Cloud Security | Mendix Evaluation Guide

Skip navigation

Cloud Security

Mendix Cloud 提供哪些类型的安全控制?

Mendix Cloud 的安全性控制措施包括各种级别的加密、传输层安全性 (TLS)、访问限制以及节点设置和权限。以下各节详细介绍了这些安全控制。

如何保护传输中的数据?

可以通过群集 Nginx Web 服务器的负载平衡路由层访问容器中运行的 Mendix Runtime,该负载均衡路由层将流量路由到相关的应用程序环境中,其中 Web 服务器负责 TLS 连接。此外,来自 IaaS 提供商的所有常见访问和安全服务都用于前往其基础结构的流量。从浏览器开始的 TLS 连接终止于负载平衡路由层上的 Web 服务器服务。这确保了对数据的端到端加密,因此其他应用程序环境就无法拦截目标应用程序环境中的任何数据。

Mendix Cloud 支持各种可配置的 HTTP 响应标头,以保护您的 Mendix 应用程序。有关更多信息,请参见 Mendix 开发人员门户指南中的环境详细信息

如何限制传入请求的访问权限?

在 Mendix Cloud 中,可以使用多种控制措施来限制传入请求的访问权限,通过配置访问限制,您可以对应用程序的外部访问进行细粒度控制。

Mendix Cloud 中的限制访问由访问限制配置文件进行配置。访问限制配置文件可以包含任意数量的 IPv4 和 IPv6 地址列或客户端证书颁发机构,或两者都包含在内。

以下为上传客户端证书的一个示例:

如何限制传出连接的访问权限?

在 Mendix Cloud 中,应用程序的所有入站连接均已使用 TLS 提供保护。并且由于您的应用程序还可以连接到互联网上的其他服务,因此 Mendix 建议通过具备客户端证书验证的 TLS 或 TLS 保护传出连接。

TLS 使用最多,其中客户端验证服务器证书并设置加密连接。通过验证客户端信任存储区中证书颁发机构的信任链来验证信任。使用加密时,通过连接发送和接收的数据无法被其他方截获,因此,要验证客户端身份,可以使用如带有 HTTP 标头的用户名/密码或令牌。这可用于本地支持 TLS 的服务。

如要通过 Mendix Cloud 连接到您的服务,该服务就会在外部 IP 地址和端口上暴露。您可以设置防火墙,仅允许 Mendix Cloud 连接到该服务。

带有客户端证书验证的 TLS 进一步要求所使用的服务需要对 Mendix 应用程序的身份进行验证,包括使用 TLS 进行传输时加密。

Mendix 是否支持自定义域?

对于从 Internet 到 Mendix Cloud 应用程序的连接,我们提供了由 Mendix 托管的带证书的 .mendixcloud.com 域或 .mxapps.io 域。如需要固定,您可以在您完全控制更新证书下的位置设置自定义域。

我的 Mendix Cloud 环境如何处理访问管理?

Mendix Cloud 环境的细粒度访问在开发人员门户中针对每个应用程序进行管理。每个团队成员都可以订阅或取消订阅警报,并且一个应用程序的技术联系人可以管理每个团队成员在各个环境中的各种权限。

以下各节描述了节点设置中使用的各种开发团队角色。

Mendix Cloud 环境访问由什么团队角色进行管理?

具有技术联系人角色的用户可以管理云节点中的所有设置,并可以使用查看、部署和监视权限来编辑常规开发团队成员的特权。其他团队成员只能行使限制内的权限。

一个云节点始终只有一个技术联系人(而任意数量的团队成员则可拥有查看、部署和监视权限)。

只有技术联系人才能将其用户角色授予其他团队成员(之后,新用户拥有了技术联系人角色,而老用户则失去此角色)。

技术联系人从云节点接收以下警报:

  • 来自 Mendix Support 的维护通知
  • 出现问题时来自节点的警报
    • 例如,CPU 负载很高、磁盘空间不足
    • 技术联系人无法关闭这些警报

谁是应用程序事件和更改的第一联系人?

