建筑公司成功实现了自身转型与产业转型

Skip navigation

被颠覆者成为颠覆者

价值数十亿欧元的建筑公司转变为数字原生公司

赢得了 120 万只智能仪表安装项目

交付了端到端软件解决方案 — 从客户要求到现场安装

CASH-U 应用程序

从创意到 MVP 只用了 2 天,向现场施工经理提供了价格透明度


Key findings

  • 荷兰最大的建筑公司,拥有 2.7 万名员工,营业收入超过 74 亿欧元,使用低代码找到了全新市场,并确保了卓越运营
  • 低代码可在实际开工前为员工和承包商提供辅助软件,从而助力 BAM 实现了自己的数字化施工构想 —“先构建后施工”
  • BAM Infra 的应用程序组合支持广泛的用例,从赢得工程合同,到实现几十万欧元节能增效,再到寻求改变项目运行方式的创新项目不等

亲自了解如何通过 Mendix 平台实现 BAM Infra 的成果。

即使是资源最密集的行业,进入壁垒也不断降低。一旦新的竞争对手(通常是技术优先或数字优先的企业)在成熟市场上发现商机,行业中规模最大、最杰出的公司也会面临重大风险。无法改变自身商业模式的企业将会屈服于这些行业颠覆者。

BAM Infra 采用低代码开发,并结合敏捷性、响应性和积极性,从一个以僵化著称的行业中成功蜕变,实现了华丽转身。在从被颠覆者转变为颠覆者的过程中,BAM 成功阻止了新的竞争对手进入市场,并吸引了崭露头角的软件开发人才。

低代码赢得了大项目

BAM 作为荷兰规模最大的建筑公司,参与了该国多个基础设施和建筑项目。但是,规模庞大并不意味着在竞争中永远立于不败之地。当政府强制要求所有电网运营商向家庭和企业提供智能仪表时,这一点变得尤为明显。

作为一家建筑施工和基础设施建设公司,BAM 想要投标,但知道该项目既需要设备安装能力,也需要项目运行所需的软件编排和自动化。更加棘手的是,一家知名的软件供应商(行业巨头)也捕捉到了这一机会并参与了投标。但是,尽管该软件供应商具有软件编排和自动化的能力,但却没有设备安装能力,需要将该工作外包给第三方。

由于 BAM 已经有了低代码开发平台 Mendix,因此完全有能力构建智能仪表项目所必需的软件。Mendix 通过可视化和模型驱动型开发,大大缩短了产品上市时间,这对于 BAM 信息经理弗朗斯·韦比斯特来说非常重要:“企业在中标后,只有两到三个月的项目准备时间。在这段时间内,必须构建、发布、测试所有软件,如果没有低代码平台,这一切简直无法想像。”

Frans
Frans Verbiest

“我们在方案中加入完整的端到端软件包,可支持从收单、准备、安装仪表到计费的整个过程。该项目的所有阶段全都集成在一个软件中,即 BAM Road Solution for Field Workers。我们在方案中加入了软件,从而赢得了竞标,同时也击败了我们的软件竞争对手,”韦比斯特说。

BAM 在中标之后,先后在四年多的时间里在荷兰安装了 100 多万只智能仪表。“这对我们来说是一份重要的合同。对于业务部门而言,拥有如此庞大的规模和影响力是非常重要的。”韦比斯特解释道。

重塑行业标准

Mendix 不仅帮助 BAM 战胜了行业颠覆者,同时让 BAM 自己成了行业颠覆者。牛津大学赛德商学院的本特·傅以斌 (Bent Flyvberg) 表示,世界上 90% 以上的基础设施项目不是延期交工就是超出预算。BAM 凭借自己深厚的行业知识以及 Mendix 平台,向市场推出了多种解决方案,从而解决了该行业长期以来一直面临的运营效率低下等问题。

例如,BAM 团队构建了一款财务应用程序,可以实时查看建筑项目预算,让施工经理可以确定是否还有资源购买材料或租用设备。Cash-U 应用程序则可以显示来自 BAM S/4HANA 数据库的实时信息。这种对成本和预算的实时可见性使用户可以根据可用预算实时做出业务决策。

