大陆集团采用低代码打造制造者文化,以实现业务数字化

Skip navigation

推动工作成效多元化

汽车制造商携手业余和专业开发人员共同打造制造者文化,推动企业数字化转型

eCR 应用程序

将预算申请处理时间从数小时减少到数分钟

业余开发

“制造者俱乐部”为自行开发应用程序的企业员工提供支持


Key findings

  • 大陆集团是全球汽车技术的领导者。该公司在全球拥有超过 24.1 万名员工,年销售额达 445 亿欧元,涉及轮胎、电子产品、发动机零部件和软件产品。
  • 面对一系列即将到期的原有应用程序,财务 IT 团队希望寻求一个现代化平台来实现现代化,并最终使得大陆集团所有业务团队均能自行构建所需的应用程序。
  • 在大陆集团的 11 款应用程序中,有一款 Electronic Capital Request (eCR),这是一个内含 300 个案例的项目,只用了 12 周(而不是一年)即完成交付,可供全球 1 万名用户处理预算申请和批准事宜。

亲自见证大陆集团如何借助 Mendix 平台取得了丰硕成果。

在奔驰公司推出第一辆专利汽车 12 年之后和福特 T 型车上市 10 年之前,大陆集团就开始生产充气轮胎,并且是第一家生产花纹轮胎的公司。即使在汽车的起步阶段,大陆集团也致力于改善人们的出行方式。

大陆集团从未停止创新。如今,他们的产品组合已远远超出了轮胎,延伸到广泛的汽车数字化技术,包括车载信息技术、驱动电机、自动驾驶技术等。这些先进的系统和设备需要精密复杂且适应性强的软件。

大陆集团集中了一群有进取心、爱钻研的技术人员,采用敏捷流程和低代码开发来为软件提供强大支持。

软件驱动型公司

大陆集团数字化应用平台负责人安吉拉·沃纳 (Angela Werner) 带领团队负责使用商业智能工具和低代码平台等技术来为公司的软件战略提供支持。他们研究的平台和技术可为内部团队提供支持,其中一些团队正致力于诸如自动驾驶和信息娱乐等数据驱动型构想。“我们都在寻求数字化,让公司向前迈进一步。”

安吉拉和数字化应用程序平台全球团队负责人斯文·弗莱舍 (Sven Fleischer) 开发了支持财务、采购和人力资源等内部流程的应用程序,为公司的数字化工作提供了强有力的支持。

斯文表示:“我们得到了集团 IT 团队的大力支持,他们提供了相关 IT 工具,大幅提高了工作效率。”

停滞不前

数十年来,大陆集团一直使用一款软件和应用程序开发平台套件,用于管理企业的一切流程,从电子邮件和内部通信、到成功构建数百个定制应用程序(以实现内部流程数字化),不一而足。

后来,大陆集团决定迁移到现代软件,首先是将电子邮件和生产力工具迁移到微软 Office 365。然后,他们就面临着剩下的数百个应用程序以及关键业务流程辅助程序需要进行现代化改造和替换。

与所有软件一样,旧平台的支持能力随着时间推移逐渐减弱,大陆集团宣布将从 2021 年开始终止对这些平台的支持。以规定的终止日期为目标,集团 IT 团队开始寻找相关替代产品。借助现代化的应用程序开发平台,团队可以利用更先进的技术,例如云技术,可以显著减少偏远地区应用程序用户的延迟时间;例如移动技术,可以为大陆集团的员工和合作伙伴创造提高效率和改善用户体验的新机遇。

除了现代化平台可提供的技术利益之外,集团 IT 团队还希望更紧密地遵循敏捷方法。由于加快的开发速度,开发人员可以更频繁地与业务用户进行交互,更快速地验证所创建的内容。作为大陆集团创新使命的体现,斯文努力为团队营造创造力文化。他不断鼓励团队寻找能够支持业务变更解决方案的新技术。

斯文从仓库的角度谈到了运输类应用程序:“我们谈论了一个仓库流程,其中富有创造力的人们开发了新产品,拓展了全新的机会和业务,将产品带出了仓库投入了生产,最后投放到了市场。”团队需要这样一个平台,能够促进创造性探索、构思、构建和部署稳定而丰富的应用程序。他需要这样一个仓库以及能够把解决方案带出仓库交付到用户手中的方法。

大陆集团发现,在对原有系统和流程进行现代化改造时,Mendix 低代码平台无疑是理想之选。

走出仓库

斯文团队使用 Mendix 低代码平台构建了一系列解决方案,帮助简化财务、人力资源和采购流程。这些通过平台构建的全新解决方案不仅方便进行更新和演进,而且还可以更快地交付给大陆集团员工。

快速构建应用程序的能力是个真正与众不同的特点。该团队表示,如果没有企业低代码平台固有的自动化和抽象功能,就不可能体验到真正实现敏捷流程所需的响应能力。

关于敏捷性

斯文团队构建了 Electronic Capital Request (eCR) 系统。项目经理塞巴斯蒂安·托姆 (Sebastian Thom) 与平台工程师弗朗西斯·林根科 (Francis Limgenco) 一起参与了该项目。该解决方案用于管理资本金申请的批准和处理流程,制定预算申请工作流程,并根据申请性质分配相应的审批人。

eCR 应用程序是按照当时的最高标准构建的,但目前已不再是最先进的技术,该团队发现需要寻找更现代的技术堆栈来处理此流程。以前,用户提交申请需要花费两个小时时间。塞巴斯蒂安说,“如果您在巴西或中国,由于服务器等待和响应时间较长,因此真正完成申请要花费一个小时或几个小时。”

借助 Mendix,塞巴斯蒂安和弗朗西斯创建了具有移动功能和新数据结构的强健且稳定的应用程序,大大减少了用户的申请时间。“借助 Mendix 现在只需几分钟即可完成。”塞巴斯蒂安说。

除了新应用程序所节省的大量时间之外,该工具本身的构建速度之快也是创纪录的,因为斯文团队采用了敏捷开发方法。塞巴斯蒂安认为,使用敏捷性平台的好处在于“您可以更快地与业务人员商讨确定变更事宜。”

关于业余开发

弗朗西斯几乎没有编程经验。他说:“我从来没做过程序员。”但现在,他觉得自己未来会使用低代码构建更多类似 eCR 的应用程序。他说:“我可以让自己成为基本了解编程的人。我真的可以创建一些东西。”

弗朗西斯是一名业余开发人员,也是一个爱钻研的人,他使用自己的专业知识创建了新的业务应用程序。

采购业务分析师英加·温泽尔也是一名业余开发人员。她之前也没有编程经验,但在新的“物料编码申请表”(MNA) 替换工具(可供用户提交创建或重复使用生产物料申请)的开发中发挥了关键作用。通过 Mendix,英加与同事联合开发了全新的 MNA 替换工具,并成功与 SAP ERP 后端系统实现了集成,这样不仅带来了干净、随时可用的数据,还为用户提供了更好的搜索功能。

英加独立创建了 UI 和逻辑(无需编写代码),然后将技术部分交给 IT 部门的同事。“我们的座位离得很近,我和产品负责人坐在同一台电脑前,对面坐着 IT 同事。”英加说。“我们交流起来很容易,可以随时共享正在做的事情。”通过团队合作,英加和 IT 同事只用了短短四周就开发出了这款应用。

英加在 MNA 替换应用程序开发方面的成绩对于业务和 IT 团队之间的协同产生了重大影响。随着更多解决方案的构建,应用程序走出仓库的过程也在不断发展。她说:“这就像项目的电动机或发动机一样。这真的就是你从业务层面进行了更多参与,我觉得这是一个很好的助力,大大提高了项目开发速度。”

实现最终目标

数字化应用程序平台团队正在构建改变游戏规则的应用程序,为企业创造巨大的价值。但最终结果并不止这些。安吉拉和她的团队也在这个过程中建立了全新的工作方式。

安吉拉说:“我们的开发速度很快,更接近于实际需求。”业务部门在整个开发过程中的积极参与大幅缩短了产品上线所需的时间。“业务部门将得到更多真正想要的东西,因为我们采用的是敏捷方式。业务部门非常积极参与,因此他们可以从产品开发过程中学习很多东西。”

使用 Mendix 构建应用程序有效促进了整个大陆集团的团队协同,同时也让所有部门的员工都能成为制造者。特别是弗朗西斯和英加,他们之前几乎或根本没有开发经验,但他们创建的应用程序在发布时立即产生了价值。安吉拉知道这些改变只是一个伟大事业的开始。

英加通过学习总结自己团队使用 Mendix 的经验,已变得非常熟练,可以向企业其他员工讲授低代码,在他们开始构建应用程序时提供指导和治理。她设想成立一个完全由业余开发人员组成的组织,学习构建解决自身业务问题的创新解决方案。

此外,安吉拉知道,要使这样的活动取得成功,她需要在整个企业中建立信任。随着团队使用低代码构建的应用程序越来越多,大量有力的证据正在形成。

大陆集团的下一步计划是什么?

