应用程序开发生命周期 - BizDevOps、DevOps、敏捷 | Mendix 评估指南

Skip navigation

Development Process

哪种开发流程最适合 Mendix?

Mendix 从开始至今一直沿用的应用程序开发流程结合了敏捷开发和 DevOps,同时针对低代码应用程序开发进行了优化。由于高度重视业务和 IT 的协作,Mendix 开发过程可被称为 BizDevOpsDevOps 2.0。Mendix 的 BizDevOps 针对低代码进行了优化。

Mendix 开发流程鼓励开发人员、运营人员和业务团队共同合作,从而提升企业的软件开发速度、用户需求响应速度以及最终的企业营收。通过这种方法,业务团队不仅可以设置需求,还可以直接与开发团队合作。开发团队由业务分析师、专业开发人员以及业务团队共同组成。

本节介绍 Mendix BizDevOps 的概念,并将其与其他软件开发过程进行比较。

为什么应该采用 BizDevOps 流程?

将 Mendix 开发流程(即 BizDevOps)与 Mendix 低代码开发平台结合使用,可以大大缩短反馈循环,效率也会因此而提高,从而可完善开发成果、降低开发成本以及缩短上市时间。

在 Mendix 应用程序开发项目中,业务分析师和开发人员之间存在即时反馈循环。借助 Mendix 平台的一键部署和可视化建模功能,开发团队可以按小时处理来自企业和产品负责人的反馈。这意味着反馈循环的时长一般由业务人员提供反馈的速度决定。实际操作中,业务部门与开发团队之间的反馈循环一般为 1 至 2 周,使得应用程序可以按月发布。

正如敏捷开发可通过缩短反馈循环将产品上市时间减少一半那样,Mendix 流程通过类似方法也可以大幅改善开发成果。BizDevOps 方法不仅可以将上市时间进一步缩短 50%,而且还可以将开发工作量减少 70%。

Mendix 如何为 BizDevOps 流程提供支持?

Mendix 已针对低代码优化了 BizDevOps 方法,从而使反馈循环缩短至一个月以下。Mendix 平台的四个重要因素确保了反馈循环不至于过长:

  • 集成式需求管理 – 业务人员可以通过 Mendix IDE 中集成的用户友好型反馈机制,对构建中的 Live 应用程序(最小可行产品)提供相应需求和反馈。这样可为开发人员提供上下文关联的元数据,例如反馈所涉及的页面、用户和浏览器等。
  • 可视化建模 – 通过 Mendix 低代码平台,业务分析师可利用可视化方法构建应用程序,并与专业开发人员在共享环境中开发同一个模型,持续提供即时反馈。所有问题可以快速检测并解决,确保应用程序的首个版本即可满足业务和客户的期望。
  • 通过多个 IDE(Mendix Studio 和 Mendix Studio Pro)实现团队协同 – 通过为不同角色量身定制的 IDE,Mendix 可让各方都参与到同一个模型的开发工作中,充分发挥自身优势。
  • 一键式部署 – 一键式部署到任何云,确保可以在几分钟内发布应用程序,让业务人员针对下一次迭代提供反馈。

Mendix 开发团队中有哪些关键角色?

Mendix 低代码 BizDevOps 项目的核心开发团队包括三个主要角色:

  • 业务代表 – BizDevOps 流程中的关键角色。业务用户(即产品负责人)负责通过对应用程序提出需求或反馈来提供业务方面的见解,然后将其转换为用户案例。
  • 业务分析师 – 负责与业务人员进行沟通,并与技术开发人员共同管理整个应用程序交付生命周期,包括应用程序的运营。业务分析师是正确解读业务部门需求和反馈的关键。换句话说,他们可以使用同一套话语体系来验证所开发应用程序的 UX/UI(页面)、业务规则(逻辑)和概念数据模型。
  • 开发人员 – 支持业务分析师构建应用程序,提供实际成果。开发人员专注于集成、数据模型、安全、性能等技术方面工作。

核心开发团队无需 Java 程序员直接参与,即可运营管理整个应用程序交付生命周期。以上角色缺一不可,尤其是在交付多个企业级应用程序时。但同时,他们也是卓越中心的一部分,卓越中心通常规模更大,由多个 Mendix 应用程序开发团队组成。

其他角色(例如 UX/UI 专家和测试工程师)也可作为推动者和非固定专家参与项目。

Mendix 如何促进敏捷开发?