BAM 的开发团队还为环境服务部门构建了一款名为 MAX、可用于环境评估的应用程序。该应用程序将原来由环境服务工程师手动完成的数据输入过程进行了合理化改进并实现了自动化。由于提高了效率,BAM 现在每年可以节省六位数的资金。

Mendix 帮助 BAM 实现了数字化转型目标,从而进一步巩固了 BAM 作为行业颠覆者的地位。“阻碍我们成为数字化企业的因素是时间,而不是人们的意愿,不是企业的动力,也不是资金。做出这样的转变真正需要的是时间。”韦比斯特如是说。

BAM 的产品上市时间滞后了很多,因此开发团队不得不放慢开发进度,以便业务部门迎头赶上。

Mendix 通过多种方式来解决时间问题,首先是平台的易用性。经过为期三周的简短培训课程,开发人员即已熟悉了低代码平台。现为 Mendix 业务工程师的埃琳·比克 (Eline Bijkerk) 就曾是其中一名开发人员。又过了三个星期之后,埃琳觉得自己在创造价值:“这是一个非常快速的过程,因为使用起来非常直观,你可以看到自己在做什么,这使得增加价值更容易。”

通过缩短开发时间,Mendix 让 BAM 实现了加速和敏捷,这在向来效率低下的行业中是难能可贵的。“我们只用几天就建好了 Cash-U,并且能够向利益相关者展示正在运行的项目,”比克表示。

BAM 的产品上市时间滞后了很多,因此开发团队不得不放慢开发进度,以便业务部门迎头赶上。“我们现在将人员同时分配到多个项目中,这样他们就可以在多个项目之间分配时间,”韦比斯特解释道。

吸引软件开发人才加入的磁石

在智能仪表项目的竞标中,BAM 以自己的方式击败了软件开发竞争对手,让自己成为一个蓬勃发展、可吸引软件开发人才的软件开发企业。

例如,埃琳·比克是开发 Cash-U 的团队成员之一,这是她在专业领域的第一个软件开发项目。“我大学的专业是计算机和信息科学,但我不想把所有的时间都花在编程上。有位朋友介绍我使用低代码,我发现它非常有意思。因为它非常快速、敏捷,所以我可以花更多的时间来做软件开发中重要的事情。”她说。

Eline
Eline Bijkerk

使用 Mendix 构建应用程序为比克带来了更为广阔的长期职业生涯前景。“它让我在项目管理方面取得了长足进步,并学习了更多关于项目的内容,而不仅仅是编码。我觉得这非常有意思,我想这将在未来几年对我会有很大帮助。”

比克对她的工作很满意:“在 BAM 工作真的很酷,因为我们有如此多样的建筑施工和基础设施领域,也有一般公司的所有其他内容。作为一名开发人员,我积累了大量不同应用程序的开发经验,并面临着随之而来的挑战。”

使用低代码铺设通向未来的道路

比克热情洋溢地畅谈了低代码开发方法。“我相信低代码是编码的未来。目前有很多老式的代码,每个人都复用别人的代码,例如 Stack Overflow 等。诸如 Mendix 之类的低代码开发平台能够显著加快应用程序的构建速度,构建过程也更加轻松。我坚信,在未来,低代码开发平台将无处不在。”

同时,低代码开发也使得 BAM 能够重塑自我,实现华丽蜕变,为未来做好充分准备。借助 Mendix,BAM 成功实现了数字化转型,从而可续更好地履行企业使命。“BAM 的使命是建立未来连接,在 Infra 中,你可以看到我们创建了许多不同的连接,”韦比斯特说。“我们把公路、铁路、电信连接到人们的住所和办公室。这样的使命无处不在。”

