and fostered creativity between teams. “We’ve worked before in silos where we’d have the IT person that doesn’t know about our business, and the business person that wouldn’t know about IT,” he says. “That doesn’t work. We want people that understand both.”

For Rogers, he said he sees something bigger happening: “The idea of democratizing development is exactly what low-code brings to the market.” Rogers says it doesn’t matter whether it’s the CIO, business engineer, business analyst or an integration manager – anyone with the ability and enthusiasm should be able to join in and build with low-code. “Create something with an idea that they may have found outside of our industry, within it, or within the business. Make something, and ask the question, ‘Where do we go from here?’”

Arthur Goujon Arthur Goujon

See for yourself how outcomes like Suez's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Mendix at Work

Name of Application /

eCommerce Portal

Development Time /

3 months

Business Value /

500,000 in new revenue at 20% customer acquisition cost

Functionality /

Asking for only a post code, the Suez eCommerce Portal enables UK waste and recycling customers to choose the services best for their needs digitally

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap