Kermit PPI 为医院节省了 30% 的植入式医疗器械成本

Skip navigation

阻止国会开支大出血

Kermit PPI 为医院节省了 30% 的植入式医疗器械成本

医院节省

平均 30%,高达 1500 万美元/年

Kermit 开发时间

9 个月,一名开发人员


Key findings

  • Kermit 由前医疗器械销售人员创立,旨在恢复医院的权力平衡,最初提供咨询服务,帮助医院应对失控和不透明的支出,随后推出了一款软件产品,确保实现持续成本削减
  • Kermit 是业内首个对医生偏好器械支出实施循证财务控制的软件产品
  • Kermit 最初预计需要 12 个月的时间和 10 名开发人员来开发,但仅一名开发人员在 9 个月内就成功完成,为采用它的医院节省了数百万美元

亲自见证 Kermit PPI 如何借助 Mendix 平台取得了丰硕成果。

解决费用不加管制的问题

近 70 年来,医院一直在使用起搏器、人工关节、人工晶体、胰岛素泵等医生偏好器械 (PPI) 来挽救生命和治疗疾病。尽管医疗技术取得了突飞猛进的发展,但计费流程却没有。医疗器械行业完全控制着计费流程,医院只能任由摆布。

交易时通常使用手写纸质票据,还需要人工检查价格准确性和合同合规性。在这种环境下,成本控制很难实现,更难以维持。

当两位前医疗植入物销售代表和一位业务主管联手向医院咨询如何控制手术成本时,他们陷入了供应商合同过于复杂的困境,再多的电子表格和相关宏都无法管理。他们需要采用新颖的现代化方法来解决遗留问题。

该团队将相当深度的行业知识与低代码开发平台的敏捷性和规模相结合,构建了 Kermit。Kermit 是一款允许医院实时查看 PPI 交易信息的应用程序,使得控制成本和确定节省机会成为可能。Kermit 成功帮助医院将 PPI 成本平均节省 30%。

首席执行官兼联合创始人里奇·帕拉雷亚表示:“供应商控制着如何开发票。客户并不真正了解他们花钱购买的是什么,当我们创建 Kermit 时,很多早期经验都很好地得到了转化。我们知道,我们偶然发现了一些非常有意义的东西。”

Kermit 服务部门总经理兼联合创始人约翰·欧文斯 (John Owens) 说:“我们看到了一个机会,可以为那些花高价购买这些产品的医院做些好事。我是一名医疗器械代表,我注意到同一种产品在不同医院之间确实存在价格差异。”

基于数据的规则改变者

该公司对他们能够提供给客户的价值充满信心,并提供按性能付费的定价模式。在最初的尝试中,团队代表医院协商并管理了新的植入物合同,证明了团队流程的有效性。Kermit 首席运营官兼联合创始人兼前 RN 杰森·史密斯 (Jason Smith) 说:“我们很快意识到,这样做之后不久,供应商又开始耍花招了。他们试图找出合同中的漏洞。”

供应商的持续业务实践引发了一个关键变化。史密斯说:“我们确实需要工具来管理这一点,这样就不需要坐在办公桌后面审阅一百份账单或发票,一份份处理,第二天再重复这一流程。”

最初,仅仅是为医院执行审计和合规的智能账单,不过,其潜力不止于此。史密斯说:“最初只是汇总我们在使用时收集的海量数据。然后我们注意到:‘嘿,我们发现了什么。’”

Jason
Jason Smith

Kermit 团队了解其流程和产品的颠覆性。帕拉雷亚表示:“我们正将有 50 年历史的纸质流程转变为数字流程。我们正在收集以前从未量化过的数据,对其进行结构化处理,并利用算法向医院展示其环境中实际发生的情况。医疗数据的激增促使医院管理人员找出哪些具有意义的分析并且可以推动变革。”

Kermit 首席开发人员大卫·曾茨 (David Zentz) 说:“我们揭露了那些仅通过手动或人工交互无法轻易识别的东西。在手术过程中,Kermit 在手术室内提供审计和合规服务。借助自动化,我们能够快速识别与合同或特定手术相关的任何类型的合规性问题,例如某些已添加到该手术中但未必属于该手术的部分。实际上,我们要求供应商对带入手术室并提供给外科医生的手术器械负责,从而防止这些问题。”