技术联系人是 Mendix 支持就该应用程序的第一联系人。技术联系人可以使用以下请求类型提交对云节点的请求:

  • Incidents – 例如应用程序关闭
  • 标准更改 – 请求添加云资源、更改 Mendix 应用程序 URL、创建新应用程序、获取或续订许可证、重置 Google 身份验证器

我的 Mendix Cloud 环境可使用哪些类型的访问控制?

节点权限为您应用程序的管理提供了细粒度访问控制。可以配置的节点权限如下所述。

传输权

通过传输权,您可以将应用程序的新版本部署到节点。您可以创建新的部署程序包、停止和启动环境以及更改配置设置,例如常量和定制活动。

获取备份

该权限授予对环境备份的访问权限。您可以查看、创建、下载和还原备份。

接收警报

在开发人员门户中开启接收警报选项时,当触发警报时,用户会收到一封电子邮件。当应用程序意外脱机、应用程序记录关键级别消息、运行状况检查失败或发生各种基础结构问题时,就会触发警报。

API 权利

通过 API 权利,您可以使用 Deploy API 以编程方式访问环境。当然,API 不要求双重认证,因此默认情况下,生产环境将禁用 API 访问。技术联系人可以为每个用户分配 API 访问权限。需要注意的是,需要在其他权限的基础上具备 API 权限。因此,要通过 API 访问备份,您既需要访问备份权限,又需要 API 权限。

访问监控

通过此权限,您可以在开发人员门户中查看应用程序指标、日志和警报。这使您能够成功地操作 Mendix Cloud 环境。

Mendix 提供什么备份功能?

Mendix 每天都会为您备份所有环境中的所有数据(模型、数据库和文件存储)。备份存储在地理位置分散的安全位置。

备份可用于还原,如下所示:

  • Nightly backups – 最长可备份 2 周的历史记录(从请求前一天开始计算)
  • Sunday backups – 最长可备份 3 个月的历史记录(从请求前一天开始计算)
  • Monthly backups(每月的第一个星期天)- 最长可备份 1 年的历史记录(从请求前一天开始计算)

生产数据和备份数据均利用云存储,并且受到存储限制的约束,存储限制与您所购买的 Mendix 平台订阅相关联。建议公司针对备份的使用和测试建立一个内部协议。管理员可以从开发人员门户网站下载备份,也可以使用 Mendix 平台 REST API 开发备份自动下载。Mendix 还提供使用实时数据复制的选项,以启用后备环境。

Mendix 如何减轻灾害?

Mendix Cloud 有多种灾难缓解措施,包括可部署到多个可用区的高可用性、扩展以及自动恢复。

灾难恢复测试每季度会在 Mendix 平台上执行一次。这些测试已在我们的 ISAE 3000 Type II 报告、ISAE 3402 Type II 报告、SOC 1 Type II 报告、SOC 2 Type II 报告、SOC 3 Type II 报告、ISO/IEC 27001:2013、ISO/IEC 27017:2015、ISO/IEC 27018:2019、NEN 7510-1:2017 证书和 HIPAA 保证书中进行了报告。

Mendix Cloud 是否提供高可用性和自动恢复?

Mendix Cloud 为具有企业许可证的客户提供了高可用性选项。在 Mendix 运行中断的情况下,这可以确保零停机时间。用户可以使用开发人员门户扩展 Mendix 应用程序环境。此外,Mendix Cloud 可在同一可用区内实现自动恢复和故障转移。

有关更多信息,请参见云架构中的 Mendix Cloud 如何提供高可用性?Mendix 如何提供灾难恢复Mendix Cloud 如何提供自动恢复和自动修复?

Mendix Cloud 提供哪种加密?

Mendix 可以即时可用地为应用程序环境加密静态数据和传输中的数据。为了进行更多的加密控制,Mendix 支持对应用程序数据库中的特定列进行加密,并可以对上传的文件进行加密。

有关路由和网络加密的更多信息,请参阅以上如何保护传输中的数据?

Mendix Cloud 提供哪种日志记录和审计跟踪?

Mendix 在整个应用程序生命周期中应用了广泛的日志记录。不仅对 Mendix Runtime 执行的操作进行记录,而且对应用程序在设计、开发和部署期间的活动也进行记录。因此,对于应用程序中的所有相关活动,以及执行这些活动的人和执行时间,都有完整的审核跟踪。

以下各节将详细介绍各种级别的日志记录。

  • 可以识别谁定义了哪些需求吗?