敬请关注他们的未来努力方向。

Continental Creates a Maker Culture with Low-code to Digitize Business

Skip navigation

Driving Results

Automotive Manufacturer Creates a Maker Culture to Drive Digitization with Both Citizen and Pro Developers

eCR Application

Reduces budget request processing time from hours to minutes

Citizen Development

“Maker Club” supports business employees as they build their own apps

Key findings

  • Continental is a global leader in automotive technology. Their 241,000+ global employees drive €44.5 billion in annual sales across tire, electronics, engine component, and software products.
  • Facing an array of legacy applications reaching end-of-life, the Finance IT team sought a modern platform to modernize this landscape, and to ultimately enable business teams across Continental to build their own applications.
  • Among Continental’s 11 applications is Electronic Capital Request (eCR), a 300-story project delivered in 12 weeks, rather than one year, supporting 10,000 global users as they process budget requests and approvals.

See for yourself how outcomes like Continental’s are possible with the Mendix platform.

Just 12 years after Benz patented the first modern car and 10 years before Ford’s Model T hit the streets, Continental was manufacturing the air-filled tire and were the first company ever to make grooved vehicle tires. Even in the infancy of the automobile, Continental was focused on improving how people get from here to there.

Continental never stopped innovating. Today, their product portfolio extends well beyond tires into an extensive array of automotive digital technologies that include telematics, electronic motors, automated driving technology, and more. These advanced systems and devices require sophisticated and adaptable software.

Software that Continental supports through a combination of enterprising, tech-savvy people, the Agile process, and low-code development.

A software-driven company

Angela Werner, Head of Digital Applications Platforms at Continental, leads a team responsible for supporting the organization’s software strategy, using technologies like business intelligence tools and a low-code platform. The platforms and technologies she and her team investigate support internal teams, some of which are working on initiatives like automated driving and infotainment, initiatives that are driven by data. “We are all looking for digitalization to bring the company one step forward.”

Angela and Sven Fleischer, Global Team Lead of Digital Application Platforms, support the company’s digitization efforts by developing applications that support internal processes in Finance, Purchasing, and HR.

“We support this from a central function, as Group IT, by providing IT tools,” says Sven of the Digital Application Platforms team, “to make life at work more efficient.”

Stalling out

For decades, Continental used a suite of software and application development platforms, used for everything from managing e-mail and internal communications to successfully building hundreds of custom applications to digitize internal processes.

Continental moved to migrate onto modern software, first deciding to move its e-mail and productivity tools to Microsoft Office 365. They were then faced with the reality of hundreds of remaining applications, supporting critical business processes that required modernization and replacement.

As with all software, support for the former platforms began to wane over time, with Continental announcing it would end support for them starting in 2021. It was with this end-of-life date in mind that the Group IT team began searching for a replacement. With a modern application development platform, the team could take advantage of more modern technology, such as Cloud, significantly reducing latency for application users in far-flung locations, and Mobile, offering new opportunities for efficiency and a modern user experience for Continental’s employees and partners.

Beyond the technological benefits a modern platform could provide, Group IT was desirous of more closely following the Agile methodology. With an accelerated speed of development, developers could more frequently interact with business users, and more quickly validate that what they were creating. An embodiment of Continental’s mission to innovate, Sven has instilled in his team a culture of creativity. He encourages his team to find new technologies capable of supporting business-altering solutions.

Sven talks of shipping apps in terms of a garage: “We talk about a garage process, where people become creative developing something new, eventually tapping new opportunities and business then bringing that out of the garage and into production, onto the street.” The team wanted a platform that fostered creative discovery and made it possible to ideate, build, and deploy stable and rich applications. He wanted a garage and a means of getting those solutions out the door and into users’ hands.