DevOps 采用敏捷方法。敏捷方法将软件开发方式从传统的瀑布式线性开发转变为基于团队的迭代式开发。这种方法强调按“时间盒”阶段(称为“冲刺”)快速交付功能组件完整的应用程序。每个冲刺都有预先计划好的时间段以及可交付成果清单。敏捷方法可让业务部门及时审核最小可行产品(即功能足以满足业务需求的产品)并为未来的开发活动提供反馈。

Mendix 可让开发团队采用基于 Scrum 的敏捷方法,在较短的迭代开发周期中与内外部利益相关方紧密合作。Mendix 提供多种实用功能,包括冲刺、案例管理,以及基于嵌入式反馈小组件的综合反馈管理功能,能够让最终用户直接在应用程序内提供反馈。封闭的反馈循环可让开发团队快速解决来自业务的问题,实现迅速迭代,这也是敏捷开发所强调的重点之一。

有关更多信息,请参见需求管理

Mendix 如何促进 DevOps?

DevOps 是一种旨在统一管理软件开发 (Dev) 和软件运营 (Ops) 的软件工程文化和实践。DevOps 实践的主要特征是在软件构建的所有步骤(从集成、测试、发布、部署到基础架构管理)中提升自动化和促进监控。DevOps 旨在缩短开发周期,提高部署频率,提升发行版本的可靠性,同时确保与业务目标保持一致。

Mendix 提供了多种开箱即用的 DevOps 工具,可用于 CI/CD、测试自动化、监控及其他服务,帮助开发团队适应 DevOps 工作方式。有关更多信息,请参见 DevOps

与 DevOps 相比,BizDevOps 方法彻底消除了 DevOps 团队(即开发团队和运营人员)与业务团队之间的孤岛效应。

Mendix 如何促进传统应用程序开发?

在传统的应用程序开发中,用户只能对上线的完整应用程序进行反馈,这与敏捷方法的迭代方法截然不同。与 DevOps 团队相比,传统的应用程序开发项目、开发团队、运营团队和业务管理团队各自为政,软件开发 (Dev) 和软件运营 (Ops) 相互分离。

Mendix 可作为低代码开发平台用于这样的传统流程,帮助开发人员更快地构建应用程序。运营人员可以使用 Mendix 开发者门户对应用程序进行管理和监控。当然,如果采用这种方法,您将无法利用在 Mendix 上构建应用程序的一大优势 – Mendix BizDevOps 流程。

Development Process

1 What Development Process Works Best for Mendix?

The app development process Mendix used from day one was later identified as a combination of Agile and DevOps, though optimized for low-code app development. Due to the high focus on business and IT collaboration, the Mendix development process can be better described as BizDevOps or DevOps 2.0. Mendix has optimized the BizDevOps approach for low-code usage.

The Mendix development process encourages developers, operations staff, and business teams to work together so that the organization can develop software more quickly, grow more responsive to user demand, and ultimately maximize revenue. In this approach, not only does the business team set the requirements, they also work directly with the development team. The development team is composed of business analysts and professional developers working alongside the business.

Rapid Application Development Process

This section explains the concept of Mendix BizDevOps and compares this with other software development processes.

2 Why Should I Use the BizDevOps Process?

Adopting the Mendix development process known as BizDevOps in combination with the Mendix low-code development platform drastically shortens the feedback loop. In turn, there is an increase in efficiency, which results in better outcomes, lower costs of app development, and shorter time-to-market.

In Mendix app development projects, there is an instant feedback loop between the business analysts and the developers. With the Mendix Platform’s capabilities of one-click-deployment and visual modeling, the development team can handle an hourly feedback loop from the business and product owners. This means it is often the provisioning of feedback from the business that determines the duration of the feedback loop. In practice, this results in a feedback loop of 1–2 weeks between the business and the development team, which enables monthly releases.

Just as Agile reduced time-to-market by roughly 50% by implementing shorter feedback loops, we are seeing even better results with the Mendix process. The BizDevOps approach not only reduces time-to-market by another 50%, it also reduces the development effort by 70%.

