加拿大商业发展银行将创业精神注入贷款流程

Skip navigation

银行业务敏捷化

加拿大商业发展银行将创业精神注入贷款流程

开发时间

C# 语言开发花了 30 个月,低代码开发只花了 8 个月

贷款处理时间

现在只需 20 ~ 30 分钟


Key findings

  • BDC 的成立宗旨就是让加拿大成为全世界最适合创业的地方,它通过实现核心业务流程现代化,为企业家提供更好的支持
  • 尽管核心借贷系统有超过 100 个集成点和一个高度关键任务用例,但我们携手业务部门只用了短短 8 个月就完成了开发工作
  • 通过成功采用全新的敏捷开发方式,我们团队不断增强其核心借贷流程,同时构建更多工具,帮助加拿大企业家打造更高效、更成功的企业

亲自见证 BDC 银行如何借助 Mendix 平台取得了丰硕成果。

加拿大一家以支持创业为己任的银行化逆境为机遇,忠实践行了自己的客户承诺,不仅改革了应用程序开发流程,还完善了自己的客户服务方式。

BDC 在一份报告中叙述了他们如何成功开发了一款关键应用程序,清除了困扰银行多年、造成开支增加但在数字化方面却鲜有成就的绊脚石。

但其实这个故事中更为精彩的部分应该是,他们如何坚定采取一种不同以往的方法(结合新式工具包)成功打造了全新的企业文化,改进并扩展了自己的产品和服务,还帮助客户和自身实现了共赢。他们重新定义了新应用程序(特别是依托 Mendix 平台构建的应用程序)的开发方式,重新确定了自身定位以及团队协同方法,大力营造鼓励团队合作与协同的环境,成功将 IT 融入其业务主流中。

最终的结果是极大地激发了员工的工作热情,更加积极地践行企业使命和服务广大客户。

这家银行的独特使命

BDC 是加拿大唯一一家专注于企业家和创业者服务的银行,它通过在线和面对面方式为用户提供金融及咨询服务,帮助加拿大企业成长和成功。由于客户的专业程度非常高,银行在提供服务时也需要同样专业。

已在 BDC 工作了 16 年的业务分析师苏佳塔·文卡塔拉曼 (Sujatha Venkataraman) 强调了 BDC 对加拿大企业的支持承诺,“与其他商业企业不同,BDC 需要履行政府的委托。BDC 始终全心全意为广大企业家提供帮助。”

该银行的 Mendix 开发人员理查德·巴克 (Richard Bakker) 表示认同并举例说明了 BDC 员工的使命承诺。“您实际上是在帮助加拿大的广大民众和企业家。这当然是好事。”巴克说。“但有时可能会让人起鸡皮疙瘩。”

“我可以从我自己的经历告诉您,现在的 BDC 和五年前相比,已经发生了翻天覆地的变化。“

—苏佳塔·文卡塔拉曼 (Sujatha Venkataraman)

BDC 服务的客户超过 6 万家。该银行由加拿大议会于 1944 年创建,最初名称为工业发展银行,下设 123 个业务中心,同时开展在线业务。BDC 已承诺提供 350 亿美元资金扶持中小企业。

鉴于旗下管理的客户数量庞大和资产数量众多,如果说该银行业务发展迅速,还需要足够敏捷以适应变化,可能有点轻描淡写了。文卡塔拉曼说:“我可以从我自己的经历告诉您,现在的 BDC 和五年前相比,已经发生了翻天覆地的变化。

重新审视开发战略

BDC 的转型之旅始于思想转变,他们认识到以前构建借贷应用程序的尝试并未达到企业预期的业务增长速度和结果。事实证明,传统的应用程序开发方法既繁琐又背离了银行的目标,即为借贷服务构建数字化网关,让客户轻松通过网关来申请金融支持。尽管构建应用程序的过程过于复杂,但目标仍然很简单:让客户更轻松、更快速地申请到贷款,并提高银行处理这些申请的能力。

导致问题复杂化的原因是,新的借贷应用程序需要与多个其他内部和外部应用程序实现集成。

“我们的加拿大企业需要支持帮助。”莫森说。“我们身处全球化市场,我们银行的职责之一是不仅向企业提供贷款,还要通过咨询服务帮助企业改善业务。”

BDC 采取了一种不同以往的方法,通过敏捷开发方法提高团队合作效率,建立敏捷机制快速将应用程序交付到用户手中。对于银行而言,这种新方法完全颠覆了原来的企业文化,引入了更具包容性的流程,并需要进一步加强 IT 部门和其他业务部门之间的协同。