Continental found that when it came to modernizing legacy systems and processes, the Mendix low-code platform was where the rubber met the road.

Out of the garage

Sven’s team used the Mendix low-code platform to build a range of solutions that have helped streamline processes in Finance, HR, and Purchasing. Not only are these new solutions built on a platform that makes updates and evolutions possible, but they are also delivered to Continental employees much faster.

The ability to build apps faster is a true standout. The team remarked that without the automation and abstraction inherent in an enterprise low-code platform, it’s impossible to experience the responsiveness needed to truly implement an agile process.

On Agile

Sven’s team built the Electronic Capital Request (eCR) system. Sebastian Thom, Project Manager, worked on that project with Francis Limgenco, Platform Engineer. The solution manages the process for the approval and disposal of Capital Expenditure requests, formulating the workflow for a request for budget and assigning approvers based on the nature of the request.

With the eCR application, built to high standards for its time, but no longer state-of-the art, the team found a more modern technology stack was necessary to handle the process. Previously, it took users as long as two hours to make a request. “If you’re located in Brazil or China,” says Sebastian, “it took nearly an hour or hours to really do a request because of the long latency and response times of the servers.”

With Mendix, Sebastian and Francis created a robust and stable application with mobile capabilities and new data structures that severely cut the users’ request time. “With Mendix you can do it within minutes,” says Sebastian.

Beyond the significant time savings wrought by the new application, the tool itself was built in record time, with Sven’s team applying the Agile development methodology. The beauty of using an Agile-centric platform, according to Sebastian, is that “you can align with the businesspeople much faster on changes.”

On Citizen Developers

Francis has very little coding experience. “I’ve never been a programmer,” he says. But now he sees himself building more applications like the eCR in the future, using low-code. “I could make myself an example of somebody who had a very basic idea of what programming is,” he says. “I can actually build something.”

Francis is a citizen developer, a tech-savvy person who uses their subject matter expertise to create new business applications.

Inga Wenzel, Purchasing Business Analyst, is also a citizen developer. She didn’t have prior coding experience, either, but was critical in the development of the new Material Number Application (MNA) Replacement tool, which lets users submit requests to create or re-use production materials. Using Mendix, Inga was able to co-develop the new MNA Replacement tool and create cleaner integrations with their SAP ERP backend system. This has led to cleaner, more available data and, ultimately, better search functionality for users.

Inga was able to create UI and logic on her own, without coding, and then handed the more technical parts to her counterpart in IT. “We sat very close together, me and the product owner, on one PC, and across from us sat my IT counterpart,” Inga says. “It was fairly easy, and we could just share what we are working on.” Through that collaboration, Inga and her IT counterpart were able to develop the app in just four weeks.

Inga’s work on the MNA Replacement application has made a big impact on how business and IT collaborate. The process of getting applications out of the garage has evolved as more solutions have been built. “It’s like a motor or engine for the project,” she says. “It’s really like you have more involvement from the business, and I feel that it’s a good boost. It gives a lot of speed to the project.”

Arriving at their destination

The Digital Applications Platforms team are building game-changing applications, adding tremendous value to the business. But the end results aren’t the only thing evolving. Angela and her team are also building a new way of working.

Angela says, “We are fast, and we are closer to the real requirements.” How involved the business has become throughout the development process has helped reduce the time it takes to go-live. “The business will get more of what they really want, because we do it now in an Agile way. The business is really involved, so they can learn as we develop the product.”

Building applications with Mendix has made collaboration across the enterprise possible at Continental, but has also enabled people from any department to become makers. People like Francis and Inga, both who had little to no prior development experience, have created applications that delivered immediate value upon launch. Angela knows these changes are just the beginning of something great.

Inga, by collecting her own team’s experiences with Mendix, has become proficient enough to teach low-code to others across the organization, providing guidance and governance as they begin building applications. She envisions an entire organization of untapped citizen developers beginning to build their own innovative solutions to business problems.

Moreover, Angela understands that for such a movement to succeed, she needs to foster trust across the business. And with the applications her team has built using low-code, a body of proof is materializing.

What’s next for the Continental Garage? Kilometers of open road.

Keep an eye on where they’re headed.