Mendix at work

Name of application /

BOP2

Business Value /

助力 BAM 赢得了 120 万只智能仪表安装项目的竞标

development_time /

Functionality /

打造了端到端软件解决方案,涵盖从终端客户申请安装智能仪表、到设备调度和物流,再到为安装人员提供现场服务等整个流程。

Name of application /

CASH-U

Business Value /

让施工现场的项目经理可以根据当前支出和可用预算实时做出业务决策。

development_time /

2天实现功能原型

Functionality /

Cash-U 可为施工经理展示来自 BAM Infra 公司 S/4HANA 数据库的实时预算信息,让他们能够及时做出合理的财务决策。

Name of application /

环境评估

Business Value /

每年可从运营效率提升中节省 16 万欧元

development_time /

5 个月

Functionality /

一款现场服务应用程序,让环境工程师可以在收集数据的同时输入数据,每年可为 2,000 多个项目中的每个项目节省 1 小时

Construction Company Transforms Itself and Industry

Skip navigation

The Disrupted Becomes the Disruptor

Multi-billion-euro Construction Company Transforms Itself into a Digital Native

Won 1.2 Million Smart Meter Installations

End-to-end software solution from customer request to field installation

CASH-U App

Idea to MVP in 2 Days, lending price transparency to construction managers in the field

Key findings

  • The Netherlands’ largest construction company, with 27,000 employees and over €7.4B of revenue, uses low-code to find new markets and ensure operational excellence
  • Low-code supports BAM’s digital construction initiative – “building it before building it” by delivering supporting software for employees and contractors before shovels hit the dirt
  • BAM Infra’s application portfolio supports a wide array of use cases, from winning installation contracts, to finding hundreds of thousands of euros in efficiencies, to innovation projects that seek to transform the way projects are run

See for yourself how outcomes like BAM Infra's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Barriers to entry are continuing to lower, even in the most resource-intensive of industries. The largest, most prominent companies are at risk as new competitors — often technology- or digital-first organizations — recognize business opportunities in established markets. Companies that are unable to change their own business model succumb to these disruptors.

BAM Infra has adopted low-code development and combined agility, responsiveness, and proactiveness to reinvent itself in an industry known for its rigidity. In going from disrupted to disruptor, BAM has thwarted new competitors from entering their market and is attracting up-and-coming software development talent.

A high bid with low-code

As the largest construction company in the Netherlands, BAM is involved in a plurality of the country’s infrastructure and construction projects. But having a ubiquitous presence doesn’t mean that the company is impervious to competition. That became obvious when the central government mandated that all grid operators provide smart meters to homes and businesses.

BAM, being both a construction and infrastructure company, wanted to submit a bid but knew that the project required both installation capability as well as software orchestration and automation that were necessary to run the project. Complicating matters further, an established software vendor — a behemoth in its own industry — recognized the opportunity and submitted a bid for the work. But while the software vendor had the orchestration and automation capabilities, it did not have the capability to do the installation work — that would be contracted out to a third-party.

Because BAM already had the low-code development platform Mendix in its toolkit, they had the capability to build out the necessary software for the smart meter project. Through visual, model-driven development, Mendix significantly reduces time to market, an important aspect for Frans Verbiest, Information Manager at BAM: “When you win the tender, you only have two or three months to get everything up and running before you start the project. Within that period of time all the software must be built, released, tested, etc., and if you don’t have a low-code platform you simply won’t get it done in time.”

Frans Verbiest
Frans Verbiest

“We included in our offer that we had a complete software package supporting the whole installation process from end-to-end: from receiving the order, preparing it, installing the meter, and billing it. All those phases of the project are in one piece of software — our BAM Road Solution for Field Workers. By including the software in our offer, we won the tender, and we also beat out our software competitor,” Verbiest says.

As a result of winning the bid, BAM was chosen to install over one million smart meters in the Netherlands in a little over four years. “It’s a big, important contract for us. It’s very important for our business units to have this volume and the presence,” Verbiest explains.

Re-building industry standards

Mendix not only enabled BAM to fight off disruptors but allowed the company to become a disruptor itself. According to Bent Flyvberg of Saïd Business School at Oxford University, more than 90% of the world’s infrastructure projects are either late or over budget. With its deep industry knowledge coupled with the Mendix Platform, BAM is bringing solutions to market that solve operational inefficiencies that the industry has long struggled with.

For example, the team built a financial application that provides a live view into the budget of a construction project so that construction managers can determine whether they have the resources to acquire materials or rent equipment. The application, Cash-U, shows live information from BAM’s S/4HANA database. This real-time visibility into costs and budget allows users to make on-the-spot business decisions based on available budget.