    Mendix 平台以用户故事的形式(通过应用程序项目的“项目”模块)支持需求的定义。Mendix 记录与用户故事相关的操作,用来跟踪谁定义了哪些需求。

  • 如何监视我应用程序开发的完整性?

    Team Server 监视着正在开发的应用程序的完整性,它帮助您可以将 Mendix 应用程序中的所有更改提交链接到特定的用户故事和用户。这使您能够跟踪到谁开发了应用程序的哪个部分以及开发的原因。

  • 哪些部署活动进行了日志记录?

    开发人员门户是 Mendix 平台的组件,该组件除其他功能外还处理应用程序包的部署(在 Mendix 中称为部署档案)。与开发人员门户中部署相关的活动包括跨环境应用程序的部署和阶段分解。此外,还记录了备份和还原操作,因此可以完全追溯已执行的管理任务。

哪些运行时活动进行了日志记录?

Mendix Runtime 提供了记录用户行为和对象操作的选项,从而使审计跟踪标准降至最低水平。除了标准日志详细信息(如活跃用户)之外,您还可以在 Mendix Studio 和 Mendix Studio Pro 上添加自定义日志。您甚至可以根据定制的完整性触发器添加活动警报。

日志永久存储在日志文件中,Mendix 提供了一个用于订阅日志事件的 API。Mendix 还与 RSA 之类的第三方工具集成,用于在需要安全日志记录和审计的环境中对日志文件进行加密存储。

Mendix Cloud 如何支持 DTAP 环境?

Mendix 平台部署架构基于 Cloud Foundry,它是 SAP、IBM 和 GE 等使用的行业标准云应用程序平台。Cloud Foundry 使用容器逻辑分隔 Mendix 应用程序。您可以根据需要拥有任意数量的环境,但通常包括用于验收、生产的环境,有时也包括用于测试的环境,每个环境都在各自的应用程序环境中运行。

Mendix 如何在 Mendix Cloud 中提供控制?

Mendix Cloud 节点是专门用于您公司的 Mendix Runtime 虚拟实例和自主实例的组合。Mendix Cloud 节点至少包含两个环境(验收和生产),每个环境都在各自的应用程序环境中运行。您可以根据需要扩展至多个环境。每个应用程序环境还包括防火墙、Web 服务器和数据库服务。Mendix Cloud 节点使用 Cloud Foundry 容器。应用程序容器的目的是在屏蔽其他环境(和应用程序)的同时包含环境的行为和消耗。

Cloud Foundry 使用的是旨在运行基于 buildpack 的应用程序和依赖项的 Garden 容器。Garden 容器由两层组成:一个带有操作系统根文件系统的只读层,以及一个用于 Mendix 应用程序和依赖项的非持久性读/写层。

数据库和文件也逻辑包含在 Mendix Cloud 和 Cloud Foundry 中。Mendix 应用程序的数据库托管在 PostgreSQL 的单独实例上,并且该特定实例仅接收来自该特定 Mendix 应用程序的流量。

由于每个应用程序环境都有其专用的 Web 服务器和防火墙服务,因此 Mendix 通过开发人员门户支持应用程序环境级别的自定义,而不会影响其他应用程序环境。例如,针对特定应用程序环境的请求处理程序的自定义不受其他 Mendix 客户的需求和愿望的影响。

应用程序环境设置允许同一应用程序的所有实例操作相同但要保持独立。由于应用程序环境是完全标准化的,因此 Mendix 在实现最高程度的安全性和性能的同时,优化了操作系统、集成软件和虚拟化软件的组合。此外,Mendix 可以即时可用地为应用程序环境加密静态数据和传输中的数据。

Mendix 是否建立并维护基线配置以进行强化?