3 How Does Mendix Support the BizDevOps Process?

Mendix has optimized the BizDevOps approach for low-code, resulting in a feedback loop of less then a month. This short feedback loop is ensured due to four important factors in the Mendix Platform:

  • Integrated requirement management – The business provides their requirements and feedback on the live app (minimal viable product) through a user-friendly feedback mechanism, which is integrated in the Mendix IDEs. This provides developers with contextual metadata, such as the page, user, and browser from which the feedback was given.
  • Visual modeling – With the Mendix low-code platform, the business analyst is enabled to visually build apps and work together with the professional developer on a common model in a shared environment with ongoing real-time feedback. Any issues are quickly detected and resolved, ensuring apps meet business and customer expectations with the first release.
  • Team synergy via multiple IDEs (modelers) – With tailored-made IDEs for the different roles, Mendix enables everyone to contribute to their strengths while still working on the same model.
  • One-click deployment – The one-click deployment to any cloud ensures the app can be released in minutes, enabling the business to provide their feedback on the next iteration.

4 What Are the Key Roles in a Mendix Development Team?

The core development team in Mendix low-code BizDevOps projects consists of three main roles:

  • Business representative – This role is key in the BizDevOps process. The business user is—as a product owner—responsible for providing input from the business via requirements for or feedback on the app, and then translating these into user stories.

  • Business analyst – This role talks to the business and works together with a more technical developer to run the entire application delivery lifecycle, including the operations. The enablement of the business analyst is key in interpreting the requirements and feedback from the business correctly. In other words, they speak the same language to verify the UX/UI (pages), business rules (logic), and the conceptual data model of the app in development.

  • Developer – This role is delivers tangible results by supporting the business analyst to build the app. The developer focusses on the technical work with the integrations, data model, security, and performance.

This core development team runs the entire application delivery lifecycle without the direct help of a Java programmer. All of these roles are important, especially in an enterprise-scale delivery of multiple applications. However, they are also part of a higher-level Center of Excellence, which is often spread between multiple Mendix application development teams.

Other roles—such as UX/UI expert and test engineer—are involved too as enablers and specialists (fly-in experts) in the project.

5 How Does Mendix Fit into Agile?

The Agile methodology is adopted in the DevOps approach. The Agile methodology changed traditional Waterfall projects from a linear approach to an iterative, team-based approach for software development. This approach emphasizes the rapid delivery of an application in complete functional components per “time-boxed” phases called Sprints. Each Sprint has a defined duration with a running list of deliverables, planned at the start of the Sprint. The Agile approach enables the business to review a minimal viable product (MVP), which is a product with just enough features to satisfy and enable the business to provide feedback for future development.

Mendix enables development teams to adopt an Agile approach based on Scrum, in which they collaborate closely with internal and external stakeholders in short iterative development cycles. Mendix provides capabilities such as Sprints, story management, and integrated feedback management via embedded feedback widgets that enable end-users to provide instant feedback directly within an application. The closed feedback loop allows the development team to quickly resolve queries from the business, facilitating rapid iteration as emphasized in the Agile methodology.

To learn more, see the Requirements Management chapter.

6 How Does Mendix Fit into DevOps?

DevOps is a software engineering culture and practice that aims to unify software development (Dev) and software operations (Ops). The main characteristic of the DevOps practice is to strongly advocate automation and monitoring at all steps of software construction, from integration, testing, and releasing to deployment and infrastructure management. DevOps aims for shorter development cycles, increased deployment frequency, and more dependable releases, in close alignment with business objectives.

Mendix provides DevOps tools out of the box for CI/CD, test automation, and monitoring, among other services, empowering your development teams to embrace the DevOps way of working. For more details, see the DevOps chapter.

Compared to DevOps, the BizDevOps approach knocks down the silos between DevOps teams (meaning, the development teams and operations staff) and business teams.

7 How Does Mendix Fit into Traditional App Development?

In traditional app development, feedback can only be given on full working applications, which contrasts with the iterative approach of the Agile methodology. Compared to DevOps teams, traditional app development projects, development teams, operation teams, and business management teams all operate in silos, instead of unifying software development (Dev) and software operation (Ops).

Mendix can be used in this traditional process as a low-code development platform to enable developers to build apps faster. Operations can use the Mendix Cloud Portal to manage and monitor the apps. Of course, in this approach, you will be missing a big part of what makes building apps with Mendix so succesful – the Mendix BizDevOps process.

Mendix, Win in a software-driven world.