推出、进化、重复

使用 Mendix 低代码平台构建应用程序主要是为了快速上市和节约成本。帕拉雷亚说:“我们只用了一名开发人员,花费很低的预算,仅用了 9 个月的时间,就开发出了第一版 Kermit。我曾在其他公司带领开发团队以典型的传统堆栈架构开展过类似的工作……我们在 Kermit 所做的工作本来需要 10 名工作人员花费至少 12 个月才能完成,而且耗资不菲。”

史密斯对此表示认同:“我们的程序员在 Mendix 中所做的事情使我们的开发速度比传统的硬核代码快得多。这使得我们能够更快上市。”平台的速度和敏捷性帮助他们在构建时整合了用户视角。史密斯说:“刚开始时,我们很幸运,最初的客户允许我们在其环境中创建 Kermit。我们利用了低代码环境,因此能够快速有效地进行测试并推广,同时根据客户反馈进行修改。”

实时数据和分析有助于确定趋势,纠正合同问题,并确定可行的节省机会。

与所有 Mendix 应用程序一样,Kermit 是云原生应用。如此一来,利益相关者可在整个医疗服务系统中协同降低成本并管理支出,并由外科医生、供应经理和会计来推动实现积极影响。实时数据和分析有助于确定趋势,纠正合同问题,并确定可行的节省机会。实时合同合规和价格审核可确保供应商协议步入正轨。如此一来,医院员工可从繁重的文书工作中解放出来,专注于更高价值的任务。

“有了 Mendix 平台,只要你能想到,那就能做到。”曾茨说。他以“让保修单失效”和弄坏东西然后再重新组装而闻名。“这是一个非常强大的工具,肯定会加快开发速度。显然,你拥有可以组合在一起的核心模块。同时,你还有 Mendix 应用商店,这是一个协同的开放社区。每个人都能找到自己的应用中所需的功能,如果他们觉得别人也可能用到这个,就会把它放到应用商店中,然后你就可以快速添加这个功能。”

现实世界中的指数级节省

医院面临着管理成本和节省更多成本的巨大压力。马里兰大学医疗系统临床转化高级副总裁安德鲁·波拉克 (Andrew Pollak) 博士表示:“与许多医疗机构一样,我们的利润率在 3% 以下。波拉克的机构使用 Kermit,在其 12 家医院中节省了大量成本。他说:“我们在两年内节省了超过 3000 万美元,每年节省约 1500 万美元。因此,我们大幅提升了护理价值。我们购买植入物的价格变低了,在没有降低治疗成效的情况下有效降低了成本。”

波拉克说:“Kermit 帮助我们了解每位患者使用特定植入物和器械的情况。有了这款软件,我们可以及时了解手术室和病房信息,例如何人在何时使用了哪款器械。然后,我们可将这些信息与我们与供应商之间的合同和协议进行对比,以确保我们购买的方式与合同规定的购买方式相一致。”

欧文斯说:“一方面,我们可以节省成本,另一方面,当供应商试图收取更高的价格,或售卖合同中不包含的新产品时,我们可以当场抓获。我们不仅实现了节省;还确保客户今后能持续节约成本。”

一次又一次的创新

Kermit 的产品开发路线图具有丰富的功能,可以从不透明的医疗保健供应链中消除或更新过时的流程。史密斯表示:“当医院发布招标书并收到供应商的报价时,生成的文件可能包含超过 50,000 个产品 SKU。众多版本的电子表格和公式导致医院难以确定每轮定价的变化。我们设想了将其输入 Kermit 后的流程。Kermit 可以对其进行分析,对技术进行分类,并在几分钟内报告供应链专业人员需要与供应商处理的所有问题。”

Kermit 助力公司履行使命,即“在医生偏好器械领域,恢复医院的权力平衡,以降低成本并改善患者护理。”虽然他们已经实现了最初的目标,但团队已经开始着眼于更宏伟、更新颖的想法。

欧文斯、帕拉雷亚、史密斯和曾茨将继续在 Mendix 平台上进行构建、创建和发明。帕拉雷亚说:“在某种程度上,我们都认为自己是……开发人员。我们的文化是创新与协同。这需要团队中的每一个成员全力以赴。我想,这就是为什么我们能够如此迅速地将解决方案推向市场。每周我们都会发布该软件的新版本,而这在几年前是闻所未闻的。”

史密斯认为他的整个团队对于应用程序和公司的发展与演进是不可或缺的。“我认为,我们企业中的每个人都是 Kermit 的创造者。我们正在不断创新。”