Mendix 安全团队已根据 SANS 和 CIS 等国际标准建立了强化安全基准。这一基准由我们的独立第三方审核公司审核,结果公布在我们每年发布的 ISAE 3402 Type II 报告、SOC 1 Type II 报告、SOC 2 Type II 报告、SOC 3 Type II 报告、PCI DSS Level 1 服务提供商合规性证明、ISO/IEC 27001:2013、ISO/IEC 27017:2015、ISO/IEC 27018:2019、NEN 7510-1:2017 证书和 HIPAA 保证书中。

有关更多信息,请参见 Mendix 拥有哪些第三方安全认证和鉴证报告?

Mendix Cloud 配备了哪些物理安全控制措施?

Mendix Cloud 托管在行业领先的数据中心中,该中心每两年进行一次审核,以确保其经认证的 Mendix Information Security Officers 是否合规。所有数据中心都拥有第三方认证和/或第三方鉴证报告,例如 ISO/IEC 27001:2013、SOC 2 和 PCI-DSS。

Mendix Cloud 配备了哪些 DDoS 控制措施?

Mendix Cloud v4 中托管的所有 Mendix 应用程序都受 AWS Shield Advanced 的支持并能够抵御最常见、最频繁发生的网络和传输层 DDoS 攻击。除此保护外,Mendix Cloud 还具有对大型复杂 DDoS 攻击的额外检测和缓解功能、对 DDoS 攻击的近实时可见功能以及对 AWS DDoS Response Team 的全天候访问。

Cloud Security

1 What Kind of Security Controls Are Available in the Mendix Cloud?

Security controls for the Mendix Cloud include various levels of encryption, transport layer security (TLS), access restrictions, and node settings and permissions. The sections below describe these security controls in detail.

1.1 How Is Data in Transit Secured?

The Mendix Runtime that is running in a container is accessed via a load-balanced routing layer of clustered Nginx web servers that routes traffic to the relevant app environment, whereby the web server is responsible for the TLS connections. In addition, all common access and security services from the IaaS provider are used for the traffic that goes to their infrastructure. The TLS connection starting from the browser terminates at the web server service on the load-balanced routing layer. This ensures that data is encrypted end to end, so other app environments cannot intercept any data from the target app environment.

1.2 How Is Access Restricted for Incoming Requests?

Within the Mendix Cloud, it is possible to restrict access for incoming requests using multiple controls, by configuring access restrictions, you have fine-grained control over the external access to your application.

Restricting access within the Mendix Cloud is configured by access restriction profiles. An access restriction profile can contain any number of IPv4 and IPv6 address ranges, or a client certificate authority, or both.

This is an example of uploading a client certificate:

1.3 How Is Access Restricted for Outgoing Connections?

All inbound connections to applications in the Mendix Cloud are secured with TLS. And because your apps can also connect to other services on the internet, Mendix advises securing outgoing connections via TLS or TLS with client certificate validation.

TLS is the most common scenario, in which the client verifies the server certificate and sets up an encrypted connection. Trust is verified by verifying the chain of trust to a certificate authority in the client’s trust store. Using encryption, data sent and received over the connection cannot be intercepted by other parties, so to authenticate the client, a username/password or token can be used with HTTP headers, for example. This can be used for services that natively support TLS.

To connect to your service from the Mendix Cloud, the service can be exposed on an external IP address and port. This can be firewalled to only allow the Mendix Cloud to connect to it.

TLS with client certificate validation adds the requirement that services being used validate the identity of your Mendix application, including encryption in transit using TLS.

1.4 Does Mendix Support Custom Domains?

For connections from the internet to your Mendix Cloud applications, we provide a .mendixcloud.com or .mxapps.io domain with a certificate managed by Mendix. For situations where pinning is required, you can set up a custom domain where you are in full control of updating the certificate.

1.5 How Is Access Management Handled for My Mendix Cloud Environments?

Fine-grained access management for your Mendix Cloud environments is handled for each of your applications in the Developer Portal. Each team member can subscribe or unsubscribe to alerts, and the Technical Contact of an application can manage the various permissions of each team member per environment.

The sections below describe the various development team roles used in node settings.

1.5.1 What Team Role Manages Mendix Cloud Environment Access?

Users with the Technical Contact role can manage all the settings in the cloud node and can edit the privileges of regular development team members with the view, deploy, and monitor permissions. Other team members are restricted in what they can manage.