全新的敏捷系统和增效活动受到了银行员工和客户的广泛欢迎,取代了原来受流程限制、运行缓慢和支持成本高昂的旧系统。

银行为此先后召开了多次会议并举办研讨会,制定适合新方法的基本原则。然后,大家转而去寻找正确的工具来支持改进后的开发流程。最终,BDC 选定将 Mendix 作为其开发平台。Mendix 产品完全符合他们的要求,既可以提供具有适应性和敏捷性的工作方式,又可轻松实现新应用程序与其他内外部应用程序的集成。

该银行的 Mendix 技术专家赫尔曼·赫尔登赫伊斯 (Herman Geldenhuys) 说:“在 BDC 内部,Mendix 带给我们的最大影响是统一了业务语言,从根本上解放了我们,不再需要关注技术层面的工作。“相反,我们关注语言方面,和业务部门说同样的话,使用统一的术语和统一的语言,因为我们想与他们保持合拍。”

成功的伙伴关系

随着 IT 和业务部门的加入以及 Mendix 平台的全面采用,BDC 完全摆脱了传统的 IT 外壳,通过普及新方法开始了一系列快速开发和部署的周期。

在开发项目启动四周后,银行即向全国各地的业务伙伴展示了其初步成果。在随后的八个月中,BDC 又发布了该系统的八个主要版本,从而形成了一组与新 CLS(核心借贷系统)完全集成的应用程序,在提供新功能的同时又与现有应用程序实现了完美对接。

应用程序开发和验收的速度是惊人的,这也进一步彰显了 IT 和其他部门员工借助 Mendix 平台重构流程的工作热情和奉献精神。

“我们只用了 7 ~ 8 个月时间里就完成了关键工作,次年 6 月就投入了生产。“

—卡里姆·莫森 (Karim Mohse)

“我们大约是在 2012 年 11 月开始使用 Mendix 的。”核心借贷系统现代化项目的产品负责人卡里姆·莫森 (Karim Mohsen) 说。“然后我们只用了 7 ~ 8 个月时间里就完成了关键工作,次年 6 月就投入了生产。所以进展速度非常快。”

速度被普遍认为是全新开发流程的基本要求。BDC 开发人员丹·科瓦留 (Dan Covaliu) 指出:“我们的大多数客户都是中小型企业,所以加快开发流程不仅有助于我们自己,还能帮助客户更快地实现目标。”

核心借贷集成组件系统

如今,BDC 的核心借贷集成组件系统 (CLICS) 由多个与核心借贷系统集成的应用程序所组成。其他应用程序还包括基于微软 Dynamics 的 CRM 系统、基于微软 SharePoint 的客户端文件系统、以及与诸如 FICO Blaze Advisor 等外部应用程序集成的挂钩程序。

巴克指出:“从技术角度来看,我们有很多集成点,而且直到今天还在不断增长。”有了所有这些集成,大量数据和文档必须在不同的应用程序来回传递。

以下这些数字证明了 BDC-Mendix 合作取得的巨大成功:

  • 应用程序开发时间从预计的 30 个月缩短到仅 8 个月
  • 发布 CLS 应用程序所需的开发规模只是之前开发所需的三分之一
  • 通过全面整合用于法律文档和批准的系统,将每年数万笔贷款的处理时间从 25 分钟降至 5 分钟
  • 现在贷款业务只需 20 ~ 30 分钟即可处理完毕,在某些情况下,甚至可以在咨询顾问与企业主交谈的同一天内完成放款

如果需要向任何其他开发人员说明或展示使用 Mendix 新方法的正确性,只需让其了解项目的快速推广和客户的热情响应即可达到目的。如今,基于 Mendix 低代码框架的开发工作仍在继续。最新的项目是又一款面向 BDC 创业客户的产品。这是一款可供企业家用于衡量企业生产效率(相较于竞争对手)以及改善企业经营方式的应用程序。

科瓦留表示,“Mendix 让快速开发变得非常简单。“现在,从最初的构思到最终的成果,这个实现过程非常快。”

团队协同合作是该流程的基本要素。该银行的 Mendix 开发人员艾迪·米伦 (Edy Millien) 指出:“我们是一支优秀的团队,我们每天都在讨论如何改进软件。”

回顾以前没有敏捷开发的日子,Scrum 主管爱丽丝·戈雷特 (Alice Goret) 补充道:“没有团队,开发就不一样了,因为有时我们需要其他人来挑战自己,逼迫自己做到最好。”

大胆的举动为 BDC 带来了强劲的业绩增长

BDC 银行做出重新审查其业务流程和开发工具包的决定帮助自己走上了成功之路,并更好地践行了为加拿大中小型企业提供支持的服务承诺。尽管进行这种自我检查的原始动力与应用程序交付速度有关,但当初将内部检查范围扩展到 IT 和应用程序开发之外的决定还是取得了显著成效。

戈雷特说:“我们的目标就是化繁为简,帮助人们提高工作效率和速度,所以我们在努力减轻客户负担,为其提供轻松便捷的服务。”