Kermit PPI Saves Hospitals 30% on Implantable Medical Devices

Skip navigation

Stem the Capitol Spend Hemorrhage

Kermit PPI Saves Hospitals 30% on Implantable Medical Devices

Hospital Savings

Average of 30%, as high as $15mm/yr

Kermit Development Time

9 months with only 1 developer

Related Assets

Key findings

  • Founded by former medical device salespeople, Kermit was founded to return the balance of power to hospitals, initially providing consulting to help hospitals cope with out-of-control and opaque spending, followed by a software product to make these savings “stick”
  • Kermit is the industry’s first software product to enforce evidence-based financial controls for physician preferred item spend
  • Initially anticipated to take 12 months and 10 developers to create, Kermit was developed in 9 months with just one developer, now delivering multi-million-dollar savings to the hospitals that adopt it

See for yourself how outcomes like Kermit PPI's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Addressing the Fee Free-for-all

Hospitals have been using pacemakers, joint replacements, interocular lenses, insulin pumps, and other physician preferred items (PPI) to save and change lives for almost 70 years. While the medical technology has evolved by leaps and bounds in that time, the billing process has not. The medical device industry fully controlled the billing process and hospitals were at their mercy.

Transactions were usually tracked using handwritten paper bills. Methods for checking price accuracy and contract compliance remained entirely manual. Cost controls in this environment were difficult to achieve and even harder to sustain.

When two former medical implant sales reps and a business executive joined forces to consult hospitals on how to control surgical costs, they stepped into a busy hive of vendor contract complexities that no amount of macro-fueled spreadsheets could manage. They needed a novel, modern solution to a legacy problem.

The team combined the considerable depth of their pooled industry knowledge with the agility and scale of a low-code development platform to build Kermit. Kermit is an app that offers hospitals real-time visibility into PPI transactions, which makes it possible to control costs and identify savings opportunities. Kermit is helping hospitals realize a 30% average savings on PPI costs.

“Vendors control how the invoicing works,” said Rich Palarea, Chief Executive Office and cofounder. “Customers don’t really understand what they’re paying for, so a lot of that early experience translated very well when we came over and started Kermit. We knew we had stumbled upon something very meaningful.”

“We saw an opportunity to do some good for the hospitals that are overpaying for these products,” said John Owens, Managing Director of Services & cofounder at Kermit. “I was a medical device rep, and I saw the disparities that do exist from one hospital to the next for the prices that are being paid for the exact same items.”

Data-Driven Game Changer

The company was confident about the value they can provide to their customers and offer a pay-for-performance pricing model. In their initial foray, the team negotiated and managed new implant contracts on behalf of hospitals, proving the efficacy of the team’s process. Jason Smith, Chief Operations Officer, Kermit cofounder, and former RN said, “We quickly realized that shortly after doing that, the vendors started their tricks again. They were trying to find the loopholes in the contracts.”

The vendor’s continued business practices sparked a pivotal change. “We really need a tool to be able to manage this so it’s not somebody sitting behind a desk going through a hundred billing sheets or invoices, just to whittle them down and turn around the next day to do it all over again,” Smith said.

What started out as an intelligent billing sheet that performed audit and compliance for the hospitals had potential to be so much more. Smith said, “it just started amassing all this rich data that we were collecting at the point of use. That’s when we said, ‘Hey, we have something here.’”

Jason Smith
Jason Smith

The Kermit team understood the disruptive nature of their process and product. “We’re taking a 50-year-old process that’s been paper-based for many, many, years and we’re turning that into a digital process,” said Palarea. “We’re taking that data, which was never quantified before, structuring it and harnessing algorithms to show the hospital what’s actually happening in their environment. The proliferation of healthcare data has hospital executives trying to figure out which analytics are meaningful and can drive change.”

“We expose things that aren’t easily identifiable through just manual, or human interaction,” said David Zentz, Kermit’s Lead Developer. “Kermit provides audit and compliance within the operating room, during the procedure. We’re able, through automation, to quickly identify any type of compliance issue as it relates to a contract, as it relates to the specific procedure, like something that’s been added to the procedure that necessarily isn’t part of the procedure,” he says. “We actually prevent these issues by holding vendors accountable for what they’re bringing into the operating room and offering to surgeons for use in surgery.”