A cloud node always has only one Technical Contact (while any number of team members can have view, deploy, and monitor permissions).

Only the Technical Contact can give their user role to another team member (after this, the new user has the Technical Contact role, and the old user does not).

The Technical Contact receives the following alerts from the cloud node: * Notifications for maintenance from Mendix Support * Alerts from the node when problems arise * For example, CPU load is high, running out of disk space * The Technical Contact cannot turn these alerts off

1.5.2 Who Is the First Point of Contact for Incidents & Changes to the App?

The Technical Contact is the first point of contact from Mendix Support about the application. The Technical Contact can submit requests for the cloud node with the following request types: * Incidents – for example, when the app is down * Standard changes – requests to add cloud resources, change the Mendix app URL, create a new app, obtain or renew a license, reset Google authenticator

1.6 Which Types of Access Control Are Available for My Mendix Cloud Environment?

Node permissions provide fine-grained access control to the management of your application. The node permissions that can be configured are described below.

1.6.1 Transport Rights

With transport rights, you can deploy new versions of the application to the node. You can create new deployment packages, stop and start the environment, and change configuration settings such as constants and scheduled events.

1.6.2 Access to Backups

This permission grants access to the backups of the environment. You can view, create, download, and restore a backup.

1.6.3 Receive Alerts

When the option to receive alerts is turned on in the Developer Portal, the user will receive an email when an alert is triggered. Alerts are triggered when the application goes offline unexpectedly, the app logs a critical-level message, a health check fails, or various infrastructure problems occur.

1.6.4 API Rights

With the API rights, you can use the Deploy API to get programmatic access to the environment. Naturally, the API does not require two-factor authentication, so API access is disabled for the production environment by default. The Technical Contact can assign API access for each user. Note that the API rights are needed in addition to the other permissions, so in order to access backups via the API, you will need both the access to backups permission as well as API rights.

1.6.5 Access to Monitoring

With this permission, you can view the application metrics, logs, and alerts in the Developer Portal. This allows you to successfully operate your Mendix Cloud environments.

2 What Backup Functionality Is Provided by Mendix?

A backup of all data (model, database, and file storage) is made on a daily basis for the acceptance, test, and production environments. Backups are stored in secured locations that are geographically dispersed.

Backups are available for restore as follows:

  • Nightly backups – maximum 2 weeks history (counted from the day before the request)
  • Sunday backups – maximum 3 months history (counted from the day before the request)
  • Monthly backups (1st Sunday of each month) – maximum 1 year history (counted from the day before the request)

Both production data and backup data utilize cloud storage and are subject to the storage limit associated with the Mendix Platform subscription purchased. Companies are advised to set up an internal protocol for the usage and testing of backups. Administrators can download backups from the Cloud Portal or develop automated downloads of backups using the Mendix Platform REST API. Mendix also offers the option to use live data replication in order to enable a fallback environment.

2.1 How Does Mendix Mitigate Disasters?

The Mendix Cloud has multiple mitigations for disasters, including high availability with deployment to multiple availability zones, scaling, and auto-recovery.

Disaster recovery tests are performed quarterly on the Mendix Platform. These tests are reported in our ISAE 3402 Type II report, SOC 1 Type II report, and ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification.

2.2 Does the Mendix Cloud Offers High Availability & Auto-Recovery?

The Mendix Cloud offers high availability for all app environments, ensuring zero downtime in the case of a Mendix Runtime outage. Users are able to scale Mendix app environments using the Cloud Portal. Furthermore, the Mendix Cloud enables auto-recovery and failover within the same availability zone.

For more details, see the sections How Does Mendix Cloud Offer High Availability?, How Does Mendix Provide Disaster Recovery?, and How Does Mendix Cloud Provide Auto-Recovery & Auto-Healing? in Cloud Architecture.

3 What Kind of Encryption Is Provided in the Mendix Cloud?

Mendix offers encryption for data at rest and in transit for app environments out of the box. For more encryption control, Mendix supports the encryption of specific columns within application databases and makes it possible to encrypt uploaded files.

For details on routing and network encryption, refer to the section How Is Data in Transit Secured? above.