如今,该行员工的工作热情空前高涨,新产品开发的效率更高、范围更广、种类更全。锐意改革的决心以及新技术与新工具(例如 Mendix 平台)的采用意愿,将 BDC 带入了全新的数字化时代,助推 BDC 业务、其服务的企业客户和银行员工共同迈向更大的成功。

赫尔登赫伊斯说:“我们的愿景非常明确,“我们以此作为帮助我们确定有所为、有所不为的指导准则。因此,提供咨询服务、缩短流程寿命、简化流程、增加流程便利性以及实现流程自动化等等,都有助于我们践行客户服务承诺,实现企业的使命和愿景。”

Business Development Bank of Canada Lends Entrepreneurial Spirit to Loans Process

Skip navigation

Banking on Agility

Business Development Bank of Canada Lends Entrepreneurial Spirit to Loans Process

Development Time

30 months with C# vs. 8 months with Low-code

Loan Processing Time

Now as low as 20 to 30 minutes

Related Assets

Key findings

  • Founded to make Canada the best place in the world to start a business, BDC aimed to modernize its core to better support entrepreneurs
  • Despite over 100 integration points, and a highly mission-critical use case, the Core Lending System was developed alongside the business in just 8 months
  • With a new agile way of working successfully adopted, the team continually enhances their lending core, alongside building tools that help Canadian entrepreneurs build more productive, successful businesses

See for yourself how outcomes like BDC's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Turning adversity into opportunity, a Canadian bank with the mandate to support entrepreneurship practiced what it preached to its clients and reimagined not only how they develop applications, but how they serve their customers.

The bottom-line narrative at BDC revolves around how a key application enjoyed a very successful rollout, overcoming a stumbling block for the bank that had persisted over the course of several years, racking up expenses but with little to show on the digital front.

But perhaps the more remarkable part of this tale may be how a determined and very different approach—combined with a new toolkit—created a new companywide culture allowing the bank to improve and expand its products and services to help its clients achieve their missions as well as its own. By redefining how they develop new applications, particularly those built on the Mendix platform, the bank reinvented who they are and how they work together, bringing IT into the mainstream of its business in an environment that encouraged teamwork and collaboration.

The result was a staff more dedicated than ever to the bank’s mission and its customers.

The Bank’s Unique Mission

BDC is the only Canadian bank exclusively devoted to entrepreneurs. It provides access to financing, both online and in-person, as well as advisory services to help Canadian businesses grow and succeed. Because of its very specialized clientele, the bank needs to be equally specialized in the services it provides and how those services are delivered.

Underlining BDC’s commitment to support Canadian businesses, Sujatha Venkataraman, a Business Analyst with 16 years of experience at BDC, notes “Unlike other commercial organizations, it has a government mandate to fulfill. BDC is always putting his heart and soul in helping the entrepreneurs out.”

Richard Bakker, a Mendix developer at the bank concurs and exemplifies BDC employees’ commitment to its mission. “That you’re actually helping the people in Canada and the entrepreneurs in Canada—it’s definitely a good thing,” says Bakker. “It gives you goosebumps sometimes.”

“I could tell you from my experience, what was there at BDC five years ago and what we have now, there is a drastic change.”

—Sujatha Venkataraman, BDC

BDC serves more than 60,000 clients. The bank, created in 1944 by the Canadian Parliament and originally chartered as the Industrial Development Bank, manages 123 business centers as well as maintaining an online presence. BDC has committed $35 billion in capital to support small and medium-sized businesses.

Given the number of clients and assets under management, it’s understatement to say that the bank does business at a brisk pace and needs to be nimble enough to adapt to change. “I could tell you from my experience, what was there at BDC five years ago and what we have now, there is a drastic change,” says Venkataraman.

Rethinking Development

The transformation of BDC began with the realization that previous attempts to build a lending application did not yield expected results at a pace acceptable to the business. Traditional application development methodologies proved cumbersome and ill-suited to the bank’s goal of building a digital gateway to their lending services that clients could easily use to apply for financial assistance. While the process of building the app became overly complex, the goal remained simple: make it easier and faster for clients to request loans, and accelerate the bank’s ability to process those requests.

Further complicating matters was the need for the new loan app to integrate with several other internal and external applications.

“So, our Canadian businesses need support,” notes Mohsen. “We’re in a global market and part of the mandate of the bank is not only to lend them money but to also help them improve their business through advisory services.”

BDC embarked on a different approach, embracing an Agile methodology that would faster teamwork and a speedier system of getting applications into the hands of users. This new approach represented nothing less than a cultural change for the bank, ushering in processes that were more inclusive and required greater collaboration within IT and across the bank’s internal business units.

The new Agility and Efficiency campaign was welcomed by both staff members and bank customers as an alternative to a system that was process bound, slow and expensive to support.