Launch, Evolve, Repeat

The drivers to build the app with the Mendix low-code platform were speed to market and cost savings. “We were able to develop Kermit in its first iteration with one developer, a very low budget, and in only nine months,” said Palarea. “I had been involved in other companies where I had led development teams in similar efforts, in a typical traditional stack architecture…and to do the effort that we did here with Kermit would have taken probably a staff of 10, and at least 12 months to accomplish, at a considerably larger sum of money.”

Smith agreed, “things that our programmers are doing inside of Mendix allow us to develop so much faster than traditional hardcore coding. That gets us to go to market faster.” The speed and agility of the platform helped them integrate the user perspective as they built. Smith said, “when we first started, we were fortunate that our initial customers allowed us to create Kermit in their midst. Because we leveraged a low-code environment, we were able to do it very quickly, efficiently, test it, roll it out and make modifications from customer feedback.”

The real-time data and analytics help identify trends, correct contracting issues, and identify actionable saving opportunities.

Kermit, as are all Mendix apps, is cloud-native. This allows stakeholders to become collaborators in cost reduction and spend management across the entire healthcare delivery system, deputizing surgeons, supply managers, and accounting employees to drive meaningful impact. The real-time data and analytics help identify trends, correct contracting issues, and identify actionable saving opportunities. Real-time contract compliance and price audits keep vendor agreements on track. This frees hospital employees from the onerous task of processing nightmarish piles of paperwork and makes it possible for them to focus on higher-value tasks.

“With the Mendix platform, if you can envision it, you can make it,” said Zentz, who is known to “void warranties” and break things so he can put them back together again. “It’s a very powerful tool and definitely speeds up the development. Obviously, you have your core modules that you can piece together. But then also you have the Mendix app store, which is a collaborative, open community. Everybody finds something that they needed to build within their own application, and if they feel that it’s something that others could use, they put it in the app store, and you can quickly add that functionality.”

Exponential Real-World Savings

Hospitals are under immense pressure to manage costs and increase savings. “Like many healthcare organizations, we’re operating on a margin that’s south of 3%,” said Dr. Andrew Pollak, Senior Vice President for Clinical Transformation at the University of Maryland Medical System. Pollak’s organization uses Kermit and has already seen meaningful savings, accrued across its 12 hospitals. “We’re north of $30 million in savings over a two-year period, about $15 million a year in savings,” he said. “What we’ve recognized as a result is an improvement in the value of the care. We have not compromised quality at all in paying less for the implants that we’re using to take care of our patients, but we’ve decreased the cost.”

“Kermit helps us understand our utilization of certain implants and devices on a per-patient basis,” said Pollak. “The software really allows us to capture information in the operating room and at the bedside about what’s being used by whom and when. It then allows us to reconcile that information against the contracts that we have and the agreements that we have with the vendors to make sure that the way we’re purchasing things is consistent with the way that we’re contracted to purchase them.”

“It’s one thing to save the money, but when the vendor tries to charge a higher price or slips in a new product that’s not on contract, we’re now there to catch it in real-time, at that moment,” Owens said. “We don’t just achieve savings; we maintain it for the client from that point forward.”

Innovate – Again and Again

The product development roadmap for Kermit is rich with features to eliminate or update antiquated processes from an opaque healthcare supply chain. “When a hospital goes through a Request for Proposal and receives vendor price offers, the resulting file could contain upwards of 50,000 product SKUs” said Smith. “Hospitals struggle with versions of spreadsheets and formulas to determine changes from pricing round to pricing round. We envision a process where they feed this into Kermit. Kermit can analyze it, classify the technology, and report back everything a supply chain professional needs to address with the vendor in minutes.”

Kermit has delivered on the company’s mission to “return the balance of power back to the hospital in the area of physician preferred instruments for cost reduction and improved patient care.” While they’ve realized their initial goal, the team is already looking beyond that achievement to bigger, newer ideas.

Owens, Palarea, Smith, and Zentz will continue to build, create, and invent in the Mendix platform. “We all consider ourselves…developers, to an extent,” said Palarea. “Our culture is innovation and collaboration. It requires every member of the team, firing on all cylinders to make it work. I think that’s why we’ve been able to bring the solution to market so quickly. Every week we’re making a new release of the software, which years ago would have been unheard of.”

Smith views his entire team as being integral to the development and evolution of the app and of the company. “I feel like everybody in our organization is a maker of Kermit. We’re constantly innovating.”

See for yourself how outcomes like Kermit PPI's are possible with the Mendix platform.