4 What Kind of Logging & Audit Trails Are Provided in the Mendix Cloud?

Mendix applies extensive logging of the whole application lifecycle. Logging is done not only on actions performed by the Mendix Runtime, but also on activities during the design, development, and deployment of an application. Accordingly, there is a full audit trail of all the relevant activities in an app, as well as who executed them and when they were executed.

The following sections go into more detail about the various levels of logging.

4.1 Can I Identify Who Defined Which Requirements?

The Mendix Platform supports the definition of requirements in the form of user stories (via the Projects module of an app project). Mendix logs actions related to the user stories in order to trace who defined which requirements.

4.2 How Is the Integrity of My Application Development Monitored?

The integrity of the application being developed is monitored by the Team Server, which allows you to link all change commits within a Mendix app to specific user stories and users. This enables you to trace who developed which part of your application and for what reason.

4.3 Which Deployment Activities Are Logged?

The Cloud Portal is the component that, among other functions, handles the deployment of application packages (called deployment archives in Mendix). Activities pertaining to deployment in the Cloud Portal include the deployment and staging of apps across environments. In addition, backup and restore actions are logged, so there is full traceability of the administrative tasks performed.

4.4 Which Runtime Activities Are Logged?

The Mendix Runtime offers the option to log user behavior and object manipulations, enabling audit trails to the lowest level. Aside from standard log details (for example, active users), the Mendix Modeler allows you to add custom logging. You can even add active alerts based on bespoke integrity triggers.

Logs are persistently stored in log files, and Mendix provides an API for subscribing to log events. Mendix also integrates with third-party tools like RSA for the encrypted storage of log files in environments where secure logging and auditing is required.

5 How Does the Mendix Cloud Support DTAP Environments?

The Mendix Platform deployment architecture is based on Cloud Foundry, which is the industry-standard cloud application platform used by SAP, IBM, Pivotal, and GE, among others. Cloud Foundry logically separates Mendix applications using containers. This includes an (optional) test, acceptance, and production environment, each running in their own app environment.

6 How Does Mendix Provide Containment Within the Mendix Cloud?

A Mendix Cloud node is a grouping of virtual and autonomous instances of the Mendix Runtime that is dedicated to your company. A Mendix Cloud node includes an (optional) test, acceptance, and production environment, each running in their own app environment. This app environment also includes firewall, web server, and database services. Mendix Cloud nodes run on Cloud Foundry containers. The purpose of an app container is to contain the behavior and consumption of an environment while shielding other environments (and apps) from each other.

Cloud Foundry uses Garden containers that have been designed to run applications and dependencies based on a buildpack. Garden containers consists of two layers: a read-only layer with an operating system root file system, and a non-persistent read/write layer for Mendix applications and dependencies.

Databases and files are also logically contained within the Mendix Cloud and Cloud Foundry. A database for a Mendix application is hosted on a separate instance of PostgreSQL, and this specific instance only allows traffic from this specific Mendix application.

As each app environment has its own dedicated web server and firewall services, Mendix supports customization at an app environment-level through the Cloud Portal without affecting other app environments. For example, the customization of request handlers for a specific app environment is not compromised by the demands and desires of other Mendix customers.

The app environment setup allows test, acceptance, and production instances of the same application to operate identically but independently. Because the app environments are fully standardized, Mendix optimizes the combination of OS, integration software, and virtualization software while implementing the highest possible degree of security and performance. Furthermore, Mendix offers encryption for data at rest for app environments out of the box.

7 Does Mendix Establish and Maintain Baseline Configurations for Hardening?

The Mendix Security team has an established hardening security baseline based on international standards like SANS and CIS. This is audited by our independent third-party auditors and results in our annual published ISAE 3402 Type II report, SOC 1 Type II report, and ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certificate.

8 Which Physical Security Controls Are in Place for the Mendix Cloud?

Mendix Cloud is hosted in industry-leading data centers, which are reviewed bi-annually for compliance by the certified Information Security Officers of Mendix. All the data centers possess third-party certifications and/or third-party assurance reports like ISO/IEC 27001:2013, SOC 2, and PCI-DSS.

Mendix, Win in a software-driven world.