Meetings and workshops followed to hammer out the basic principles of the new approach. Then, attention turned to finding the right tools to support the revamped development processes. That’s when BDC settled on Mendix as its development platform. The Mendix offering met their requirements—supporting an adaptable, Agile way of working, alongside providing for relatively painless integrations with other internal and external applications.

“So, the biggest transformational impact that Mendix allows us within BDC is to match the language of business, essentially removing the effort that we need to apply to focus on the technology,” says Herman Geldenhuys, a Mendix technical expert at the bank. “Instead, we focus on the language aspect, speaking the same, using the same terms, having a ubiquitous language with the business people. So, we want to get on the same wavelength as them.”

A Successful Partnership

With IT and business units on board, and the Mendix platform fully adopted, BDC shed its traditional IT skin and with universal acceptance of the new methodologies embarked on a series of rapid development and deployment cycles.

About four weeks after implementing development, the bank demoed their initial efforts for its business partners across the country. After that successful rollout, BDC debuted eight major releases of it system over the next eight months, resulting in a fully integrated set of applications with the new CLS—Core Lending System—providing new functionality while meshing with existing applications.

The rate of development and application acceptance was astonishing; it clearly stands as a testament to the eagerness and dedication of IT and other bank staff to remake the process with the help of the Mendix platform.

“We were able to get something out within seven to eight months, and we had it in production in June of the following year.”

—Karim Mohsen

“So, once we got started with Mendix that was around November 2012,” says Karim Mohsen, product owner of the Core Lending System Modernization project. “Then we were able to get something out within seven to eight months, and we had it in production in June of the following year. So it went pretty fast.”

The need for speed was universally accepted as a base requirement of the new development process. “Most of our clients are small businesses, small and medium businesses, so accelerating our processes, not just helps us, but helps them achieve their goals faster,” notes Dan Covaliu, a BDC developer.

Core Lending Integrated Component System

Today, BDC’s Core Lending Integrated Component System—CLICS—comprises a number of applications that integrate with the showcase Core Lending System. Among the other application are a CRM system built on Microsoft’s Dynamics foundation, a client file system also based on a Microsoft offering (SharePoint) and hooks into external applications such as FICO Blaze Advisor, among other apps.

“From a technical point of view, there’s a lot of integration points and ever-growing until this day,” notes Bakker. With all the required integrations, a lot of data and documents must get passed from app to app.

The numbers bear out the resounding success of BDC-Mendix efforts—

  • Application development time was slashed from an anticipated 30 months to just eight months
  • The size of the development needed to launch the CLS app was a third of that required for the previous efforts
  • Consolidating systems used for legal documentation and approvals have dropped processing time from 25 minutes to 5 minutes across tens of thousands of loans per year
  • Loans can now be processed in only 20 – 30 minutes, and in some cases, funds can now be disbursed during the same day a consultant speaks to a business owner

If any of the development staffers needed any additional encouragement or convincing that the new methodology using Mendix was right path, the rapid rollout and enthusiastic response of the bank’s clients did the trick. Today, development continues based on Mendix’s low-code framework. The latest effort is yet another hit among BDC’s entrepreneurial clients. It’s an application entrepreneurs can use to benchmark their productivity against their competitors, used to improve the way they run their businesses.

“Mendix made it quite simple to start to develop rapidly,” says Covaliu. “The ideas come very fast now from inception to fruition.”

Collaboration and teamwork are essential elements of the process. “We’re a good team,” notes Edy Millien, a Mendix developer at the bank, “and we’re discussing every day about how we can improve the software.”

Reflecting on the pre-Agile past, Scrum Master Alice Goret adds: “Being without a team, it’s not the same when you develop because you need other people to challenge you and do the best you can.”

Bold Move Yields Strong Performance for BDC

BDC’s decision to examine its processes and development toolkit help set the bank on its successful course and help it better meet it mandate to Canada’s small businesses. While the initial impetus for this self-inspection was related to the pace of application delivery, the decision to broaden the scope of this introspection beyond IT and application development paid off remarkably.

“We are helping people to do it faster and better with less complicated stuff,” says Goret. “So we’re trying to focus on making it easier for the customer.”

Today, the bank’s staff is more engaged than ever and its ability to introduce new products for its clients is streamlined, efficient and comprehensive. The resolve to change along the willingness to adopt new tools such as the Mendix platform have helped to usher in a new digital age that will underpin the success of BDC’s business, the companies it serves and the bank’s staff.

“Our vision is clearly stated,” says Geldenhuys. “We use that as a guideline to help us decide where value is being added and where it’s not being added. So, things like consulting services, reducing the lifespan of a process, making things simpler, making it easier, making things more accessible, and automating things help us to achieve that mission and that vision that the bank sets out for us.”