The BAM development team also built an application for its environmental services division, named MAX , which conducts environmental reviews. The application rationalizes and automates a data entry process that was previously done manually by environmental services engineers. Thanks to the improved efficiencies, BAM now realizes six-figure savings annually.

Mendix has further solidified BAM’s standing as a disruptor by enabling the company to achieve its digitization goals. “What has prevented us from becoming a digital company is time. It’s not the willingness of the people. It’s not the motivation of the company. It’s not in the funding. It’s really the time that it takes to make such a change,” Verbiest says.

The time to market has increased so much for BAM, the development team has had to slow down their development timelines so that the business can keep up.

Mendix addresses the problem of time in multiple ways, beginning with the platform’s ease of use. Developers were up to speed on the low-code platform after a short three-week training course. Eline Bijkerk, now a Mendix Business Engineer, was one of those developers. After another three weeks, Eline felt like she was delivering value: “It was a really quick process, because it’s so intuitive to use and you can really see what you’re doing and that makes it so much easier to actually add value.”

By reducing development time, Mendix has empowered BAM to achieve speed and agility, difficult in an industry known for its inefficiency. “We built Cash-U in a couple of days, and we were able to show a working project to the stakeholders,” says Bijkerk.

The time to market has increased so much for BAM, the development team has had to slow down their development timelines so that the business can keep up. “We now assign people to multiple projects simultaneously so that they’re splitting their time between projects,” explains Verbiest.

A magnet for software development talent

By beating the software developer at its own game in the bid for the smart meter project, BAM has itself become a thriving software organization, attracting software development talent.

Bijkerk, for example, was on the team that built Cash-U, and it was her first software development project in the professional world. “I studied computer science and information science, but I didn’t want to spend my entire days coding. A contact introduced me to low-code, and I found it super interesting. Because it’s so quick and agile, I can spend more time doing the things that matter in software development,” she says.

Eline Bijkerk
Eline Bijkerk

Building applications with Mendix has given Bijkerk a positive outlook on her long-term career prospects. “It has allowed me to grow more in the direction of project management and learn more about everything that goes on around a project instead of just coding. I find that incredibly interesting, and I think that will help me a lot in the years to come.”

Bijkerk has been satisfied with her work: “Working at BAM is really cool, because we have such a varied field of construction and infrastructure, but also everything else that you would find at a usual company. As a developer, I get a lot of experience building different applications and the challenges that come along with them.”

Paving future connections with low-code

Bijkerk speaks passionately about the low-code approach to development. “I believe that low-code is the future of coding. At the moment, there’s so much old-school coding going on where everyone re-uses parts of code from others, from Stack Overflow and such. Low-code platforms like Mendix make building applications so much faster and so much easier. I truly believe that in the future, low-code platforms will be ubiquitous.”

In the meantime, low-code development is allowing BAM to re-shape itself and prepare for what’s to come. With Mendix, BAM has digitized itself to continue to better fulfill its mission. “The mission for BAM is to connect for the future, and within Infra you see a lot of different connections that we create,” Verbiest says. “We connect roads, railways, telecommunications to people’s homes and offices. That mission is all around us.”

Mendix at work

Name of application /

BOP2

Business Value /

Enabled BAM to win a tender for 1.2 million Smart Meter installations

development_time /

Functionality /

An end-to-end software solution, from an end customer requesting a smart meter, to scheduling and logistics, to field service enablement for installers.

Name of application /

CASH-U

Business Value /

Enables project managers on a construction site to make real-time business decisions based on current spend and available budget.

development_time /

Functional Prototype in 2 days

Functionality /

Cash-U shows construction managers real-time budget information from BAM Infra’s S/4HANA database, enabling them to make sound financial decisions.

Name of application /

Environmental Review

Business Value /

€160,000 in operational efficiency savings per year

development_time /

5 months

Functionality /

A field services application that enables environmental engineers to enter data as they collect it, saving 1 hour of time per project across over 2,000 projects per year

See for yourself how outcomes like BAM Infra's are possible with the Mendix platform.

Copy link